$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 271
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boogieman
Business
Ramsey, MN
Sep 10, 2010

What a beatiful place

We walked into a beautiful hotel...we rode in on our motorcycle from Jackson MS. We were tired and was ready to rest. We were welcomed and checked in right away. They wanted to make sure that we had what we needed. They were so nice and seemed interested in you as a person, not just a client. When we asked advise or direction they went above and beyond to make sure that you received what you needed to have a successful trip. The room was so classy and clean. The view was awesome. At night we were away from the noise so we could sleep. We were able to walk to all exhibits or destinations. Not to mention great coffee. Thank you Ambassador Hotel for a five star stay. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
Business
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nola
May 28, 2014

nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Casper, WY
Oct 7, 2008

Good location

Close to the French Quarter, without being too Close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 2, 2008

Very Nice

Nice hotel, friendly staff. My wife and I only had one night stay, but it was everything we thought it was going to be. Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere with an older, rustic building feel to it. Room was very spacious. The dining in the restraunt was phenomenal! The location was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The restraunt located in the hotel is called US Prime and it was delicious. The Hotel is not far at all from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, and other nightlife activities, daytime activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Touch of Class
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 18, 2010

Historic Getaway

Great experience! Close to Riverwalk, Canal Street, Harrahs Casino, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welderremie
Business
lake charles louisiana
Jun 20, 2010

really really good hotel

it was a great hotel with very helpful staff and they were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham AL
Nov 10, 2010

Beautiful old new Orleans hotel.

The hotel had a beautiful lobby and neat little bar downstairs. Great location near harrahs and Decatur, and only a few minutes walk from Bourbon St. Rooms were smaller as expected from 100 yr old building, but clean and nice bath. I would recommend parking in the lot across the street rather than valet - it costs a little less and doesnt take near the time to retreive your car. Overall we had a great experience with this hotel. I lived in new orleans for several years and visit often. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nederland
Aug 7, 2008

very nice and good location

The entire staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. They took time to give us all the directions and information we requested. Although there was no resturant in the hotel (one will be opening very soon} there were several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Very conveniently located for many local attractions. Room was small but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's casino has excellent food and great atmosphere and is only a 2 block walk. Mother's restaurant has great breakfast at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tntnascargirl
Business
Vidalia, GA
Sep 5, 2010

Wonderful time!!!

We wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary. When reading ratings we were apprehensive about this hotel; however, when we got there we were very happy. The staff went out ouf their way to make sure we were happy. The room was awesome. Brick walls, dark hardwood flooring. First floor level room, large bathroom, very comfortable. They even took the time to make resrvations for the civil war cruise and we walked right up to the window and our tickets were right there. We didn't get to eat in the dining room, but we will definately be back and look forward to their chef's menu. A special thank you to the entire staff for making the first two nights of our anniversary vacation a special one!!! T. Summers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top