$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
273 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 273
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Nov 16, 2009

The WORST hotel in New Orleans

We checked in at 3:30PM and checked out at 4PM same day after seeing this "laugh" of a room....rat hole in the cornor of room...beds that apparently were in this hotel in 1854!...dirty sheets w/dead bugs...glass doors to rooms with blinds over them...furnishings that looked like castoffs from some bad 40's movie and OLD ugly wood floors(NO CARPET IN ROOMS)!! Bath looked like it came out of some horrible nightmare. We lost our money but would have paid double to get out...DON'T EVER USE THIS HOTEL...SHOULD BE CLOSED AND DEMOLISHED. It is a travesty that this kind of trashy hotel is allowed to dupe unaware travelers. Please Please Please NEVER book a room there. There are plently of hotels at around the same price and much better condition. DO NOT BE DUPED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Covington, La
Oct 17, 2010

Regrettable Stay

We arrived to the hotel and it took 30 minutes just to get someone to take our car to the valet so we could go to our room. We came to the city for a relaxing time for my husband's birthday. The only great part about the hotel is that it was within walking distance to our destination Harrah's Casino and other little restaurants. Other than that, we are not pleased at all. The staff was so rude. We were charged their "nominal" fee which included internet which we couldn't even use in our room because it didn't work. The rooms small but noisy as you could hear people in the adjacent rooms taking showers. Upon check out, the valet guys were not with it and rude as well. The front desk lady had to go and get our car. Also, all we smelled the entire stay was smoke. Even in our "smoke-free" room, all I could smell was the smoke. For the money we paid, I would have preferred a more enjoyable experience. We do not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

NOLA restaurant is a restaurant you must try. We go for lunch when the price is a little cheaper. Fantastic food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AK New York
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 18, 2011

Ripped Off

I stayed at the hotel two years ago. The location of this hotel is fairly decent - several blocks away from the French Quarter - there are a number of good restaurants in short walking distance. It is close to Harrah's Casino which is a plus for some and a negative for others. Rooms are simply but nicely appointed. Many of them are interior rooms with windows that look out into the hotel corridor. I would recommend trying to get a room with a window facing the outside. I did have a rather unpleasant experience when I checked out of the hotel - in packing, I accidentally left several items in the closet of my room (a nice pair of slacks, a raincoat and a running jacket). I realized about an hour later that I had left the items there and immediately returned to the hotel. I spoke to the manager who went up to the room to and came back to tell me that the items were not there, that no one in housekeeping had seen them and that since it was my fault, there was nothing more that he could do. He was rude and seemed to have absolutely no interest in the obvious fact that if the items were not there, someone on his staff must have taken them. Several days later after I had gotten home, I tracked down a number for the hotel's owner and called his office to complain. The call was returned by a gentleman named [...], who told me that the owner has asked him tolook into the matter and get back to me. When a week went by with no reply, I called [...] again and left a message for him - and did so several times over the next several weeks - all with no answer. I finally gave up but was infuriated with the hotel's response from bottom to top. I wouldn't recommend that anyone consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jearnee McGuin
Business
New Orleans,La
Jun 19, 2013

Rip off!! Unauthorized charges on my account

After telling and showing the attendant the breakfast was included in the package he charged me. He also charged me for parking when I didn't park at the hotel. When I checked out it was refunded on the receipt . One day later, it was put back into my account and then taken back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa R
Business
Dayton
Jan 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel, huge let down

