$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
436 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa
Sep 29, 2008

Waste of time

The wallpaper was peeling of the walls in the room and when we turn on the fan in the room dust came flyng off them. The location was not bad, but there was a constant dinging in our room from the waterpipes in the walls. I am going back next October and I will be paying for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

if you go far enough you will get good food

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Businessman
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 7, 2010

Not recommended for business

No one available to park the car so they called me later on in the room and I had to go downstairs to deliver keys for car left outside. Seven story public parking next door; hint. AC did not work but the ceiling fan did. The internet did not work; got it repaired and it worked for 1/2 hour then I gave up. Still was charged for two days use. The Continental breakfast was a Sara Lee coffee cake cut into tiny pieces and an urn of decent coffee. The shower worked and had hot water. If you want ancient 'ambiance' the Ambassador has plenty. And the computer did not work so they could not check me out when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid driving in downtown N.O.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 27, 2011

Dirty

Customer service was less than average. I asked for my room to be cleaned more thoroughly since i found trash under my bed and a shirt in a corner. The trash and shirt remained there after my complaint for another 3 days. Definitely lacking in service and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
May 23, 2010

Do Not Stay at The Ambassador Hotel!

The hotel had a broken AC and would not give us an estimate of when it would be fixed. The AC was out all night in a very hot southern city. The hotel offered nothing to compensate for this. We also had very low water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

not too good at all!`

I read a lot of negative stuff about this place, but it had a low price. It was poorly maintained with chipping unfinished walls, floorboards coming up, a bathroom in poor repair. The bed only had a thin sheet and a thin cover - it wasn't much for the >100 per night I paid. They offered to charge me extra 10$ per night for the luxury of internet, work out room and business center, which I had to specifically request that I not be charged for. They said they are supposed to, but for whatever reason they decided not to charge me. But, it was a quiet night in a bed. Nothing broke, no one bothered me, and I slept well. I would not go back unless I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SF tester
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2012

Awful room!

The hotel itself is really nice, people are friendly and the cleaning personel is good. It is not their fault that the room...was the worst I have ever been so far! No window, former smoker room, bathroom really old with broken floor. Climate was loud and only very difficult to adjust. Everything else was nice but the stay in the room made the whole stay in the hotel extremely unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gotalive
new orleans
Nov 8, 2009

been to nicer motels

stayed in 3 different rooms in 4 might first night the bar in the lobby was open past 3 in the morning. next night room didn´t have a clock and the ac diddn´t work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AK New York
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 18, 2011

Ripped Off

I stayed at the hotel two years ago. The location of this hotel is fairly decent - several blocks away from the French Quarter - there are a number of good restaurants in short walking distance. It is close to Harrah's Casino which is a plus for some and a negative for others. Rooms are simply but nicely appointed. Many of them are interior rooms with windows that look out into the hotel corridor. I would recommend trying to get a room with a window facing the outside. I did have a rather unpleasant experience when I checked out of the hotel - in packing, I accidentally left several items in the closet of my room (a nice pair of slacks, a raincoat and a running jacket). I realized about an hour later that I had left the items there and immediately returned to the hotel. I spoke to the manager who went up to the room to and came back to tell me that the items were not there, that no one in housekeeping had seen them and that since it was my fault, there was nothing more that he could do. He was rude and seemed to have absolutely no interest in the obvious fact that if the items were not there, someone on his staff must have taken them. Several days later after I had gotten home, I tracked down a number for the hotel's owner and called his office to complain. The call was returned by a gentleman named [...], who told me that the owner has asked him tolook into the matter and get back to me. When a week went by with no reply, I called [...] again and left a message for him - and did so several times over the next several weeks - all with no answer. I finally gave up but was infuriated with the hotel's response from bottom to top. I wouldn't recommend that anyone consider staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 4, 2010

NEVER Book a room at the Ambassador

Never book a room at the Ambassador again. The excuse was they had mechanical problems. They refused to refund our money and moved us to an old run down sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent that was a dump. The elevators didn't work so we had to use the stairs to go up and down. The rooms were run down and unkept. The staff was rude and acted like they didn't care about anything. The final insult was the valet service took over an hour to retrieve our vehicle and the hotel manager was rude and physically threatened us and had to be restrained by his co workers. We will never book a room at the Ambassador again. Too many other quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to rude staff and run down accomadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2010

Moldy three star

This was a charming authentic looking New Orleans hotel from the outside,as well as the lobby and maybe some of the rooms...... but not ours! We were in a dungeon type room on the lowest floor with a window that looked out at a brick wall about two feet away. There was a constant knocking sound that required us to wear earplugs to get any sleep. The bathroom had rotten drywall and mold around the base of the bath tube area. We were told upon check-in that wireless internet was included, and then on check out charged 7.95 per day. There were no clothes hangers in the room so we asked and they had trouble coming up with any, but eventually gave us 6 wire hangers. We had friends staying other places not using a travel service who got better prices and much larger and nicer rooms. Not too great of an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top