BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

3 stars
114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
126 reviews
Simply awesome

Superb staff, great location, great breakfast, unique rooms with old beams in place See full review

  • Ydnar Saav
  • Mar 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect!

A great hotel located right in the heart of the French quarter, close to everything and absolutely... See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Mar 5, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel! Our New Orleans hotel is in a beautiful, historic building just steps away from the French Quarter and many other New Orleans attractions. Our location puts our guests in the heart of the rich culture of our city. From jazz to blues, and all things in between, the true soul of this city is the people and the music. Just ask our friendly staff where to go and what to do. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and a free breakfast while staying at our welcoming New Orleans hotel. Guests can start each morning with a complimentary, generous spread of breakfast favorites like scrambled eggs, sausage, pastries, hot pancakes, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, 100% Arabica coffee and juices. We also offer Room Service for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Yes, our festivals are the most famous in the world. Mardi Gras is unbridled craziness, and we are 1 block away from the parades. Jazz Fest is laid back and all about the music. Shuttles are just one block away that run to the fairgrounds, where Jazz Fest is held. From shopping on Royal Street to dining at the many world famous restaurants in New Orleans, theres no end to the things to see and do here. Take a swamp tour just 20 minutes from the city, or visit Mardi Gras World to see the famous floats up close and being created right in front of you. Try the turtle soup at Brennans, charbroiled oysters at Dragos or many other New Orleans favorites. The location of our New Orleans hotel isnt the only thing that brings guests to our property. We also offer a great rate, clean and comfortable rooms, and a friendly and welcoming staff. Check-in is simple, a friendly valet is quick and courteous, and our staff is consistently helpful and attentive. Reserve your upcoming stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel and enjoy a great rate and unbeatable location!

BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,SAFE,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,SMOK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,WHIRLPOOL,NO SMOKING,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,VIEW,HAIRDRYER,COFFMAKER,IRON&BOARD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,SOFABD,HAIR,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,OVERSIZD,WHISPD,HAIR,COFMKR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.9517 -90.0673
Area served
West Wego, Metarie, La Place, Baton Rouge, Kenner, Covington, Mandeville, Harahan
Nearby airports
(MSY), 15.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

G.W. Fins
0.8 mile(s) from G.W. Fins, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: dinner, 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Mother's
0.4 mile(s) from Mother's, deli, Cajun, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.-Great Sandwiches
Cafe DuMonde
0.8 mile(s) from Cafe DuMonde, coffee shop, French, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24 hours
Emeri's
0.6 mile(s) from Emeri's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Restaurant August
0.2 mile(s) from Restaurant August, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday to Friday 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday to Saturday 5:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Bon Ton Cafe
Across the street from Bon Ton Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Monday-Friday-11:00am-2:00pm and 5:00pm-9:30pm Sat/Sun-reservations only.
Palace Cafe
Across the street from Palace Cafe, full service, Cajun, open for: lunch, dinner, Lunch-Mon-Fri-11:30am-2:30pm Dinner-Mon-Sat-5:30pm-9:00pm Sunday Brunch-10:30am-2:30pm
Acme Oyster House
0.5 mile(s) from Acme Oyster House, full service, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, Cajun seafood, 11:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bdaytrip
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 2, 2013

Well...I expected more

Location was great but that is the case for many hotels in NOLA. One guy to handle valet, luggage etc. who was awsome but he's only one guy! We were put in the smallest room and we had our bikes so a little cramped. (they had no place to store them) Breakfast is less than average so next time we would go for free parking instead. If you get a great price..I would say go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VampMia
Coral Springs, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Don't take a car with you...

Here is my letter to their GM:Good morning Ms. Figueroa: I am writing to you to put forward a set of complaints about the front desk and valet service at your hotel. My husband and I stayed there from 12/30 to 01/02. From the beginning our visit was uncomfortable. We arrived after midnight from Florida, obviously tired. We parked our rental around the corner. There was no sign or instructions outside about where to park. There was a valet sign, but no attendant. We went inside and asked the front desk clerk [...]about the parking. He said that we had to park upfront, we tried to explain that we had parked just around the corner, and if they could get the car from there as we are unfamiliar with the city; moreover, we just had had to go around a few blocks in order to get it where it was. He acted exasperated and talked to us really slowly as if we were stupid. Some welcome! On the night of January the first, we wanted to go to dinner, so we asked for our car. We were the only ones there, and it took the valet over half an hour to bring the car, he practically confessed about going joyriding in it. He said that he had always wanted to drive a Smart car. On the day of the checkout, we went down at 10:45 AM. We are used to checkouts lasting 10 minutes or less, there was a long line and only one clerk. Just to get to the front desk was close to 25 minutes. The car arrived at noon (with rap playing loudly in the radio); the front desk clerk had to call for it 3 times! Needless to say, we missed our flight. We had to pay $100 in fees, plus carfare to and from the mall ($36 and $26), in order to get a decent meal. We arrived in Florida after 9PM, instead of the planned 3:25 PM. Got home after 12 AM with the rest of the delays and commute. I was late to work this morning (I start at 7 AM) out of sheer exhaustion. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with your hotel. You belong to a major chain but behave as if you were in a third world country backwoods. Never have a seen a hotel so disorganized. By the way, we were not the only ones; another couple had been waiting for their car since 10:35 and got it five minutes before ours. Again the clerk had to call it several times. I heard the valet girl say that the front desk hadn't called it in. I am writing to you before I report your hotel [...] in the hopes that you make some sort of amend to us. I hope that you do not take this as a threat, but more as constructive criticism. I believe that people travel to get away from daily stresses not to encounter more. The guests are the ones that are supposed to be relaxed, not the staff. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Cordially,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the French Quarter

