$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
This room features a plush king bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Double Double
This room features 2 plush double beds , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Premium Queen
This room features a plush queen bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium King
This room features a plush king bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium Queen Queen
This room features 2 plush queen beds, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Deluxe Queen, Windowless
This interior room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Queen
This room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntsville, AL
Jun 8, 2010

all good

easy walk to the riverfront and french quarter with free street parking on the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check online at www.nola.com/entertainment to find festivals and other events

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 23, 2010

I love this hotel !!!

This is my 5th time stay at the Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. I love this hotel. Me and my parents were driving to New Orleans. I had a feeling we might be late. So I call the hotel and told they can we check in late. They told me no problem I could. Own room was big, the beds were nice size. If you love the casino like my father than this is the hotel for you. And that famous restaurant "Mother" is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We <3 to travel
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 22, 2010

A New Orleans hidden treasure!

The hotel was in am amazing location, a block from the casino and only 3 blocks from bourbon street. In one day wee walked tothe farmers market, all along the river walk, and our hotel was never too far away. The room was amazing very cute and quaint. Well worth the price and cant beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Doral
Jun 22, 2008

Great Location & Unique

This hotel has a great location in New Orleans. Easy to walk to canal Street, casino, ferry boat, and shops. The hotel has a unique feel to it with its decor. Great bargain!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are few nice bars and restaurants near the hotel. Great Location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

one of the best buys in ...

one of the best buys in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

casino's ,food, riverwalk, all within a block, a very safe area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bouton
Business
new orleans
Dec 5, 2009

unbeatable for the price and location

hotel staff the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the best steak i ever ate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Casper, WY
Oct 7, 2008

Good location

Close to the French Quarter, without being too Close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

NOLA Wedding Planning Visit

You get what you pay for definitely applies here ... When we arrived, there was no one around to help with bags ... no one said, Hello, and once my mom approached the front desk ... the woman behind the desk was rubbing her stomach and told my mom that she had gas. My mom simply said with a smile, maybe some 7 up would take care of that. Anyway ... aesthetically, the hotel is really cute. We walked in our room and it looked great ... two double beds, exposed brick, iron headboards, dark hardwood floors ... GREAT! Then I walked into the bathroom ... I was traumatized ... the picture changed significantly ... roadside hotel in the middle of nowhere kinda aesthetic ... it appeared dirty, ceiling cracks everywhere ... I wasn't completely sure that the floor and tub was clean ... AHHHH!!!!! My mom assured me that the bathroom was just old and in need of a remodel. Over the course of the week however, I realized that the bathroom was just old and in real need of some work ... other than that though honestly, we were comfortable and we got to know the quirky staff who turned out to be quite helpful ... and for the price and location ... I have to admit that I would definitely stay there again ... would I tell my out of town guests to stay there during our wedding weekend ... probably not ... Oh ... one more thing ... no wifi but they do have a business center ... and my cell phone had no couldn't signal .. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Mother's Restaurant is half a block away ... you have to try their AMAZING local food (i.e., bread putting, shrimp Po Boys, crawfish etouffee, seafood gumbo) ... they're open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. ... great and cheap breakfast to boot :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 2, 2008

Very Nice

Nice hotel, friendly staff. My wife and I only had one night stay, but it was everything we thought it was going to be. Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere with an older, rustic building feel to it. Room was very spacious. The dining in the restraunt was phenomenal! The location was good too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The restraunt located in the hotel is called US Prime and it was delicious. The Hotel is not far at all from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, and other nightlife activities, daytime activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Can't wait to go back....

This was my first time in New Orleans. my wife had gone once before... and stayed in the same area...This hotel was wonderful, we enjoyed the old warehouse look. I slept in the bed like I was at home..The staff was very professional and frendly.The bathroom needs remodeling but it was clean.As far as the location we were in walking distance to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is One or two Blocks from everything...It's take a litties bit longer to get to Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top