$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa R
Business
Dayton
Jan 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel, huge let down

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel this past weekend (Thursday, January 16 – Sunday, January 19) and not only will I never stay there again but recommend no one else does. This hotel is not only extremely run down but the majority of the staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Upon checking in we were greeted with an unfriendly lady at the front desk. When I opened the door to our room my heart sank. It was clearly not the room I had reserved, which was a “Superior Double Queen” room. This room looked like a small, dark closest and had a lovely view of kitchen storage. I immediately walked back to the front desk and explained to the chipper female that this could not be the room I had reserved. According to the description/pictures the superior rooms were supposed to have wood floors and exposed brick. Instead of apologizing or explaining the female’s first response was, “well they don’t look like the pictures”. After I explained the major differences she agreed and said a new room would be ready at 4:00pm. We arrived back at the hotel and went up to our new room. By the description of a “superior” room this room was one but looked much different than the pictures. It had hard wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The room also had massive water damage that was poorly patched. The bathroom had major cracks around the shower and door. I understand part of the charm of the Ambassador is supposed to be its “old, authentic interior” but water damage and cracks should not be part of that. The bedding was cheap and the pillowcases had massacre stains. Honestly the Quality Inn by the airport we stayed at the night before was in better condition. Unfortunately the unfriendly female at the front desk was not the worst employee we came in contact with at the Ambassador. Thursday night we decided to stop in the attached bar, Lafayett’s. We took a seat at one of the high tables by the bar and waited for the red headed female bartender to greet us. After a few minutes she looked at us and said, “If you want a drink, you have to come to the bar. I am not a cocktail waitress and especially not when the bar is half full”. I was speechless. Clearly this lady missed the memo on good customer service or how to get tips. My boyfriend ordered a beer, drank it and we were out with in ten minutes. There were a few friendly employees but unfortunately the rude ones outweighed the good. The only positive thing I can say about the Ambassador is it in a good location, close to Harrah’s and the French Quarter. Overall a very disappointing stay and I wish I had listened to the other bad views I read before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gotalive
Business
new orleans
Nov 8, 2009

been to nicer motels

stayed in 3 different rooms in 4 might first night the bar in the lobby was open past 3 in the morning. next night room didn´t have a clock and the ac diddn´t work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Nov 16, 2009

The WORST hotel in New Orleans

We checked in at 3:30PM and checked out at 4PM same day after seeing this "laugh" of a room....rat hole in the cornor of room...beds that apparently were in this hotel in 1854!...dirty sheets w/dead bugs...glass doors to rooms with blinds over them...furnishings that looked like castoffs from some bad 40's movie and OLD ugly wood floors(NO CARPET IN ROOMS)!! Bath looked like it came out of some horrible nightmare. We lost our money but would have paid double to get out...DON'T EVER USE THIS HOTEL...SHOULD BE CLOSED AND DEMOLISHED. It is a travesty that this kind of trashy hotel is allowed to dupe unaware travelers. Please Please Please NEVER book a room there. There are plently of hotels at around the same price and much better condition. DO NOT BE DUPED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
May 23, 2010

Do Not Stay at The Ambassador Hotel!

The hotel had a broken AC and would not give us an estimate of when it would be fixed. The AC was out all night in a very hot southern city. The hotel offered nothing to compensate for this. We also had very low water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Covington, La
Oct 17, 2010

Regrettable Stay

We arrived to the hotel and it took 30 minutes just to get someone to take our car to the valet so we could go to our room. We came to the city for a relaxing time for my husband's birthday. The only great part about the hotel is that it was within walking distance to our destination Harrah's Casino and other little restaurants. Other than that, we are not pleased at all. The staff was so rude. We were charged their "nominal" fee which included internet which we couldn't even use in our room because it didn't work. The rooms small but noisy as you could hear people in the adjacent rooms taking showers. Upon check out, the valet guys were not with it and rude as well. The front desk lady had to go and get our car. Also, all we smelled the entire stay was smoke. Even in our "smoke-free" room, all I could smell was the smoke. For the money we paid, I would have preferred a more enjoyable experience. We do not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