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel this past weekend (Thursday, January 16 – Sunday, January 19) and not only will I never stay there again but recommend no one else does. This hotel is not only extremely run down but the majority of the staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Upon checking in we were greeted with an unfriendly lady at the front desk. When I opened the door to our room my heart sank. It was clearly not the room I had reserved, which was a “Superior Double Queen” room. This room looked like a small, dark closest and had a lovely view of kitchen storage. I immediately walked back to the front desk and explained to the chipper female that this could not be the room I had reserved. According to the description/pictures the superior rooms were supposed to have wood floors and exposed brick. Instead of apologizing or explaining the female’s first response was, “well they don’t look like the pictures”. After I explained the major differences she agreed and said a new room would be ready at 4:00pm. We arrived back at the hotel and went up to our new room. By the description of a “superior” room this room was one but looked much different than the pictures. It had hard wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The room also had massive water damage that was poorly patched. The bathroom had major cracks around the shower and door. I understand part of the charm of the Ambassador is supposed to be its “old, authentic interior” but water damage and cracks should not be part of that. The bedding was cheap and the pillowcases had massacre stains. Honestly the Quality Inn by the airport we stayed at the night before was in better condition. Unfortunately the unfriendly female at the front desk was not the worst employee we came in contact with at the Ambassador. Thursday night we decided to stop in the attached bar, Lafayett’s. We took a seat at one of the high tables by the bar and waited for the red headed female bartender to greet us. After a few minutes she looked at us and said, “If you want a drink, you have to come to the bar. I am not a cocktail waitress and especially not when the bar is half full”. I was speechless. Clearly this lady missed the memo on good customer service or how to get tips. My boyfriend ordered a beer, drank it and we were out with in ten minutes. There were a few friendly employees but unfortunately the rude ones outweighed the good. The only positive thing I can say about the Ambassador is it in a good location, close to Harrah’s and the French Quarter. Overall a very disappointing stay and I wish I had listened to the other bad views I read before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Randy.
Business
Kabul, Afghanistan
Mar 18, 2011

R&R/Mardi Gras

Upon walking in to my first room, it looked like the room had just been slept in and left that way. I then called the front desk and was asked "What do you want me to do?" by the front desk attendant. I was moved into the last available king size bed room which was right on the front of the hotel and parallel with the side walk. When I spoke to the manager the next day, I was comped for my parking and then later charged for one of the two days anyways. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this hotel a 2, it brought down the overall experience of New Orleans and Mardi Gras. [...] The bartender at the bar did lean on my drinks a little though, best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must take a cab (because it's too cold to walk) do not ask them how much it is to get to Bourbon St, get in and tell them your destination. I was charged a flat rate of $12 and then a meter rate of $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pumpkin Eater
Business
Texas
Sep 28, 2011

Cheap and for a reason

It was old yet charming but for all that charm it lacked alot of up keep! it lacked maintance, cleaning and some repairs! I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jun 14, 2010

Never Again!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because it seemed like a good hotel, for a fair price, not far from the New Orleans Arena. Great. But...it ended there. We arrived to check in, and the Rep checking us in got a phone call from an apparently 'lost' hotel customer asking for directions. She smirked, rolled her eyes, and then laughed at them when they hung up. Evidently, in her lack of professionalism haze...she also didn't activate my hotel room keys, as neither of them worked. After going to our room and discovering that they didn't work, I had to go back to the lobby, upon which time I stumbled upon a HUUUGE roach in the hall...and the room keys was inconveniently fixed by the same Rep. Once we were able to get in our room, I turned the AC down to 65 degrees before we left for our evening out. When we arrived back in our room after about 7 hours away…the thermostat was reading about 75 degrees in our room….so I turned it down to 55 degrees. We were hot all evening...and when we woke up...it was 80 degrees in our room! (a far cry from the 55 that it was set on!) The AC ran all night,(or at least it sounded like it did) but clearly, had something wrong with it. The hallway was significantly cooler than our room. When we walked out to check out, my boyfriend say "We should have slept in the hallway. It's cooler in here". It probably would've been more quiet as well! Around 4am and again at about 5am...it sounded like someone fell out of bed multiple times and was going to come crashing through the ceiling on the floor above us. I'm assuming it was just someone slamming doors....or perhaps they were beating their heads against the wall, because their AC wasn't working either. In June in New Orleans…the last thing you want…is an AC that doesn't work! Whatever the case...we did not sleep! Oh...and not to be forgotten how incredibly uncomfortable the beds were. We were on the first level....room #170...and could hear every car, truck or bicycle that passed our room outside. Checkout time was at 11am. While I was packing up our belongings, Housekeeping was banging on our door at 10:25am asking if we were checked out yet. I responded to her "No...I don't plan on leaving until 11am....when I am required to be out...thank you!" Trust me lady…if I could've packed up faster to avoid the sweltering heat in my room, I would have! My boyfriend summed it up best when he said "This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had." [...] I am DEFINITELY NEVER staying here again. I am fairly tollerant of hotels, but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa
Sep 29, 2008

Waste of time

The wallpaper was peeling of the walls in the room and when we turn on the fan in the room dust came flyng off them. The location was not bad, but there was a constant dinging in our room from the waterpipes in the walls. I am going back next October and I will be paying for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

if you go far enough you will get good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top