$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamchsr
Holt, FL
Aug 5, 2012

Comfortable homey feeling

We stayed only one night with our granddaughters and it was very comfortable. We were able to walk to our destinations with New Orleans and not incur additional costs for parking or cabs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans Power Pass pick-up is only a few blocks away. Pickup your ticket and the attractions surround you. Very convenient.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
french rose
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Traveler beware

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The A/C did not work or was very inadequate, and when you're staying in New Orleans, that's the last thing you want breaking down in your hotel. It seems to be a constant problem at this hotel as we search older guest reviews and saw the same complaints. There is a $29/day charge for valet parking that was not listed on the website in addition to a daily amenity charge of $7.98 for wi-fi and business services (which we didn't use). The hotel is not near Bourbon street as the website claims, but is closer to Harrah's Casino and is about a .75 mile walk to Bourbon Street. The staff was unfriendly, unwelcoming, and insufficient for the amount of guests. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early (due to the lack of A/C) and were told we would still be charged for the day regardless if we checked out. The hotel and rooms have a nice atmosphere (one of the reasons we selected it), and while clean, need some serious updating as there was mold and stained grout in the bathroom with molded acoustic tiles in the ceiling. Lighting was also poor in our bathroom. Overall, we gave this hotel 2 stars because of its atmosphere and the price. Nevertheless, we will not be staying here again if our travels take us back to New Orleans, and we would caution any one else who is considering staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1 mile from the hotel is Cafe du Monde. It is well worth the walk along the river (drive or trolly) to get beignets and a cafe au lait. It was a highlight of the trip. **Cash only**

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charlieT
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 6, 2012

In the heart

The location is good, the staff talks to you, the valet guys are friendly and all that but don't expect anything special. They say they have room service but it's not available but then again, it's New Orleans. Don't eat in when you can have really good food out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of happening just a few blocks away. Just walk and enjoy.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This hotel is in a great location for the convention center, and within walking distance to many great restaurants. However, the building I was in had no outside windows, which made the room very dark and dreary. I could not get the AC to make the room cool enough, even though the hallway was quite comfortable. It also could have been cleaner...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations EVERYWHERE!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al3x
Houston, tx
May 27, 2014

Good location .... That's all

The only thing I really likes was ... The location, and I guess that it had hot water lol, the very first impression was extremely noisy floors, inside the room... So I told myself well I can live with that, after a short 2 minutes I decided to try out the bed, it was the most uncomfortable and noisy bed I have ever slept on my whole life....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob from Texas
Fort worth
Feb 25, 2012

Pretty bad.

I was late making reservations during Mardi Gras so I was lucky to get a room at all. Still, the room was the worst I have had in a long time especially at that price. The door to the room was an old office door with a full window in it with beat up blinds on the inside! The room windows looked out to the hallway with the same old blinds. On the plus side, the beds were clean, firm and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oldgirl Tralver
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 9, 2010

why was I staying there

The water was hot, and the staff was great. Otherwise it was not what I expected. would not recommend this hotel for people who need to sleep during the night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many place to chose from with in walking distant

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gumbogas
McComb, Ms.
Oct 24, 2010

could have done better

The hotel was in a very good location, close to the arts and the French Quarter. We were in town to attend a wedding nearby. The bed was very hard, unable to sleep comfortably-solf folks may like a stiff bed. It took almost an hour to get our car out from valet parking while we sat in a hot and humid lobby, The bathroom was a nice size and the room clean but plain, small with wood floors. I do not plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

good location- bad service

The hotel was very old. the floors squeek whenever you walk. you could hear all the adjacent room. They charge $7/day for amenities including breakfast which was horrible. breakfast was offered from 7:30 to 9am and was only coffee and donuts. they even divide each donut to 10 pieces. moreover they charge $30/day for the car parking. the only good thing was that it is close to the conventioncenter, the river front and the french quarter. Room service did not come until noon or 2pm on some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, ms
Jan 31, 2011

The whole story

The hotel was very nosy and lacked hot water. Several guests had issues getting their vehicles back from the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent New Orleans Traveller
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 16, 2011

Lower your expectations

This wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near the best. We had stayed the first 3 nights at the Hilton Riverside for a convention. It was immaculate (but cost twice as much), so we stayed the next 2 nights at the Ambassador. This is my 8th stay in New Orleans and this was by far the most uncomfortable hotel I've stayed at. First of all, I do have to say that the location was EXCELLENT, the rooms were very clean, and the price was decent! Sometimes it's hard to find that combination. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the beautiful wooden floors in each hotel room were creaky and uneven. The "historic" brick walls were painted and blocked access to the "free wi-fi", so we had to use an ethernet cord for internet access. But the worst part was the extremely hard beds and pillows combined with the noise, which provided a horrible night's sleep. The door to our room sat about .5" above the floor and didn't have any sort of buffer ... so you could hear EACH and EVERY person walking by early in the morning and all night long. I am not even a light sleeper, but it still woke me up. The cleaning staff could be heard bright and early - hollering to each other down the hallways .... and interrupting our sleep. Next year we'll spend the extra $ for a good night's sleep and a bit more modern accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top