Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
436 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Businessman
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 7, 2010

Not recommended for business

No one available to park the car so they called me later on in the room and I had to go downstairs to deliver keys for car left outside. Seven story public parking next door; hint. AC did not work but the ceiling fan did. The internet did not work; got it repaired and it worked for 1/2 hour then I gave up. Still was charged for two days use. The Continental breakfast was a Sara Lee coffee cake cut into tiny pieces and an urn of decent coffee. The shower worked and had hot water. If you want ancient 'ambiance' the Ambassador has plenty. And the computer did not work so they could not check me out when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid driving in downtown N.O.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Craigers
Business
D
Apr 27, 2012

Decent

Uncomfortable beds, but overall the staff was quite nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This hotel is in a great location for the convention center, and within walking distance to many great restaurants. However, the building I was in had no outside windows, which made the room very dark and dreary. I could not get the AC to make the room cool enough, even though the hallway was quite comfortable. It also could have been cleaner...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations EVERYWHERE!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Great price, but no cigar!

Upon arriving a the hotel, I was immediately asked for the $9 per night mandatory fee, that covers the continental breakfast and internet access. I can't fathom why they charge for either. They were kind enough not to take an incidental fee, however, the first room they gave me was a dungeon. It was very small, damp and humid. There was an old ceiling fan and a window that about the size of a small safe with old curtains. Upon drawing back the curtains I discovered there was no light and no view, just 3 brick walls with a bit of a glow of the sun peeking through...like it use to be a laundry chute. I quickly took two steps to the left to see the "rest" of the room. The sink was next to the closet and a wall divided the bathroom that greeted my with a dirty counter and some lovely gnats! After leaving the "closet", I asked for another room. Again, they were nice and changed my room, which was better, but still no cigar. The floor was warped, the bed was old (in the web video they call them "plush"), the curtains were kind of outdated as well. The windows were great and with a view of Harrahs. (sigh) This wouldn't have been so bad if I wasn't directly over the bar...let's say that Bars, sports and the Karaoke version of "These Boots are Made for Walking" by a drunk girl is not want you want to hear the night before you have to wake up at 6am for a conference. When I finally got to the point I felt comfortable in my room some sort of flying cricket/ water bug /creature invaded my room...which I understand is common in the area...but still not welcome. The price is very good and the breakfast was good. But the online presentation on the rooms is way off. They claim to be a BOUTIQUE HOTEL...okay. At best it's a dark warehouse with beds..a little creepy...def not for kids. A boutique is typically modern and vibrant. They had plenty of patrons to pay for improvements. I insist they can keep the the same rates and make improvements, new beds, curtains a good exterminator maybe a few sound proof rooms. The LOCATION WAS THE BEST FEATURE!! Close to everything NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Square--great Po Boys and music!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
french rose
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Traveler beware

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The A/C did not work or was very inadequate, and when you're staying in New Orleans, that's the last thing you want breaking down in your hotel. It seems to be a constant problem at this hotel as we search older guest reviews and saw the same complaints. There is a $29/day charge for valet parking that was not listed on the website in addition to a daily amenity charge of $7.98 for wi-fi and business services (which we didn't use). The hotel is not near Bourbon street as the website claims, but is closer to Harrah's Casino and is about a .75 mile walk to Bourbon Street. The staff was unfriendly, unwelcoming, and insufficient for the amount of guests. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early (due to the lack of A/C) and were told we would still be charged for the day regardless if we checked out. The hotel and rooms have a nice atmosphere (one of the reasons we selected it), and while clean, need some serious updating as there was mold and stained grout in the bathroom with molded acoustic tiles in the ceiling. Lighting was also poor in our bathroom. Overall, we gave this hotel 2 stars because of its atmosphere and the price. Nevertheless, we will not be staying here again if our travels take us back to New Orleans, and we would caution any one else who is considering staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1 mile from the hotel is Cafe du Monde. It is well worth the walk along the river (drive or trolly) to get beignets and a cafe au lait. It was a highlight of the trip. **Cash only**

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
SLC, UT
Jul 2, 2010

Going down hill

When I stayed at this place in the summer of 2008 it was much better. Either I got a bad room or they have not keep the place up to previous standards which were pretty good 2 years ago. Maybe it's under new management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French quarter is close by. Stay away from Bourbon St unless you want to experience cheap, college boy party atmosphere. Bourbon St betrays all that I remember as good about New Orleans. Go to Frenchman St just outside the quarter for a better time.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RedCat
Buffalo, NY
May 20, 2010

Just ok

Service was extremely slow and staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. Room was clean, but carpet smelled and the plumbing is quite loud. AC didn't work either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glo, MA
Apr 28, 2010

Not a good experience

[...] Also, we were not informed that there was a charge to park of $29 per night plus another $8 per day for Cont breakfast and internet. We did not eat breakfast there.This hotel was very, very basic. However, we did like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bethlynn
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 27, 2012

If you just need a room

Given I do not like to be in my hotel rooms much the rooms offered by Ambassador fit the bill to a tee. I did have trouble closing the door as it did not fit to the frame correctly and judging by the amount of noise from other rooms I was not alone. Furniture in room was old and worn but that hardly mattered, bed was fine. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snug Harbor Jazz Club was wonderful !

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Sep 27, 2009

Professional Conference Stay

Overall the stay at the Ambassador Hotel served its purpose, meaning I had somewhere to sleep at night. However, the room was very dingy looking and didn't feel clean and fresh like other hotels I've stayed in. The hotel staff was very friendly and the location was superb. The old saying " you get what you pay for" fits this hotel nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For those looking for an economical hotel stay in the New Orleans area, the Ambassador is GREAT! The location can't be beat and the price is awesome!

Back to menu Return to top