$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
123 reviews
Simply awesome

Superb staff, great location, great breakfast, unique rooms with old beams in place See full review

  • Ydnar Saav
  • Mar 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect!

A great hotel located right in the heart of the French quarter, close to everything and absolutely... See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Mar 5, 2014
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel! Explore the Garden District with ease or slip into one of the great dining establishments in the French Quarter because the best of the city is at the doorstep of this New Orleans hotel. From Mardi Gras to discovering Bourbon Street any time of year, theres endless entertainment when visiting New Orleans. Steps away from the French Quarter and the street car, the location of the hotel might catch the eye of travelers but its the service that really shines. Enjoy a great value that includes free Wi-Fi and free breakfast. Start the morning off right by indulging in a hot breakfast buffet featuring regional favorites as well as classic American dishes such as pancakes, scrambled eggs and sausage. The rate at this New Orleans hotel cant be beat, especially considering the prime location. Find favorite food and dining sports nearby, or go sightseeing in the bayou. Tourist companies happily pick up guests at this New Orleans hotel, whisking them to Katrina memorial sites, famous cemeteries and even on haunted tours of the city. The popular Jazz Fest and French Quarter Fest are must-sees while here as well. Whether its conventions that brought you here or the promise of the party of a lifetime, make the most of it by staying in the center of the city. Business travelers with IBM® and Lockheed Martin find it easy to slip in a little fun with work. Whether its a meeting at Deloitte® & Touche or an event at Tulane University, prepare for a great time. Loyola University is within a few miles of the hotel, too, and there are also oil and gas companies in the area that bring business guests to the hotel. The convention/banquet service makes this New Orleans hotel an easy choice for companies. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel and let the party come to you!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,NO SMOKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,SOFABD,HAIR,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

G.W. Fins
0.8 mile(s) from G.W. Fins, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: dinner, 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Mother's
0.4 mile(s) from Mother's, deli, Cajun, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.-Great Sandwiches
Bon Ton Cafe
Across the street from Bon Ton Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday-Friday-11:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:30pm Sat/Sun-reservations only.
Acme Oyster House
0.5 mile(s) from Acme Oyster House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Cajun seafood, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Cafe DuMonde
0.8 mile(s) from Cafe DuMonde, coffee shop, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24 hours
Palace Cafe
Across the street from Palace Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Lunch-Mon-Fri-11:30am-2:30pm Dinner-Mon-Sat-5:30pm-9:00pm Sunday Brunch-10:30am-2:30pm
Emeri's
0.6 mile(s) from Emeri's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Restaurant August
0.2 mile(s) from Restaurant August, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I Was Born a Travlin' Man
Nashville
Mar 31, 2013

Eclectic Hotel Just off Quarter

The rooms have tons of character with exposed brick walls, 14" old wood posts, and 10' windows that span from floor to ceiling. This hotel is a great deal just off the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 17, 2013

Was a disappointment

Travelling with someone in a wheel chair and needed a handicap accessible room. Room we got was a smoking room with a stale odor to it. Shower never got really hot and the water pressure was horrible. Heating/air conditioning was tempermental. Not stocked well with towels, soap or toliet paper. Breakfast was adequate. The location was the only good thing about this place. Some of the staff was pleasant. Once our car was parked we could not access it on our own. If we wanted anything from it or wanted it they could only do that. That was very bothersome. Overall, an okay place but would not recommend it. Much better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bdaytrip
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 2, 2013

Well...I expected more

Location was great but that is the case for many hotels in NOLA. One guy to handle valet, luggage etc. who was awsome but he's only one guy! We were put in the smallest room and we had our bikes so a little cramped. (they had no place to store them) Breakfast is less than average so next time we would go for free parking instead. If you get a great price..I would say go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HappyTraveler206
Business
Seattle,Wa
May 7, 2013

Only the location is good.

