$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristy123
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great hotel but valet parking extra $32!!!

Good hotel but for the $90+ $10 at check in + $32 for valet or $28 across the street parking in open lot, I think I would've find a better place to stay in New Orleans. Total spent for one night $132. for $125 I could stay in French Quarter with parking and breakfast included!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VS99
FL
Nov 7, 2011

Ambassador

Brekfast is slow serving, room was without window, hallway have unplesant smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NOLA traveler
NYC
Jun 10, 2013

Amazing Location, Good Hotel

You are within 10 minute walk from the French Quarter and within a couple of steps from Mother's restaurant, which is an absolute must try. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There was noise outside my room when I arrived and I was upgraded from a queen to a king to a quieter room without much hassle. The building is old and the hotel isn't the most luxurious place you've ever stayed at, but it had everything you need from a hotel in New Orleans. Also, good value for money. They do charge you a MANDATORY $10 for wi-fi and breakfast etc once you arrive, but since they had such a good deal on the hotel, I didn't feel like throwing a tantrum over the extra $10 per night. Overall, I definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Airboat Adventure swamp tour! Stunning!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
porkasmith
San Antonio, TX
Jun 18, 2013

across from the Piazza d'Italia

Our initial experience was a bit rocky as our electronic key did not open the room; so we were given a new room. The woman at reception gave us an upgraded room because she wanted us to have a room with a window. The room was huge and overlooked the hotel entrance and across to the Piazza d'Italia, a bench mark of early postmodern architecture. FYI, there are rooms without windows located in the center of the hotel because the hotel is carved out of an old coffee factory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers for classic new orleans poor boys with roast beef, debris and gravy.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Covington, LA
Oct 7, 2009

Great stay

Great room. Check in was quick. Overall good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Isle was great.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavvyTraveler
Business
Georgia, USA
Jan 24, 2012

a bit of a debaucle

upon checking in the hotel had mistakenly held a single bed room for me when I had reserved and paid for a double bed room (there were going to be three of us in the room). When we called down to the front desk she told us they had no double bed rooms available until the next day and would we like a cot. 30 minutes later I called back and they told me they were out of cots. They were willing to move us to a king bed room for more comfort, but all in all this was really frustrating, especially considering it was late in the evening after a long day of work and driving. I asked to speak to a manager several times throughout the stay and no one was ever available. They were unable to refund me any part of my money because I booked online through an external company rather than through them. I was in town for a large conference and many of us from the conference were staying at the hotel, however they declined to serve coffee or any sort of early breakfast any earlier than 830 despite the fact that most of us were expected at the conference by 730AM. The room itself, and the location were great. Lots of character and very close to everything. The amenities and staff were sadly lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tn
May 27, 2010

good price for the location

the only thing I did not like was the fact we had to pay for telephone/internet services and fitness center which we never used. I think you should be only charged if you use it. We stayed for 3 days and had to pay the $7.95 for each day for these services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Oct 7, 2009

good price great location

staff was friendly. location neart to all attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 9, 2008

Great value

The hotel was a good value for the money in that it was in a convenient location and felt very safe. Very short walk to the casino. Also an easy walk to the French Quarter. The room was spacious. In fact it was actually a mini suite in that it had a separate sitting area with television, sofa and desk. The bedroom had a comfortable bed and television with nice bathroom. My two negatives are that we could hear the person above us walking around on the wooden floors - from bedroom to bathroom and back again - knew their every move in the morning. Also, there was no window in the room. The building is a restored warehouse type of building with charm but with those two drawbacks. The room was spacious and the hotel was charming. Definitely for the money and location it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tn
May 27, 2010

good price for the location

the only thing I did not like was the fact we had to pay for telephone/internet services and fitness center which we never used. I think you should be only charged if you use it. We stayed for 3 days and had to pay the $7.95 for each day for these services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top