$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
View map of 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I Was Born a Travlin' Man
LGBT
Nashville
Mar 31, 2013

Eclectic Hotel Just off Quarter

The rooms have tons of character with exposed brick walls, 14" old wood posts, and 10' windows that span from floor to ceiling. This hotel is a great deal just off the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

LGBT

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Family
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 17, 2013

Was a disappointment

Travelling with someone in a wheel chair and needed a handicap accessible room. Room we got was a smoking room with a stale odor to it. Shower never got really hot and the water pressure was horrible. Heating/air conditioning was tempermental. Not stocked well with towels, soap or toliet paper. Breakfast was adequate. The location was the only good thing about this place. Some of the staff was pleasant. Once our car was parked we could not access it on our own. If we wanted anything from it or wanted it they could only do that. That was very bothersome. Overall, an okay place but would not recommend it. Much better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HappyTraveler206
Couples
Seattle,Wa
May 7, 2013

Only the location is good.

The location was good. But that was about it. There was no window in the room, the bathtub didn't drain and if you were taking a shower and some else in the hotel flushes the toilet you loose water pressure. The staff was nice and helpful and the complementary breakfast was fair. I booked this hotel during jazz fest and so all the hotels were expensive, but if I were to do it again I would have spent a little more money for a better room. Hope this is helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If your going to Jazz Fest and it's been raining heavily... Don't bring your new sneakers! Do bring a chair to sit in!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VampMia
Couples
Coral Springs, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Don't take a car with you...

Here is my letter to their GM:Good morning Ms. Figueroa: I am writing to you to put forward a set of complaints about the front desk and valet service at your hotel. My husband and I stayed there from 12/30 to 01/02. From the beginning our visit was uncomfortable. We arrived after midnight from Florida, obviously tired. We parked our rental around the corner. There was no sign or instructions outside about where to park. There was a valet sign, but no attendant. We went inside and asked the front desk clerk [...]about the parking. He said that we had to park upfront, we tried to explain that we had parked just around the corner, and if they could get the car from there as we are unfamiliar with the city; moreover, we just had had to go around a few blocks in order to get it where it was. He acted exasperated and talked to us really slowly as if we were stupid. Some welcome! On the night of January the first, we wanted to go to dinner, so we asked for our car. We were the only ones there, and it took the valet over half an hour to bring the car, he practically confessed about going joyriding in it. He said that he had always wanted to drive a Smart car. On the day of the checkout, we went down at 10:45 AM. We are used to checkouts lasting 10 minutes or less, there was a long line and only one clerk. Just to get to the front desk was close to 25 minutes. The car arrived at noon (with rap playing loudly in the radio); the front desk clerk had to call for it 3 times! Needless to say, we missed our flight. We had to pay $100 in fees, plus carfare to and from the mall ($36 and $26), in order to get a decent meal. We arrived in Florida after 9PM, instead of the planned 3:25 PM. Got home after 12 AM with the rest of the delays and commute. I was late to work this morning (I start at 7 AM) out of sheer exhaustion. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with your hotel. You belong to a major chain but behave as if you were in a third world country backwoods. Never have a seen a hotel so disorganized. By the way, we were not the only ones; another couple had been waiting for their car since 10:35 and got it five minutes before ours. Again the clerk had to call it several times. I heard the valet girl say that the front desk hadn't called it in. I am writing to you before I report your hotel [...] in the hopes that you make some sort of amend to us. I hope that you do not take this as a threat, but more as constructive criticism. I believe that people travel to get away from daily stresses not to encounter more. The guests are the ones that are supposed to be relaxed, not the staff. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Cordially,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the French Quarter

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sto man
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 17, 2014

Bad experience

Bad experience. Poor service and attitude. Will not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeffrey J H
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 20, 2014

New Orleans

I would stay here again if I could get the hotel a good price. It was comfortable and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourbon Street

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Name Withheld
Business
Out of state
Oct 31, 2011

A few problems

The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, I did not appreciate some of the staff smoking right by the front entrance. The room walls were very thin, even with earplugs I could hear their conversations. The elevator sometimes takes 5-10 minutes. I was shocked when the staff double-booked my room and at 2am a (rather loud, drunk & noisy) couple walked right into the room! The location was ok for what I needed, but considering the issues above, I felt the room was very overpriced. I have been to this part of downtown N.O. several times... unfortunately, what I experienced here was not too surprising. It seems N.O. in general does not particularly cater to visitors nor expect them to return again to the same hotel. I have experienced worse in N.O. so I think my average (3.0) rating is fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rese
Friends
Monroe, LA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Nice hotel

Some issues with the air conditioning and valet service was toooo slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Call ahead to request your car if you valet, because they are really slow

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pickupandgo
Family
lousisana
Nov 28, 2011

pleasantly surprised

one of the last hotel rooms available near the french quater when i booked and a little leary of a best western in new orleans. rooms were clean comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Very convienent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilia
Couples
Houston
Dec 21, 2011

It's ok

Arrived and the staff was not so friendly. Room was pretty clean and everything went well, except when there started to be a lot of ants. Ants were crawling on the bed... When I asked the staff, they said "Sorry". Aside from the ants, it was ok. I am glad I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gdmf
Friends
wv
Jun 5, 2012

good but with some problems

The front desk staff on both day and night shifts was amazing! The bartender that worked thursdays through sundays was fantastic! The AC would cool the room but didn't remove moisture from the air. Nothing would dry and you could feel the sheets sticking to you all night. The fee charged for parking on top of the room fee was ridiculous. I stayed 8 nights and had to pay over two bills to park. The hotel should offer discunted rates to entice more customers. The bathroom ABSOLUTELY NEEDS a power vent. The pedestal sink offers nowhere to set anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping/dining in ALL directions

Back to menu Return to top