NOLA restaurant is a restaurant you must try. We go for lunch when the price is a little cheaper. Fantastic food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AK New York
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 18, 2011

Ripped Off

I stayed at the hotel two years ago. The location of this hotel is fairly decent - several blocks away from the French Quarter - there are a number of good restaurants in short walking distance. It is close to Harrah's Casino which is a plus for some and a negative for others. Rooms are simply but nicely appointed. Many of them are interior rooms with windows that look out into the hotel corridor. I would recommend trying to get a room with a window facing the outside. I did have a rather unpleasant experience when I checked out of the hotel - in packing, I accidentally left several items in the closet of my room (a nice pair of slacks, a raincoat and a running jacket). I realized about an hour later that I had left the items there and immediately returned to the hotel. I spoke to the manager who went up to the room to and came back to tell me that the items were not there, that no one in housekeeping had seen them and that since it was my fault, there was nothing more that he could do. He was rude and seemed to have absolutely no interest in the obvious fact that if the items were not there, someone on his staff must have taken them. Several days later after I had gotten home, I tracked down a number for the hotel's owner and called his office to complain. The call was returned by a gentleman named [...], who told me that the owner has asked him tolook into the matter and get back to me. When a week went by with no reply, I called [...] again and left a message for him - and did so several times over the next several weeks - all with no answer. I finally gave up but was infuriated with the hotel's response from bottom to top. I wouldn't recommend that anyone consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MovieMom
Business
Spring Hill, TN
Jan 19, 2012

NOT Pet Friendly

We were attending a conference in New Orleans, and we had booked rooms at one of the conference hotels. At the last minute, we needed a pet friendly hotel. We found this hotel in fact it showed up first on the list. First the hotel is old, everything squeaks especially our bed. The floors are not level, the elevator sounds like it will break at any minute, and you can hear EVERYTHING..After two days of our stay, we were out with our pets and we were harassed as we came back to the hotel by the 'manager' who said the hotel was not pet friendly. I explained that we checked in no problem and it states in the directory that pets are allowed. He said he would find out who checked us in and that the policy had changed and they don't allow pets. I went to our room and called the corporate office to see if we needed to leave and complained about the rude 'manager'. Turns out he was the assistant and the actual manager knew we checked in and 'didn't have a problem' with our dogs. They don't know if they take pets or not. We couldn't wait to leave. Will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the French Quarter, visit 'Huey's" which is on the River front near the actual Cafe Du Monde. Fabulous staff, and food, AND they allow pets! Ask for James, he was the best waiter we ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SF tester
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2012

Awful room!

The hotel itself is really nice, people are friendly and the cleaning personel is good. It is not their fault that the room...was the worst I have ever been so far! No window, former smoker room, bathroom really old with broken floor. Climate was loud and only very difficult to adjust. Everything else was nice but the stay in the room made the whole stay in the hotel extremely unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

not too good at all!`

I read a lot of negative stuff about this place, but it had a low price. It was poorly maintained with chipping unfinished walls, floorboards coming up, a bathroom in poor repair. The bed only had a thin sheet and a thin cover - it wasn't much for the >100 per night I paid. They offered to charge me extra 10$ per night for the luxury of internet, work out room and business center, which I had to specifically request that I not be charged for. They said they are supposed to, but for whatever reason they decided not to charge me. But, it was a quiet night in a bed. Nothing broke, no one bothered me, and I slept well. I would not go back unless I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabyErik
Business
New Jersey
May 18, 2012

Seemed OK but...

My husband just spent two nights at this hotel and came home with a significant number of bites. The doctor confirmed today that it was bed bugs. I've left a msg today for the hotel manager but no one has returned my call. Not sure what I expect from him, but others should be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top