$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
272 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMWill
Business
Canton, GA
Jul 19, 2012

My getaway

Never again!!! On the website the building look all nice but when I got there the hotel look like an old run down building that they tried to fix up. You either had to pay for parking across the street or use their valet parking a block and a half away and I think it was $35 a night. The walls were paper thin, rooms were very small I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Sheila
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, but so disappointing!

I stayed here for my birthday for three night and four days. For one, I had to wait for my town car to pick me up after I'd made reservations. Once I finally made it to the hotel, the front desk tells me that I had to wait for my room to be cleaned. REALLY?! I had to sit at the bar with drunk folks ready to party before I finally got my room to relax. When I FINALLY made it to my room, the hardwood floor was so creaky and uneven, I thought I would fall through. It was around this time that I discovered that there was NO ROOM SERVICE at this hotel. When I called to ask about room service, and what one should do to get food, the Front Desk was very flippant and sarcastic with me. (Mind you, no one bothered to mention the continental breakfast until I was checking out of the hotel.) Sleeping was a horrible experience. My bed was comfortable, but everybody's footsteps was heard throughout the hotel, ... it sounded like each guest in each hotel room (anywhere near mine) wore 'concrete busters' throughout the night, and also chose to drag dead bodies across the floor at 3am in the mornings. (It's the only thing I can think of to drag that late at night.) When I'd wake up in the mornings, I had no idea what time it was if I did not have my phone next to me, as the windows in my room only showed the view of the hallway outside, meaning when I woke up at 7:30am, it was pitch black in my room. Once I woke up in the morning, there was NEVER any hot water to use for the tub. I'd have to wait til the evening hours to take my baths, because that's when most people were out and about getting drunk and NOT using the water. I couldn't wait for this experience to be over. The concierge adviced me to try to get the Front Desk to take off the "hidden fees" of $9.95 a night, since I'd been inconvenienced with having to wait for my room when I arrived. When I tried her method, the Front Desk didn't budge. When it was time for check-out, the concierge assured me that she'd reserved transportation for me to get to the train station. I waited, ... and waited, ... and waited some more. Finally, the nice gentleman who worked in place of the previous concierge found a cab for me, who came right away. He didn't even charge me for the ride, which was a positive experience that had absolutely NOTHING to do with this hotel. LOL! But anyway, ... I loved the architecture of the building, and the history behind it, but it just wasn't as pleasant of an experience as I had hoped. One night would've been great, ... 3 nights in a row sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I'll be honest that the food at the Extreme Bar & Grille was quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs.A
Business
GA
Jan 7, 2013

Really needs an upgrade

Just stayed here over the weekend Jan 2013. The Internet pics and rating was so far from the truth. The bed is not connected to the headboard so is slides away from the wall. The bathroom had yellow spots on the ceiling and a piece of paper stuck in a hole in the ceiling. The floors were ancient. The conversations of the next room occupants were easily heard. The ceiling seemed as if it would fall in when the upper floor occupants walked. This place really needs some work. Definitely would not recommend UNLESS you are looking for a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pappa Mike
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2013

Very disappointed

Claims to be a boutigue hotel. Very old and bath tub and sink really need upgrade (cracks, etc. Youth cheerleading competition going on and hotel was booked with teams and families. kids were hanging out in hallways. (20) camped outside our door. teams prcaticing routines in the hallways and in their rooms. called desk (3) separate times last time was 1:00am, they were still at it. Talked to desk personel, could'nt cares less. One more thing, no windows looking outside, just a window looking at the hallway (where the kids were practicing). high price for horrible service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ursula Carson
Business
Mobile,Al
May 28, 2013

getaway

need to do some thing about the floors in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

acme good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayJay1981
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 2, 2013

Good location, bad hotel

I love old-style boutique hotels. In fact, I prefer them over something like a modern day Hilton. But this place was a disaster. I was on the 2nd floor and there is a loud bar that played music until 2am. If I wanted a bar with loud music playing, I would have gone to Bourbon Street. I could hear a loud banging (it happened very regularly every 30 minutes and I have no idea what it was) and it would wake up up. The walls are paper thin and I could hear every door close, toilet flush or shower running from my neighbor. Place really needs upgrades. The hotel clerk was rude and snapped at me when I asked her a question. They charged me for 2 days of parking when there was only 1. After I checked in at 4pm, a housekeeper came into my room to clean and I was not dressed. Then I got no clean towels my 2nd day and I had to call to get more. It's a great location but I will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al3x
Business
Houston, tx
May 27, 2014

Good location .... That's all

The only thing I really likes was ... The location, and I guess that it had hot water lol, the very first impression was extremely noisy floors, inside the room... So I told myself well I can live with that, after a short 2 minutes I decided to try out the bed, it was the most uncomfortable and noisy bed I have ever slept on my whole life....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Truth About My Stays
Business
Edmonton, KY
Mar 29, 2011

The Good and The Bad

My friend and I thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and out with an old Victorian feel to it. However, their was some downers to the hotel. Our room 426 smelled like someone washed it in bourbon every day we walked into it. Their was one bulb in the entire room on the ceiling for lighting and possibly two lamps in the room that were not very bright. So if your looking for a nice place to read this place might not be for you. The SHOWER OMG THE SHOWER SUCKED! It took like no joke 8minutes to warm up then it barely came out of the overhead faucet onto you. Pretty much in order to take a shower you had to hug the wall underneath the faucet to get enough water even on you. My friend and I even tried moving the nozzle, but it made it worse. The front desk girls weren't the happiest people to greet you after a long trip they all looked grumpy and sleep deprived. But that wasn't going to stop us from having fun on our trip. The hotel itself wasn't worth over 90.00 a night seriously. The guys that parked the cars and carried the luggage were friendly and seemed interested in pleasing the customers of the hotel. The hotel location was smack dab in the city of New Orleans so that was convenient. Also, their was a bar at the bottom of the hotel for those who drink. This might be convenient info for someone. If I had to do it again I probably would choose another hotel only because the shower thing killed me in the mornings. I really wanted a nice warm, relaxing shower and that was just not possible in this hotel. Everything else was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Not very pleased. Front desk not friendly. Rooms too noisy.

We had a very bad experience. My daughter was taking a bath when all of a sudden a tile from the ceiling fell on her head. We had to take her to the local hospital. The hotel was not concern about her well being. The manager for some reason was not around to talk to us. This was very dissapointing. The had to be moved to another room and no compensation was considered. Thishotel was recommended to us but we probably will not recommendit to no one we know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lone_Texas_Ranger
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 4, 2009

Decent stay

Unfortunately, Ambassador Hotel did not live up to expectations. When requesting an upgrade as per my room rate range, I was given a room with a WINDOW! Somehow that equates to an upgraded room. The room was nice, save for the hair on the bathroom floor, the mold coming from the bathtub and the ever-so-filthy coffee mugs that one must delouse before using.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gumbo Shop near Jackson Square is a must-eat once in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top