$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
436 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield
Jun 7, 2008

Good place to stay for the price

The Ambassador is a good hotel if you just need a place to rest your head at the end of the night. It does not offer many amenities, but it has a unique style. The location is perfect - walking distance to the French Quarter and Warehouse District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants blocks away - Rio Mar, La Boca, and Grand Isle.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ursula Carson
Mobile,Al
May 28, 2013

getaway

need to do some thing about the floors in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

acme good food

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 2, 2008

Overnight Stay

The room was quite spacious, very clean and the beds were comfortable. The Riverwalk and Harrah's casino are in very close proximity as well as the wonderful Mother's Restaurant - it's great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
starline
barryton michigan
Sep 18, 2009

Enjoyed.

I loved the lobby and wood in the room. They cleaned good, but never swept the floors. Housekeeping is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel needs to put menus in the rooms.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

Price changed after we got there

Our two main gripes were that they had a hidden charge for thier telephone/internet service that they do not include in the price of the room but is mandatory that you pay it even if you never pick up the phone or desire internet. It was only about $7 a day but that should either be by your choice or be put into the price of the room. The other thing was the room really had a bad smell to it. I guess it was smoked in. When we protested at the desk about the extra charges we were told that we would have to talk to management and then management never made themselves available. Friends of ours had alot of trouble getting thier room toilet to work properly and maintainence was very slow in responding to their calls. The resturant was changing hands when we were their and the service was lousy. Still the location is great, they have alot of potential to be better. They were better when we were there two years ago. I hate to excuse bad service because of a hurricane 18 months prior. New Orleans is a great town, but next time we will look at other hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk from Canal Street and a little further to the French Quarter, and the French Market. A must do is a night or sunset walk on the River Walk. Very romantic.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

good location- bad service

The hotel was very old. the floors squeek whenever you walk. you could hear all the adjacent room. They charge $7/day for amenities including breakfast which was horrible. breakfast was offered from 7:30 to 9am and was only coffee and donuts. they even divide each donut to 10 pieces. moreover they charge $30/day for the car parking. the only good thing was that it is close to the conventioncenter, the river front and the french quarter. Room service did not come until noon or 2pm on some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gumbogas
McComb, Ms.
Oct 24, 2010

could have done better

The hotel was in a very good location, close to the arts and the French Quarter. We were in town to attend a wedding nearby. The bed was very hard, unable to sleep comfortably-solf folks may like a stiff bed. It took almost an hour to get our car out from valet parking while we sat in a hot and humid lobby, The bathroom was a nice size and the room clean but plain, small with wood floors. I do not plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent New Orleans Traveller
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 16, 2011

Lower your expectations

This wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near the best. We had stayed the first 3 nights at the Hilton Riverside for a convention. It was immaculate (but cost twice as much), so we stayed the next 2 nights at the Ambassador. This is my 8th stay in New Orleans and this was by far the most uncomfortable hotel I've stayed at. First of all, I do have to say that the location was EXCELLENT, the rooms were very clean, and the price was decent! Sometimes it's hard to find that combination. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the beautiful wooden floors in each hotel room were creaky and uneven. The "historic" brick walls were painted and blocked access to the "free wi-fi", so we had to use an ethernet cord for internet access. But the worst part was the extremely hard beds and pillows combined with the noise, which provided a horrible night's sleep. The door to our room sat about .5" above the floor and didn't have any sort of buffer ... so you could hear EACH and EVERY person walking by early in the morning and all night long. I am not even a light sleeper, but it still woke me up. The cleaning staff could be heard bright and early - hollering to each other down the hallways .... and interrupting our sleep. Next year we'll spend the extra $ for a good night's sleep and a bit more modern accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Not very pleased. Front desk not friendly. Rooms too noisy.

We had a very bad experience. My daughter was taking a bath when all of a sudden a tile from the ceiling fell on her head. We had to take her to the local hospital. The hotel was not concern about her well being. The manager for some reason was not around to talk to us. This was very dissapointing. The had to be moved to another room and no compensation was considered. Thishotel was recommended to us but we probably will not recommendit to no one we know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino was great.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 18, 2011

Okay for the Price

Hotel is fairly close to both the Convention center and Bourbon Street (both approximately 6 blocks). Nothing really great other than that. The rooms are clean, however the furniture is old. The bed is not very comfortable either. May be a good hotel choice for budget travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's Restaurant

Back to menu Return to top