$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
View map of 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
to travel or not
New York, NY
Feb 1, 2013

Comfortable, clean, convenient

We had a great experience at Best Western St. Christopher. The hotel is perfectly located, right at Canal St. You can escape the noise of French Quarter but you cross the street and you're in French Quarter, and a few mins away from Bourbon St. We were able to come back to the hotel through the day and rest up easily, which was very useful. The staff was courteous and unobtrusive. The room with 2 double beds was spacious and clean and the bathroom was huge with a bay window, great shower head. The free breakfast included was okay, not very good but not bad. But that was the least of what we were looking for. My next trip to NOLA, I'll be booking here again. It's a great value for the price they charge and the quality of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 16, 2013

Nothing to brag about

I am a traveler in a wheelchair. The only roll in shower was on the 10th floor and it is a smoking room. Room was small, heating/air conditioning system was poor and shower never got really hot. Breakfast wasn't anything special. They have valet parking but you can not access your vehicle yourself. If you want it they have to get it for you. Room was very quiet and hotel is close to everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I've stayed in better places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayne L
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 17, 2013

Was a disappointment

Travelling with someone in a wheel chair and needed a handicap accessible room. Room we got was a smoking room with a stale odor to it. Shower never got really hot and the water pressure was horrible. Heating/air conditioning was tempermental. Not stocked well with towels, soap or toliet paper. Breakfast was adequate. The location was the only good thing about this place. Some of the staff was pleasant. Once our car was parked we could not access it on our own. If we wanted anything from it or wanted it they could only do that. That was very bothersome. Overall, an okay place but would not recommend it. Much better places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bdaytrip
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 2, 2013

Well...I expected more

Location was great but that is the case for many hotels in NOLA. One guy to handle valet, luggage etc. who was awsome but he's only one guy! We were put in the smallest room and we had our bikes so a little cramped. (they had no place to store them) Breakfast is less than average so next time we would go for free parking instead. If you get a great price..I would say go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HappyTraveler206
Business
Seattle,Wa
May 7, 2013

Only the location is good.

The location was good. But that was about it. There was no window in the room, the bathtub didn't drain and if you were taking a shower and some else in the hotel flushes the toilet you loose water pressure. The staff was nice and helpful and the complementary breakfast was fair. I booked this hotel during jazz fest and so all the hotels were expensive, but if I were to do it again I would have spent a little more money for a better room. Hope this is helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If your going to Jazz Fest and it's been raining heavily... Don't bring your new sneakers! Do bring a chair to sit in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VampMia
Business
Coral Springs, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Don't take a car with you...

Here is my letter to their GM:Good morning Ms. Figueroa: I am writing to you to put forward a set of complaints about the front desk and valet service at your hotel. My husband and I stayed there from 12/30 to 01/02. From the beginning our visit was uncomfortable. We arrived after midnight from Florida, obviously tired. We parked our rental around the corner. There was no sign or instructions outside about where to park. There was a valet sign, but no attendant. We went inside and asked the front desk clerk [...]about the parking. He said that we had to park upfront, we tried to explain that we had parked just around the corner, and if they could get the car from there as we are unfamiliar with the city; moreover, we just had had to go around a few blocks in order to get it where it was. He acted exasperated and talked to us really slowly as if we were stupid. Some welcome! On the night of January the first, we wanted to go to dinner, so we asked for our car. We were the only ones there, and it took the valet over half an hour to bring the car, he practically confessed about going joyriding in it. He said that he had always wanted to drive a Smart car. On the day of the checkout, we went down at 10:45 AM. We are used to checkouts lasting 10 minutes or less, there was a long line and only one clerk. Just to get to the front desk was close to 25 minutes. The car arrived at noon (with rap playing loudly in the radio); the front desk clerk had to call for it 3 times! Needless to say, we missed our flight. We had to pay $100 in fees, plus carfare to and from the mall ($36 and $26), in order to get a decent meal. We arrived in Florida after 9PM, instead of the planned 3:25 PM. Got home after 12 AM with the rest of the delays and commute. I was late to work this morning (I start at 7 AM) out of sheer exhaustion. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with your hotel. You belong to a major chain but behave as if you were in a third world country backwoods. Never have a seen a hotel so disorganized. By the way, we were not the only ones; another couple had been waiting for their car since 10:35 and got it five minutes before ours. Again the clerk had to call it several times. I heard the valet girl say that the front desk hadn't called it in. I am writing to you before I report your hotel [...] in the hopes that you make some sort of amend to us. I hope that you do not take this as a threat, but more as constructive criticism. I believe that people travel to get away from daily stresses not to encounter more. The guests are the ones that are supposed to be relaxed, not the staff. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Cordially,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sto man
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 17, 2014

Bad experience

Bad experience. Poor service and attitude. Will not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeffrey J H
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 20, 2014

New Orleans

I would stay here again if I could get the hotel a good price. It was comfortable and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michelle S.
Business
new orleans
Feb 9, 2015

little trip

nice place very cozy great continental breakfast very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

nice place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michelle S.
Business
new orleans
Feb 17, 2015

happy trip

The breakfast was very good. I also appreciatyed the business center. The computer has a printer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Name Withheld
Business
Out of state
Oct 31, 2011

A few problems

The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, I did not appreciate some of the staff smoking right by the front entrance. The room walls were very thin, even with earplugs I could hear their conversations. The elevator sometimes takes 5-10 minutes. I was shocked when the staff double-booked my room and at 2am a (rather loud, drunk & noisy) couple walked right into the room! The location was ok for what I needed, but considering the issues above, I felt the room was very overpriced. I have been to this part of downtown N.O. several times... unfortunately, what I experienced here was not too surprising. It seems N.O. in general does not particularly cater to visitors nor expect them to return again to the same hotel. I have experienced worse in N.O. so I think my average (3.0) rating is fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top