$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFW54
Business
Rochester, NY
Feb 26, 2012

Hard to Rate This Trip

I booked this hotel 6 weeks in advance as it was pre-Mardi Gras. As our flight did not land until 12:15 AM, I called a few days earlier to confirm to make sure they did not give our hotel room away. Our flight was slightly delayed & we did not arrive at the Ambassador until 1:30AM. They did NOT have a room for us. We had to drag our luggage thru the streets to another hotel a few blocks away. The next morning at 10 AM, back to the Ambassador. The Ambassador said "No room for you." Fortunately, the desk guy from 1:30AM was there & said "You have a room; the owner will be down to see you in a few minutes." The owner did arrive in 10 minutes & apologized. Subsequently, much of our pre-payment was refunded. The room was fine, free breakfast passable. Internet was not available in our room; it was fine in the main building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mother;s for breakfast...about 2 blocks away. Go early to : 1. Avoid long lines. 2. Get the pre 9AM special. DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE ON A DIET!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essard
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great place for Party Gras

While the hotel wasn't anything special, it was in a perfect place for seeing Mardi Gras. We were minutes, (walking,) from catching many of the parades that traverse Canal Street, and only a few blocks from the festivities within the French Quarter, (just far enough that when we got back to the room, there was no obstruction to getting some sleep to be ready to do it all again the following day. The staff was also great, going out of their way to make the stay comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivier's was absolutely fantastic, and only a 10ish minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob from Texas
Business
Fort worth
Feb 25, 2012

Pretty bad.

I was late making reservations during Mardi Gras so I was lucky to get a room at all. Still, the room was the worst I have had in a long time especially at that price. The door to the room was an old office door with a full window in it with beat up blinds on the inside! The room windows looked out to the hallway with the same old blinds. On the plus side, the beds were clean, firm and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristy123
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great hotel but valet parking extra $32!!!

Good hotel but for the $90+ $10 at check in + $32 for valet or $28 across the street parking in open lot, I think I would've find a better place to stay in New Orleans. Total spent for one night $132. for $125 I could stay in French Quarter with parking and breakfast included!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charlieT
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 6, 2012

In the heart

The location is good, the staff talks to you, the valet guys are friendly and all that but don't expect anything special. They say they have room service but it's not available but then again, it's New Orleans. Don't eat in when you can have really good food out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of happening just a few blocks away. Just walk and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavvyTraveler
Business
Georgia, USA
Jan 24, 2012

a bit of a debaucle

upon checking in the hotel had mistakenly held a single bed room for me when I had reserved and paid for a double bed room (there were going to be three of us in the room). When we called down to the front desk she told us they had no double bed rooms available until the next day and would we like a cot. 30 minutes later I called back and they told me they were out of cots. They were willing to move us to a king bed room for more comfort, but all in all this was really frustrating, especially considering it was late in the evening after a long day of work and driving. I asked to speak to a manager several times throughout the stay and no one was ever available. They were unable to refund me any part of my money because I booked online through an external company rather than through them. I was in town for a large conference and many of us from the conference were staying at the hotel, however they declined to serve coffee or any sort of early breakfast any earlier than 830 despite the fact that most of us were expected at the conference by 730AM. The room itself, and the location were great. Lots of character and very close to everything. The amenities and staff were sadly lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 20, 2012

Long weekend

Enjoyed my stay. Interesting place, a little off the beaten path but very good location. Nice sports bar off the lobby. Very good for the price. I'll probably stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little corner breakfast, lunch spot less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MovieMom
Business
Spring Hill, TN
Jan 19, 2012

NOT Pet Friendly

We were attending a conference in New Orleans, and we had booked rooms at one of the conference hotels. At the last minute, we needed a pet friendly hotel. We found this hotel in fact it showed up first on the list. First the hotel is old, everything squeaks especially our bed. The floors are not level, the elevator sounds like it will break at any minute, and you can hear EVERYTHING..After two days of our stay, we were out with our pets and we were harassed as we came back to the hotel by the 'manager' who said the hotel was not pet friendly. I explained that we checked in no problem and it states in the directory that pets are allowed. He said he would find out who checked us in and that the policy had changed and they don't allow pets. I went to our room and called the corporate office to see if we needed to leave and complained about the rude 'manager'. Turns out he was the assistant and the actual manager knew we checked in and 'didn't have a problem' with our dogs. They don't know if they take pets or not. We couldn't wait to leave. Will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the French Quarter, visit 'Huey's" which is on the River front near the actual Cafe Du Monde. Fabulous staff, and food, AND they allow pets! Ask for James, he was the best waiter we ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusTraveler
Business
Ohio
Jan 19, 2012

Wonderful Historic - Wonderful Location

Just around the corner from the main streets and near some stunning restaurants, this is a fun hotel. BUT the beds are firm. Not slightly soft...firm. Nice small breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Pinkberry's yogurt out....great stuff and few stores outside of California.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tallyman
Business
Minatare, NE
Dec 20, 2011

Good hotel in the Warehouse district close to the casino and short walk to the French Quarter

The hotel is clean and has a good bar and restruant in the lobby and the rooms and hotel is clean and well maintained. Daily Fee for internet and other amenities not included in price but still a great value for a traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can stay at a hotel that is clean and in the edge of the warehouse district but cheaper than staying in the french quarter and less noise and much cleaner than bourbon street but you can get the Bourbon Street Experience with in a 10 min walk of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top