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeaneen
Columbia, MO
Jul 17, 2012

Girls trip to New Orleans

Our room was very noisy but the location of the hotel was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VampMia
Coral Springs, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Don't take a car with you...

Here is my letter to their GM:Good morning Ms. Figueroa: I am writing to you to put forward a set of complaints about the front desk and valet service at your hotel. My husband and I stayed there from 12/30 to 01/02. From the beginning our visit was uncomfortable. We arrived after midnight from Florida, obviously tired. We parked our rental around the corner. There was no sign or instructions outside about where to park. There was a valet sign, but no attendant. We went inside and asked the front desk clerk [...]about the parking. He said that we had to park upfront, we tried to explain that we had parked just around the corner, and if they could get the car from there as we are unfamiliar with the city; moreover, we just had had to go around a few blocks in order to get it where it was. He acted exasperated and talked to us really slowly as if we were stupid. Some welcome! On the night of January the first, we wanted to go to dinner, so we asked for our car. We were the only ones there, and it took the valet over half an hour to bring the car, he practically confessed about going joyriding in it. He said that he had always wanted to drive a Smart car. On the day of the checkout, we went down at 10:45 AM. We are used to checkouts lasting 10 minutes or less, there was a long line and only one clerk. Just to get to the front desk was close to 25 minutes. The car arrived at noon (with rap playing loudly in the radio); the front desk clerk had to call for it 3 times! Needless to say, we missed our flight. We had to pay $100 in fees, plus carfare to and from the mall ($36 and $26), in order to get a decent meal. We arrived in Florida after 9PM, instead of the planned 3:25 PM. Got home after 12 AM with the rest of the delays and commute. I was late to work this morning (I start at 7 AM) out of sheer exhaustion. Needless to say, I am very disappointed with your hotel. You belong to a major chain but behave as if you were in a third world country backwoods. Never have a seen a hotel so disorganized. By the way, we were not the only ones; another couple had been waiting for their car since 10:35 and got it five minutes before ours. Again the clerk had to call it several times. I heard the valet girl say that the front desk hadn't called it in. I am writing to you before I report your hotel [...] in the hopes that you make some sort of amend to us. I hope that you do not take this as a threat, but more as constructive criticism. I believe that people travel to get away from daily stresses not to encounter more. The guests are the ones that are supposed to be relaxed, not the staff. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Cordially,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the French Quarter

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gbill
ALABAMA
Sep 20, 2012

Pay to PARK!!!

PAY FOR YOUR OWN PARKING $20 +++ CHECKED IN EARLY (thank you)+++ I dropped a baby bottle between the bed and table got it back with pub ic hair on it and found toe nail clipping on the box spring. jacuzi tub in bad repair had plunger on chain for the drain plug and discoloration or apperance of mold in or on jets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Agreuel
Morton, IL
Jun 10, 2013

Average room

Room was average, fairly clean and good location. Price was high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jazzman2013
Houston
Dec 1, 2013

Good for the price

Overall average Hotel, location is good and rate OK. Would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gdmf
wv
Jun 5, 2012

good but with some problems

The front desk staff on both day and night shifts was amazing! The bartender that worked thursdays through sundays was fantastic! The AC would cool the room but didn't remove moisture from the air. Nothing would dry and you could feel the sheets sticking to you all night. The fee charged for parking on top of the room fee was ridiculous. I stayed 8 nights and had to pay over two bills to park. The hotel should offer discunted rates to entice more customers. The bathroom ABSOLUTELY NEEDS a power vent. The pedestal sink offers nowhere to set anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping/dining in ALL directions

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meldrum
Spain
Nov 30, 2013

Terrible room

This was the worst hotel room we have ever stayed in, in was small, with no window!! Felt like a prison cell. It was dark and dingy, and very noisy at night, we could hear some sort of motor clicking on and off, from outside.the room. Location was great, but room let the hotel down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BethanneV
Pensacola
Jul 30, 2012

Great Location ~ minor issue with rooms

Overall, our experience was fine. The two rooms were clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great for touring the French Quarter, plus visiting museums. My only complaint is that I called the hotel the day before our trip to try and get connected rooms and was told that the there were two available that would be held for us. When we arrived, we not only didn't get connecting rooms, but the rooms were on different floors. An apology was offered, but the hotel was booked, so there was no way to get our rooms together. We made due, and enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top