$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

Price changed after we got there

Our two main gripes were that they had a hidden charge for thier telephone/internet service that they do not include in the price of the room but is mandatory that you pay it even if you never pick up the phone or desire internet. It was only about $7 a day but that should either be by your choice or be put into the price of the room. The other thing was the room really had a bad smell to it. I guess it was smoked in. When we protested at the desk about the extra charges we were told that we would have to talk to management and then management never made themselves available. Friends of ours had alot of trouble getting thier room toilet to work properly and maintainence was very slow in responding to their calls. The resturant was changing hands when we were their and the service was lousy. Still the location is great, they have alot of potential to be better. They were better when we were there two years ago. I hate to excuse bad service because of a hurricane 18 months prior. New Orleans is a great town, but next time we will look at other hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk from Canal Street and a little further to the French Quarter, and the French Market. A must do is a night or sunset walk on the River Walk. Very romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Sep 27, 2009

Professional Conference Stay

Overall the stay at the Ambassador Hotel served its purpose, meaning I had somewhere to sleep at night. However, the room was very dingy looking and didn't feel clean and fresh like other hotels I've stayed in. The hotel staff was very friendly and the location was superb. The old saying " you get what you pay for" fits this hotel nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For those looking for an economical hotel stay in the New Orleans area, the Ambassador is GREAT! The location can't be beat and the price is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Just a little off. . . .

Although the room was fine and had a bit more charm than a chain might, the experience was a little off. For example, the hard wood floors buckled in the middle of the room, which meant that we regularly were tripping - humourous the first time, but can get old. The window looked out onto a brick wall, which made it really dark in the room. The lighting in the room was nice, but the bed was not very firm. The hotel was clean. The problem with it being understaffed was perhaps the major problem. There was no open restaurant on site - not a huge problem except when one wants coffee in the morning - and although we were close to Canal street, we still had to several blocks to get coffee. Also, the front desk staff were not prepared with suggeestions for places to eat, sending us down wrong streets and blocks. The valet and parking service is nice to have, but they only had one valet working at a time, which meant that there was a huge back up of people waiting when we checked out. For the price, the location was nice as we were situated right in between the French Quarter and the Warehouse district. We did not have to use our car at all while exploring these areas. We still had a nice time in New Orleans, and the hotel wasn't horrible, bue we will not likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we were on the hunt for coffee, we did find PJs. If you walk north on Canal Street past the Starbucks in the Sheraton, PJs will be on your left. The coffee, chai and bagels were yummy, and the service friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Great price, but no cigar!

Upon arriving a the hotel, I was immediately asked for the $9 per night mandatory fee, that covers the continental breakfast and internet access. I can't fathom why they charge for either. They were kind enough not to take an incidental fee, however, the first room they gave me was a dungeon. It was very small, damp and humid. There was an old ceiling fan and a window that about the size of a small safe with old curtains. Upon drawing back the curtains I discovered there was no light and no view, just 3 brick walls with a bit of a glow of the sun peeking through...like it use to be a laundry chute. I quickly took two steps to the left to see the "rest" of the room. The sink was next to the closet and a wall divided the bathroom that greeted my with a dirty counter and some lovely gnats! After leaving the "closet", I asked for another room. Again, they were nice and changed my room, which was better, but still no cigar. The floor was warped, the bed was old (in the web video they call them "plush"), the curtains were kind of outdated as well. The windows were great and with a view of Harrahs. (sigh) This wouldn't have been so bad if I wasn't directly over the bar...let's say that Bars, sports and the Karaoke version of "These Boots are Made for Walking" by a drunk girl is not want you want to hear the night before you have to wake up at 6am for a conference. When I finally got to the point I felt comfortable in my room some sort of flying cricket/ water bug /creature invaded my room...which I understand is common in the area...but still not welcome. The price is very good and the breakfast was good. But the online presentation on the rooms is way off. They claim to be a BOUTIQUE HOTEL...okay. At best it's a dark warehouse with beds..a little creepy...def not for kids. A boutique is typically modern and vibrant. They had plenty of patrons to pay for improvements. I insist they can keep the the same rates and make improvements, new beds, curtains a good exterminator maybe a few sound proof rooms. The LOCATION WAS THE BEST FEATURE!! Close to everything NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Square--great Po Boys and music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
propgig
Business
Galveston, TX, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Ordinary

Overall experience was OK, however internet did not work and we were moved to different rooms multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charlieT
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 6, 2012

In the heart

The location is good, the staff talks to you, the valet guys are friendly and all that but don't expect anything special. They say they have room service but it's not available but then again, it's New Orleans. Don't eat in when you can have really good food out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of happening just a few blocks away. Just walk and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob from Texas
Business
Fort worth
Feb 25, 2012

Pretty bad.

I was late making reservations during Mardi Gras so I was lucky to get a room at all. Still, the room was the worst I have had in a long time especially at that price. The door to the room was an old office door with a full window in it with beat up blinds on the inside! The room windows looked out to the hallway with the same old blinds. On the plus side, the beds were clean, firm and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Craigers
Business
D
Apr 27, 2012

Decent

Uncomfortable beds, but overall the staff was quite nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bethlynn
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 27, 2012

If you just need a room

Given I do not like to be in my hotel rooms much the rooms offered by Ambassador fit the bill to a tee. I did have trouble closing the door as it did not fit to the frame correctly and judging by the amount of noise from other rooms I was not alone. Furniture in room was old and worn but that hardly mattered, bed was fine. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snug Harbor Jazz Club was wonderful !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMWill
Business
Canton, GA
Jul 19, 2012

My getaway

Never again!!! On the website the building look all nice but when I got there the hotel look like an old run down building that they tried to fix up. You either had to pay for parking across the street or use their valet parking a block and a half away and I think it was $35 a night. The walls were paper thin, rooms were very small I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top