$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B in VA
Business
VA
Apr 15, 2012

Minimally Adequate

The staff were wonderful and courteous, and the location was perfect for my needs (CBD and warehouse district which is great for dinners that aren't overrun with tourists). However I had a first floor room which did not resemble the photos on the website. They are going for the rustic charm - lobby hits its that mark, but the room fell way short and was just junky. The carpet was absolutely disgusting and the bathroom was not particularly clean either (lots of mold in the shower grout, and around fixtures). It wasn't worth switching hotels for me but this hotel also wasnt worth what I paid for it. With so many other options in the area I most likely won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel time PA
Business
PA
May 31, 2012

Fair price

Overall a solid experience for the price. Minor issues - the shower tub faucet needed repairs and only went into shower mode. The breakfast selection is very limited to toast, cereal, muffins, and hard boiled eggs. Side note not related to the hotel - The parking in downtown New Orleans is expensive, $32 per day at the public parking lot that the hotel uses. Way more expensive than other cities. Not sure if I'll be visiting New Orleans if they keep raising parking lot prices and rental car taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lesismore
Business
Minnesota
Jul 1, 2012

Good Location

This hotel was close enough but far enough away from the Quarter. I stayed by myself a few days extra after a work conference and I felt safe. I was close enough to the Quarter to see the tourist stuff, but far enough away to not dealing with the partying that occurs. It was nice to be close to the Riverwalk and the streetcars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's Restaurant is a block away with good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Music connection
Business
Kansas City
Nov 18, 2012

Overall good place

I like the location of this hotel, not right in the middle of all the activities but close enough to walk to all of them. I like where I stay to be quieter! My only complaint about the room was the bed - one side was higher than the other. The hotel bar was great - best Bloody Mary's I've had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsJones87
Business
Southwestern Ohio
Jan 20, 2013

Hotel with personality

- Good location, only a short walk to French quarter & CBD - Nice, unique ambiance - Could have been cleaner - Walls must be a bit thin as we heard a lot of voices and noises from plumbing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HPM Convention goer
Business
KC, MO
Mar 19, 2013

Works for Work

They really couldn't offer an early check-in, not even by 30 minutes. Would have liked the option to forego housekeeping everyday since I was spending so little time in my room -- such a waste. Breakfast although included was fairly bare-bones. Easy walk to convention center though and free wifi was helpful. I liked the character of the wood floors and the rooms, but sometimes the creakiness was a bit much and not much soundproofing so neighbors knocking on doors late at night wasn't much fun. Was an acceptable option for my conference attendance, but otherwise I'm not sure I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kostas N
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2013

Good value for money

Very basic amenities, the breakfast was not that good. The room was not that clean at check in but it was great the 2nd day. Staff was helpful but responded slowly. Simple tasks needed extra time to be done and the overall takeaway was not to trust the staff at all. It was the only hotel in the US where I was afraid to leave my laptop in the room while away. Also, it was the only hotel in US that they charged extra when we requested a baby crib....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eniac
Business
Beijing
Jul 18, 2013

Dont be tricked by photos

This place is ok but we were shocked to find that the only window in our room faced into the hallway! Also the floors were so slick that when we got out of bed we just fell right one the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alichacon23
Business
miami
Sep 26, 2013

my visit to new orlean in september 2013

Ordinary services and room, good staff, dinner and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph G
Business
Sand Springs, OK
Oct 15, 2013

Nights in New Orleans

Room was musty, and had together staff to sweep floor. We also had reserved a king size bed and only received a queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top