The location was good. But that was about it. There was no window in the room, the bathtub didn't drain and if you were taking a shower and some else in the hotel flushes the toilet you loose water pressure. The staff was nice and helpful and the complementary breakfast was fair. I booked this hotel during jazz fest and so all the hotels were expensive, but if I were to do it again I would have spent a little more money for a better room. Hope this is helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If your going to Jazz Fest and it's been raining heavily... Don't bring your new sneakers! Do bring a chair to sit in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VampMia
Business
Coral Springs, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Don't take a car with you...

Here is my letter to their GM:Good morning Ms. Figueroa: I am writing to you to put forward a set of complaints about the front desk and valet service at your hotel. My husband and I stayed there from 12/30 to 01/02. From the beginning our visit was uncomfortable. We arrived after midnight from Florida, obviously tired. We parked our rental around the corner. There was no sign or instructions outside about where to park. There was a valet sign, but no attendant. We went inside and asked the front desk clerk [...]about the parking. He said that we had to park upfront, we tried to explain that we had parked just around the corner, and if they could get the car from there as we are unfamiliar with the city; moreover, we just had had to go around a few blocks in order to get it where it was. He acted exasperated and talked to us really slowly as if we were stupid. Some welcome! On the night of January the first, we wanted to go to dinner, so we asked for our car. We were the only ones there, and it took the valet over half an hour to bring the car, he practically confessed about going joyriding in it. He said that he had always wanted to drive a Smart car. On the day of the checkout, we went down at 10:45 AM. We are used to checkouts lasting 10 minutes or less, there was a long line and only one clerk. Just to get to the front desk was close to 25 minutes. The car arrived at noon (with rap playing loudly in the radio); the front desk clerk had to call for it 3 times! Needless to say, we missed our flight. We had to pay $100 in fees, plus carfare to and from the mall ($36 and $26), in order to get a decent meal. We arrived in Florida after 9PM, instead of the planned 3:25 PM. Got home after 12 AM with the rest of the delays and commute. I was late to work this morning (I start at 7 AM) out of sheer exhaustion. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with your hotel. You belong to a major chain but behave as if you were in a third world country backwoods. Never have a seen a hotel so disorganized. By the way, we were not the only ones; another couple had been waiting for their car since 10:35 and got it five minutes before ours. Again the clerk had to call it several times. I heard the valet girl say that the front desk hadn't called it in. I am writing to you before I report your hotel [...] in the hopes that you make some sort of amend to us. I hope that you do not take this as a threat, but more as constructive criticism. I believe that people travel to get away from daily stresses not to encounter more. The guests are the ones that are supposed to be relaxed, not the staff. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Cordially,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sto man
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 17, 2014

Bad experience

Bad experience. Poor service and attitude. Will not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeffrey J H
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 20, 2014

New Orleans

I would stay here again if I could get the hotel a good price. It was comfortable and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Name Withheld
Business
Out of state
Oct 31, 2011

A few problems

The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, I did not appreciate some of the staff smoking right by the front entrance. The room walls were very thin, even with earplugs I could hear their conversations. The elevator sometimes takes 5-10 minutes. I was shocked when the staff double-booked my room and at 2am a (rather loud, drunk & noisy) couple walked right into the room! The location was ok for what I needed, but considering the issues above, I felt the room was very overpriced. I have been to this part of downtown N.O. several times... unfortunately, what I experienced here was not too surprising. It seems N.O. in general does not particularly cater to visitors nor expect them to return again to the same hotel. I have experienced worse in N.O. so I think my average (3.0) rating is fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rese
Business
Monroe, LA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice hotel

Some issues with the air conditioning and valet service was toooo slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Call ahead to request your car if you valet, because they are really slow

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pickupandgo
Business
lousisana
Nov 28, 2011

pleasantly surprised

one of the last hotel rooms available near the french quater when i booked and a little leary of a best western in new orleans. rooms were clean comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Very convienent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilia
Business
Houston
Dec 21, 2011

It's ok

Arrived and the staff was not so friendly. Room was pretty clean and everything went well, except when there started to be a lot of ants. Ants were crawling on the bed... When I asked the staff, they said "Sorry". Aside from the ants, it was ok. I am glad I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top