$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Attalla, Al. 35954
Apr 30, 2010

friendly, awesome employees, decor outst

There is probably not enough words to describe the atmosphere. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welderremie
lake charles louisiana
Jun 20, 2010

really really good hotel

it was a great hotel with very helpful staff and they were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boogieman
Ramsey, MN
Sep 10, 2010

What a beatiful place

We walked into a beautiful hotel...we rode in on our motorcycle from Jackson MS. We were tired and was ready to rest. We were welcomed and checked in right away. They wanted to make sure that we had what we needed. They were so nice and seemed interested in you as a person, not just a client. When we asked advise or direction they went above and beyond to make sure that you received what you needed to have a successful trip. The room was so classy and clean. The view was awesome. At night we were away from the noise so we could sleep. We were able to walk to all exhibits or destinations. Not to mention great coffee. Thank you Ambassador Hotel for a five star stay. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

one of the best buys in ...

one of the best buys in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

casino's ,food, riverwalk, all within a block, a very safe area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
nola
May 28, 2014

nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lethbridge Alberta
Feb 27, 2011

Not clean

We checked in after midnight and checked out the next morning as the room was dirty. The sheets and pillow case looked used and the bathroom was dirty - could not use the tub. I took pictures which did not do justice to the snot on the wall behind the bed. Anyway I couldn't wait to get out of there and felt fortunate that we did not experience a bed bug episode or something. The hotel is well located but noisy. It looks charming in the pictures but the "windows" in our room did not look outside but rather into the hotel corridor. Therefore a bit noisy when people walking by. The breakfast was coffee and pastries - they do not give you a plate but do have napkins. no, I would not recommend this hotel and was glad to move to a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk around the French quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nederland
Aug 7, 2008

very nice and good location

The entire staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. They took time to give us all the directions and information we requested. Although there was no resturant in the hotel (one will be opening very soon} there were several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Very conveniently located for many local attractions. Room was small but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's casino has excellent food and great atmosphere and is only a 2 block walk. Mother's restaurant has great breakfast at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Jul 5, 2007

Down Home Folks

I think that the staff at the Ambassador Hotel really showed their southern hospitality. They made me feel welcomed from the moment I walked through the doors. They were all very friendly and courteous. Even though I wasn't able to have an early check in, the front desk clerk on duty was very helpful in getting the bellman to store my luggage until I could check in and she told me of great local places to go and have a nice lunch and relax until my room became available. New Orleans was a mad house at the time of my visit. Not only was it the 4th of July, it was also time for the Essence Festival, therefore there were hundreds of thousands of people in the area. I really enjoyed my stay and upon my next visit to this party city, I will make my stay at the Ambassador Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a tourist's favorite. It has all the flavors of the local culture. From etufette to jambalya to red beans and rice to the most delicious lightly brown and fluffy pancakes. The food is awesome and the long lines along the sidewalk of the restaurant proves it. It is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 5, 2008

Very comfortable for all ages

Great place.Helpful mngr & front desk.Housekeeping could be more attentive.Not a big breakfast but includes great bakery-type muffins.Very safe-feeling location.WILL go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search