$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
126 reviews
Simply awesome

Superb staff, great location, great breakfast, unique rooms with old beams in place See full review

  • Ydnar Saav
  • Mar 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect!

A great hotel located right in the heart of the French quarter, close to everything and absolutely... See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Mar 5, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel! Our New Orleans hotel is in a beautiful, historic building just steps away from the French Quarter and many other New Orleans attractions. Our location puts our guests in the heart of the rich culture of our city. From jazz to blues, and all things in between, the true soul of this city is the people and the music. Just ask our friendly staff where to go and what to do. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and a free breakfast while staying at our welcoming New Orleans hotel. Guests can start each morning with a complimentary, generous spread of breakfast favorites like scrambled eggs, sausage, pastries, hot pancakes, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, 100% Arabica coffee and juices. We also offer Room Service for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Yes, our festivals are the most famous in the world. Mardi Gras is unbridled craziness, and we are 1 block away from the parades. Jazz Fest is laid back and all about the music. Shuttles are just one block away that run to the fairgrounds, where Jazz Fest is held. From shopping on Royal Street to dining at the many world famous restaurants in New Orleans, theres no end to the things to see and do here. Take a swamp tour just 20 minutes from the city, or visit Mardi Gras World to see the famous floats up close and being created right in front of you. Try the turtle soup at Brennans, charbroiled oysters at Dragos or many other New Orleans favorites. The location of our New Orleans hotel isnt the only thing that brings guests to our property. We also offer a great rate, clean and comfortable rooms, and a friendly and welcoming staff. Check-in is simple, a friendly valet is quick and courteous, and our staff is consistently helpful and attentive. Reserve your upcoming stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel and enjoy a great rate and unbeatable location!

Hotel Map

29.9517 -90.0673
Area served
West Wego, Metarie, La Place, Baton Rouge, Kenner, Covington, Mandeville, Harahan
Nearby airports
(MSY), 15.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,NO SMOKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,SOFABD,HAIR,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

G.W. Fins
0.8 mile(s) from G.W. Fins, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: dinner, 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Mother's
0.4 mile(s) from Mother's, deli, Cajun, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.-Great Sandwiches
Cafe DuMonde
0.8 mile(s) from Cafe DuMonde, coffee shop, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24 hours
Emeri's
0.6 mile(s) from Emeri's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Restaurant August
0.2 mile(s) from Restaurant August, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Bon Ton Cafe
Across the street from Bon Ton Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday-Friday-11:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:30pm Sat/Sun-reservations only.
Palace Cafe
Across the street from Palace Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Lunch-Mon-Fri-11:30am-2:30pm Dinner-Mon-Sat-5:30pm-9:00pm Sunday Brunch-10:30am-2:30pm
Acme Oyster House
0.5 mile(s) from Acme Oyster House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Cajun seafood, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
teeitup3000
Houston, TX
Sep 26, 2012

Rooms Without Windows

This location worked out well to be able to walk to many of the famous places in New Orleans. However, no where on this website or the hotel website (except in the reviews), was there mention of rooms with no windows. Buyer beware. Also, there is a continental breakfast available, however, no additional food or beverage service after 10am. For the price, the only real advantage of this hotel is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Domilise's Po-Boy Sandwiches. Best Po-Boy's in town!! Nothing fancy (see photo), but awesome shrimp and oyster po-boy's! They also serve deli type sandwiches as well.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crispy sugar
St. Petersburg, FL
Jan 5, 2013

Location is great, that's about it

We probably won't stay here again. The location was perfect - close to FQ and ten minutes walking distance from most of our destinations in NOLA. But things got off to a bad start. When we arrived, we found out that parking would be $10 more than we were originally quoted because of the Sugar Bowl. This surprise "Special Event" price was $35 a night for valet. OUTRAGEOUS. That was not mentioned at all anywhere when we booked. We were able to find a parking garage for cheaper but it was four blocks away and we had to walk to the hotel with all of our stuff in the cold rain after driving for ten hours. Then the front desk attendant was not friendly and borderline nasty. The room had a very strong musty/moldy smell, which I was willing to overlook because it's probably an old building. IF it wasn't for all of the other negatives. Room was relatively clean and decorated nicely, but we could hear a crying baby in the room next door all night. The water pressure went from normal to nothing periodically during a shower. There was no counter in the bathroom and we had to put toiletries, razors and makeup on the floor. The refrigerator broke mid-stay and we didn't realize it until checkout - which means we lost all of our leftovers. When I told them about this at checkout, that same clerk was nasty and the manager wasn't any more helpful. They wouldn't give me any credit or do anything about it because I hadn't said anything until checkout. But we didn't even open the fridge until we were on our way out the door to check out. The continental breakfast was decent with a pancake maker and several options, but it certainly was nothing special and I wouldn't rely on it. Some good points here but there were too many negatives. Next time we will spend a little more and stay somewhere else, and I plan on complaining to Best Western about the refrigerator incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Sep 9, 2010

New Orleans

Great location. staff was friendly ..We went to the Aquarium which was within walking distance..This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium and casino. french quarter

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pearl River, La.
Dec 13, 2010

Who Dat Saints Weekend

Stayed in New Orleans for a Saints game weekend. Picked this hotel for the location and price. Had no problems with check in.Room was clean. Easy walk to French Quarter and Super Dome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler 9
portland, oregon
Sep 17, 2013

Anniversary

The first stay the 6th & 7th were good but the 15th not as good before & and after the cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pearl River, La.
Dec 13, 2010

Who Dat Saints Weekend

Stayed in New Orleans for a Saints game weekend. Picked this hotel for the location and price. Had no problems with check in.Room was clean. Easy walk to French Quarter and Super Dome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pickupandgo
lousisana
Nov 28, 2011

pleasantly surprised

one of the last hotel rooms available near the french quater when i booked and a little leary of a best western in new orleans. rooms were clean comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Very convienent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbacpa
Michigan
Apr 23, 2013

great location, reasonable price

We went to NOLA for a little get away. I had been there before for business, but never as a tourist. Now, I cannot wait to go back again. The hotel was clean and nice, nothing special, but nothing bad either. A nice location, between French Quarter and Harrah's. Everything was walkable. The lobby and breakfast were not so good, and the room was small, but it was fine for sleeping and showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RussNJana
Texarkana Texas
Jun 30, 2014

NOT GOOD

Lots of hidden charges such as Valet Parking not disclosed in ad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park somewhere else for free. Everything is with in walking distance and the Trollies talk care of everything else.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamamea
Jamaica, New York
Jul 6, 2012

St. Christopher's is really a 3+ hotel

The hotel was perfectly located for my needs: on the periphery of the French Quarters, still so close to it, yet much safer and more wholesome environment. It was also walking distance to the business part of the city. The room was standard in cleanliness, not bad for a 3-star hotel and the 15% discount I was given on top of the already discounted rate was great. I really would like to rate it as 3+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top