$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2014 Check-out: Apr 18, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
261 reviews
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
For the price, it was good enough.

I should have know that $89 was too good for a great place but the hotel did the best they could... See full review

  • Natbay
  • Jul 22, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (261)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Jul 5, 2007

Down Home Folks

I think that the staff at the Ambassador Hotel really showed their southern hospitality. They made me feel welcomed from the moment I walked through the doors. They were all very friendly and courteous. Even though I wasn't able to have an early check in, the front desk clerk on duty was very helpful in getting the bellman to store my luggage until I could check in and she told me of great local places to go and have a nice lunch and relax until my room became available. New Orleans was a mad house at the time of my visit. Not only was it the 4th of July, it was also time for the Essence Festival, therefore there were hundreds of thousands of people in the area. I really enjoyed my stay and upon my next visit to this party city, I will make my stay at the Ambassador Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a tourist's favorite. It has all the flavors of the local culture. From etufette to jambalya to red beans and rice to the most delicious lightly brown and fluffy pancakes. The food is awesome and the long lines along the sidewalk of the restaurant proves it. It is a must see!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Waco, Texas
Mar 29, 2010

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

It was wonderful to walk into the cool, high "ceilinged" rooms with exposed brick wall. The decor was appropriately understated. This seems to be an older hotel, but the location was well within walking distance to all locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful food options, bring your walking shoes.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Can't wait to go back....

This was my first time in New Orleans. my wife had gone once before... and stayed in the same area...This hotel was wonderful, we enjoyed the old warehouse look. I slept in the bed like I was at home..The staff was very professional and frendly.The bathroom needs remodeling but it was clean.As far as the location we were in walking distance to everything...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is One or two Blocks from everything...It's take a litties bit longer to get to Bourbon St.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
boogieman
Ramsey, MN
Sep 10, 2010

What a beatiful place

We walked into a beautiful hotel...we rode in on our motorcycle from Jackson MS. We were tired and was ready to rest. We were welcomed and checked in right away. They wanted to make sure that we had what we needed. They were so nice and seemed interested in you as a person, not just a client. When we asked advise or direction they went above and beyond to make sure that you received what you needed to have a successful trip. The room was so classy and clean. The view was awesome. At night we were away from the noise so we could sleep. We were able to walk to all exhibits or destinations. Not to mention great coffee. Thank you Ambassador Hotel for a five star stay. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Jul 23, 2010

I love this hotel !!!

This is my 5th time stay at the Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. I love this hotel. Me and my parents were driving to New Orleans. I had a feeling we might be late. So I call the hotel and told they can we check in late. They told me no problem I could. Own room was big, the beds were nice size. If you love the casino like my father than this is the hotel for you. And that famous restaurant "Mother" is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to the casino.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Ms Touch of Class
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 18, 2010

Historic Getaway

Great experience! Close to Riverwalk, Canal Street, Harrahs Casino, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Casper, WY
Oct 7, 2008

Good location

Close to the French Quarter, without being too Close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lethbridge Alberta
Feb 27, 2011

Not clean

We checked in after midnight and checked out the next morning as the room was dirty. The sheets and pillow case looked used and the bathroom was dirty - could not use the tub. I took pictures which did not do justice to the snot on the wall behind the bed. Anyway I couldn't wait to get out of there and felt fortunate that we did not experience a bed bug episode or something. The hotel is well located but noisy. It looks charming in the pictures but the "windows" in our room did not look outside but rather into the hotel corridor. Therefore a bit noisy when people walking by. The breakfast was coffee and pastries - they do not give you a plate but do have napkins. no, I would not recommend this hotel and was glad to move to a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk around the French quarter

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
We <3 to travel
Austin, TX
Mar 22, 2010

A New Orleans hidden treasure!

The hotel was in am amazing location, a block from the casino and only 3 blocks from bourbon street. In one day wee walked tothe farmers market, all along the river walk, and our hotel was never too far away. The room was amazing very cute and quaint. Well worth the price and cant beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top