$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 26, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
275 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
This room features a plush king bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Double Double
This room features 2 plush double beds , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Premium Queen
This room features a plush queen bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium King
This room features a plush king bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium Queen Queen
This room features 2 plush queen beds, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Deluxe Queen, Windowless
This interior room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Queen
This room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristy123
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Great hotel but valet parking extra $32!!!

Good hotel but for the $90+ $10 at check in + $32 for valet or $28 across the street parking in open lot, I think I would've find a better place to stay in New Orleans. Total spent for one night $132. for $125 I could stay in French Quarter with parking and breakfast included!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charlieT
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 6, 2012

In the heart

The location is good, the staff talks to you, the valet guys are friendly and all that but don't expect anything special. They say they have room service but it's not available but then again, it's New Orleans. Don't eat in when you can have really good food out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of happening just a few blocks away. Just walk and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavvyTraveler
Business
Georgia, USA
Jan 24, 2012

a bit of a debaucle

upon checking in the hotel had mistakenly held a single bed room for me when I had reserved and paid for a double bed room (there were going to be three of us in the room). When we called down to the front desk she told us they had no double bed rooms available until the next day and would we like a cot. 30 minutes later I called back and they told me they were out of cots. They were willing to move us to a king bed room for more comfort, but all in all this was really frustrating, especially considering it was late in the evening after a long day of work and driving. I asked to speak to a manager several times throughout the stay and no one was ever available. They were unable to refund me any part of my money because I booked online through an external company rather than through them. I was in town for a large conference and many of us from the conference were staying at the hotel, however they declined to serve coffee or any sort of early breakfast any earlier than 830 despite the fact that most of us were expected at the conference by 730AM. The room itself, and the location were great. Lots of character and very close to everything. The amenities and staff were sadly lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 20, 2012

Long weekend

Enjoyed my stay. Interesting place, a little off the beaten path but very good location. Nice sports bar off the lobby. Very good for the price. I'll probably stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little corner breakfast, lunch spot less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MovieMom
Business
Spring Hill, TN
Jan 19, 2012

NOT Pet Friendly

We were attending a conference in New Orleans, and we had booked rooms at one of the conference hotels. At the last minute, we needed a pet friendly hotel. We found this hotel in fact it showed up first on the list. First the hotel is old, everything squeaks especially our bed. The floors are not level, the elevator sounds like it will break at any minute, and you can hear EVERYTHING..After two days of our stay, we were out with our pets and we were harassed as we came back to the hotel by the 'manager' who said the hotel was not pet friendly. I explained that we checked in no problem and it states in the directory that pets are allowed. He said he would find out who checked us in and that the policy had changed and they don't allow pets. I went to our room and called the corporate office to see if we needed to leave and complained about the rude 'manager'. Turns out he was the assistant and the actual manager knew we checked in and 'didn't have a problem' with our dogs. They don't know if they take pets or not. We couldn't wait to leave. Will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the French Quarter, visit 'Huey's" which is on the River front near the actual Cafe Du Monde. Fabulous staff, and food, AND they allow pets! Ask for James, he was the best waiter we ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusTraveler
Business
Ohio
Jan 19, 2012

Wonderful Historic - Wonderful Location

Just around the corner from the main streets and near some stunning restaurants, this is a fun hotel. BUT the beds are firm. Not slightly soft...firm. Nice small breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Pinkberry's yogurt out....great stuff and few stores outside of California.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tallyman
Business
Minatare, NE
Dec 20, 2011

Good hotel in the Warehouse district close to the casino and short walk to the French Quarter

The hotel is clean and has a good bar and restruant in the lobby and the rooms and hotel is clean and well maintained. Daily Fee for internet and other amenities not included in price but still a great value for a traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can stay at a hotel that is clean and in the edge of the warehouse district but cheaper than staying in the french quarter and less noise and much cleaner than bourbon street but you can get the Bourbon Street Experience with in a 10 min walk of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonMacBR
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 19, 2011

Nice boutique hotel

A very nice hotel. Close enough to walk to the French Quarter (but you'll probably want to take a cab back). The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired, but there are plenty of other options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VS99
Business
FL
Nov 7, 2011

Ambassador

Brekfast is slow serving, room was without window, hallway have unplesant smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
propgig
Business
Galveston, TX, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Ordinary

Overall experience was OK, however internet did not work and we were moved to different rooms multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top