$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
272 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusTraveler
Business
Ohio
Jan 19, 2012

Wonderful Historic - Wonderful Location

Just around the corner from the main streets and near some stunning restaurants, this is a fun hotel. BUT the beds are firm. Not slightly soft...firm. Nice small breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Pinkberry's yogurt out....great stuff and few stores outside of California.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 20, 2012

Long weekend

Enjoyed my stay. Interesting place, a little off the beaten path but very good location. Nice sports bar off the lobby. Very good for the price. I'll probably stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little corner breakfast, lunch spot less than a block away.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavvyTraveler
Business
Georgia, USA
Jan 24, 2012

a bit of a debaucle

upon checking in the hotel had mistakenly held a single bed room for me when I had reserved and paid for a double bed room (there were going to be three of us in the room). When we called down to the front desk she told us they had no double bed rooms available until the next day and would we like a cot. 30 minutes later I called back and they told me they were out of cots. They were willing to move us to a king bed room for more comfort, but all in all this was really frustrating, especially considering it was late in the evening after a long day of work and driving. I asked to speak to a manager several times throughout the stay and no one was ever available. They were unable to refund me any part of my money because I booked online through an external company rather than through them. I was in town for a large conference and many of us from the conference were staying at the hotel, however they declined to serve coffee or any sort of early breakfast any earlier than 830 despite the fact that most of us were expected at the conference by 730AM. The room itself, and the location were great. Lots of character and very close to everything. The amenities and staff were sadly lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristy123
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great hotel but valet parking extra $32!!!

Good hotel but for the $90+ $10 at check in + $32 for valet or $28 across the street parking in open lot, I think I would've find a better place to stay in New Orleans. Total spent for one night $132. for $125 I could stay in French Quarter with parking and breakfast included!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essard
El Paso, TX, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great place for Party Gras

While the hotel wasn't anything special, it was in a perfect place for seeing Mardi Gras. We were minutes, (walking,) from catching many of the parades that traverse Canal Street, and only a few blocks from the festivities within the French Quarter, (just far enough that when we got back to the room, there was no obstruction to getting some sleep to be ready to do it all again the following day. The staff was also great, going out of their way to make the stay comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivier's was absolutely fantastic, and only a 10ish minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt1542
Charleston, SC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

First Timer

Aside from the unattached headboard, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Ambassador. The rooms are beautiful and the location was very convenient to restaurants, bars, and the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn33
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

great surprise

we were last minute booking a room and quite happy with the friendly staff and size of the room! we will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to Nola
New Orleans, LA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great location, great fun!

We only stayed one night, but I will definitely send my family there when they come into town to visit! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cajun fries in the bar attached to the bar!!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decal
Orange, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

vacation

Loved the staff and the room. Very clean and the staff was so helpful. Walking distance to all the places we wanted to go. Had a great time and would stay here again if we do come to visit again. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Worldwide Wanderer
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 8, 2012

I Suppose It Depends On What You're Looking For...

We were absolutely delighted by what we found for the uber-amazing price we paid for our stay at the Ambassador! We partook of the free breakfast every morning and it kept us going for hours, we slept soundly each night, and enjoyed the quirky mix of old-and-new touches in this hotel. We were able to walk easily from the front doors to the public transportation we were using or even straight into the French Quarter itself, and the amazing Mother's restaurant is barely a half a block away! Now, for the downside: if you like your bed to feel like it's brand-new, your room phone to work, and every detail of your room to be in perfect order, this is probably not the place for you. But if you are an easy-going, take-it-as-it-comes budget traveler that just wants a convenient, affordable place to lay your head, you will hopefully be just as thrilled as we were!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for big portions of delicious local food at a really reasonable price, you have to visit "Mother's Restaurant" about half a block back toward Canal Street from the Ambassador's front entrance! Fabulous!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search