$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 2, 2008

Overnight Stay

The room was quite spacious, very clean and the beds were comfortable. The Riverwalk and Harrah's casino are in very close proximity as well as the wonderful Mother's Restaurant - it's great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Truth About My Stays
Business
Edmonton, KY
Mar 29, 2011

The Good and The Bad

My friend and I thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and out with an old Victorian feel to it. However, their was some downers to the hotel. Our room 426 smelled like someone washed it in bourbon every day we walked into it. Their was one bulb in the entire room on the ceiling for lighting and possibly two lamps in the room that were not very bright. So if your looking for a nice place to read this place might not be for you. The SHOWER OMG THE SHOWER SUCKED! It took like no joke 8minutes to warm up then it barely came out of the overhead faucet onto you. Pretty much in order to take a shower you had to hug the wall underneath the faucet to get enough water even on you. My friend and I even tried moving the nozzle, but it made it worse. The front desk girls weren't the happiest people to greet you after a long trip they all looked grumpy and sleep deprived. But that wasn't going to stop us from having fun on our trip. The hotel itself wasn't worth over 90.00 a night seriously. The guys that parked the cars and carried the luggage were friendly and seemed interested in pleasing the customers of the hotel. The hotel location was smack dab in the city of New Orleans so that was convenient. Also, their was a bar at the bottom of the hotel for those who drink. This might be convenient info for someone. If I had to do it again I probably would choose another hotel only because the shower thing killed me in the mornings. I really wanted a nice warm, relaxing shower and that was just not possible in this hotel. Everything else was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Not very pleased. Front desk not friendly. Rooms too noisy.

We had a very bad experience. My daughter was taking a bath when all of a sudden a tile from the ceiling fell on her head. We had to take her to the local hospital. The hotel was not concern about her well being. The manager for some reason was not around to talk to us. This was very dissapointing. The had to be moved to another room and no compensation was considered. Thishotel was recommended to us but we probably will not recommendit to no one we know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lone_Texas_Ranger
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 4, 2009

Decent stay

Unfortunately, Ambassador Hotel did not live up to expectations. When requesting an upgrade as per my room rate range, I was given a room with a WINDOW! Somehow that equates to an upgraded room. The room was nice, save for the hair on the bathroom floor, the mold coming from the bathtub and the ever-so-filthy coffee mugs that one must delouse before using.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gumbo Shop near Jackson Square is a must-eat once in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield
Jun 7, 2008

Good place to stay for the price

The Ambassador is a good hotel if you just need a place to rest your head at the end of the night. It does not offer many amenities, but it has a unique style. The location is perfect - walking distance to the French Quarter and Warehouse District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants blocks away - Rio Mar, La Boca, and Grand Isle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 18, 2011

Okay for the Price

Hotel is fairly close to both the Convention center and Bourbon Street (both approximately 6 blocks). Nothing really great other than that. The rooms are clean, however the furniture is old. The bed is not very comfortable either. May be a good hotel choice for budget travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
starline
Business
barryton michigan
Sep 18, 2009

Enjoyed.

I loved the lobby and wood in the room. They cleaned good, but never swept the floors. Housekeeping is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel needs to put menus in the rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
french rose
Business
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Traveler beware

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The A/C did not work or was very inadequate, and when you're staying in New Orleans, that's the last thing you want breaking down in your hotel. It seems to be a constant problem at this hotel as we search older guest reviews and saw the same complaints. There is a $29/day charge for valet parking that was not listed on the website in addition to a daily amenity charge of $7.98 for wi-fi and business services (which we didn't use). The hotel is not near Bourbon street as the website claims, but is closer to Harrah's Casino and is about a .75 mile walk to Bourbon Street. The staff was unfriendly, unwelcoming, and insufficient for the amount of guests. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early (due to the lack of A/C) and were told we would still be charged for the day regardless if we checked out. The hotel and rooms have a nice atmosphere (one of the reasons we selected it), and while clean, need some serious updating as there was mold and stained grout in the bathroom with molded acoustic tiles in the ceiling. Lighting was also poor in our bathroom. Overall, we gave this hotel 2 stars because of its atmosphere and the price. Nevertheless, we will not be staying here again if our travels take us back to New Orleans, and we would caution any one else who is considering staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1 mile from the hotel is Cafe du Monde. It is well worth the walk along the river (drive or trolly) to get beignets and a cafe au lait. It was a highlight of the trip. **Cash only**

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This hotel is in a great location for the convention center, and within walking distance to many great restaurants. However, the building I was in had no outside windows, which made the room very dark and dreary. I could not get the AC to make the room cool enough, even though the hallway was quite comfortable. It also could have been cleaner...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations EVERYWHERE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nanny pett
Business
opelousas, la
Nov 16, 2009

not sure that i would recommend

the hotel is very beautiful but it needs work. the floors throughout the hotel are very uneven and is dangerous for a handicapped person who is unaware of this. the bed was broken ib one of the three rooms we were changed to. one of the rooms was at street level and was very noisy with people sitting right outside of the window. the room had no towels in it and when we called for some the clerk never came to bring them, we had to go get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the casino is across the street a very short walk if you like the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top