Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent New Orleans Traveller
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 16, 2011

Lower your expectations

This wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near the best. We had stayed the first 3 nights at the Hilton Riverside for a convention. It was immaculate (but cost twice as much), so we stayed the next 2 nights at the Ambassador. This is my 8th stay in New Orleans and this was by far the most uncomfortable hotel I've stayed at. First of all, I do have to say that the location was EXCELLENT, the rooms were very clean, and the price was decent! Sometimes it's hard to find that combination. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the beautiful wooden floors in each hotel room were creaky and uneven. The "historic" brick walls were painted and blocked access to the "free wi-fi", so we had to use an ethernet cord for internet access. But the worst part was the extremely hard beds and pillows combined with the noise, which provided a horrible night's sleep. The door to our room sat about .5" above the floor and didn't have any sort of buffer ... so you could hear EACH and EVERY person walking by early in the morning and all night long. I am not even a light sleeper, but it still woke me up. The cleaning staff could be heard bright and early - hollering to each other down the hallways .... and interrupting our sleep. Next year we'll spend the extra $ for a good night's sleep and a bit more modern accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pappa Mike
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2013

Very disappointed

Claims to be a boutigue hotel. Very old and bath tub and sink really need upgrade (cracks, etc. Youth cheerleading competition going on and hotel was booked with teams and families. kids were hanging out in hallways. (20) camped outside our door. teams prcaticing routines in the hallways and in their rooms. called desk (3) separate times last time was 1:00am, they were still at it. Talked to desk personel, could'nt cares less. One more thing, no windows looking outside, just a window looking at the hallway (where the kids were practicing). high price for horrible service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ursula Carson
Mobile,Al
May 28, 2013

getaway

need to do some thing about the floors in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

acme good food

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
starline
barryton michigan
Sep 18, 2009

Enjoyed.

I loved the lobby and wood in the room. They cleaned good, but never swept the floors. Housekeeping is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel needs to put menus in the rooms.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

Price changed after we got there

Our two main gripes were that they had a hidden charge for thier telephone/internet service that they do not include in the price of the room but is mandatory that you pay it even if you never pick up the phone or desire internet. It was only about $7 a day but that should either be by your choice or be put into the price of the room. The other thing was the room really had a bad smell to it. I guess it was smoked in. When we protested at the desk about the extra charges we were told that we would have to talk to management and then management never made themselves available. Friends of ours had alot of trouble getting thier room toilet to work properly and maintainence was very slow in responding to their calls. The resturant was changing hands when we were their and the service was lousy. Still the location is great, they have alot of potential to be better. They were better when we were there two years ago. I hate to excuse bad service because of a hurricane 18 months prior. New Orleans is a great town, but next time we will look at other hotel options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk from Canal Street and a little further to the French Quarter, and the French Market. A must do is a night or sunset walk on the River Walk. Very romantic.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Sheila
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, but so disappointing!

I stayed here for my birthday for three night and four days. For one, I had to wait for my town car to pick me up after I'd made reservations. Once I finally made it to the hotel, the front desk tells me that I had to wait for my room to be cleaned. REALLY?! I had to sit at the bar with drunk folks ready to party before I finally got my room to relax. When I FINALLY made it to my room, the hardwood floor was so creaky and uneven, I thought I would fall through. It was around this time that I discovered that there was NO ROOM SERVICE at this hotel. When I called to ask about room service, and what one should do to get food, the Front Desk was very flippant and sarcastic with me. (Mind you, no one bothered to mention the continental breakfast until I was checking out of the hotel.) Sleeping was a horrible experience. My bed was comfortable, but everybody's footsteps was heard throughout the hotel, ... it sounded like each guest in each hotel room (anywhere near mine) wore 'concrete busters' throughout the night, and also chose to drag dead bodies across the floor at 3am in the mornings. (It's the only thing I can think of to drag that late at night.) When I'd wake up in the mornings, I had no idea what time it was if I did not have my phone next to me, as the windows in my room only showed the view of the hallway outside, meaning when I woke up at 7:30am, it was pitch black in my room. Once I woke up in the morning, there was NEVER any hot water to use for the tub. I'd have to wait til the evening hours to take my baths, because that's when most people were out and about getting drunk and NOT using the water. I couldn't wait for this experience to be over. The concierge adviced me to try to get the Front Desk to take off the "hidden fees" of $9.95 a night, since I'd been inconvenienced with having to wait for my room when I arrived. When I tried her method, the Front Desk didn't budge. When it was time for check-out, the concierge assured me that she'd reserved transportation for me to get to the train station. I waited, ... and waited, ... and waited some more. Finally, the nice gentleman who worked in place of the previous concierge found a cab for me, who came right away. He didn't even charge me for the ride, which was a positive experience that had absolutely NOTHING to do with this hotel. LOL! But anyway, ... I loved the architecture of the building, and the history behind it, but it just wasn't as pleasant of an experience as I had hoped. One night would've been great, ... 3 nights in a row sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I'll be honest that the food at the Extreme Bar & Grille was quite good.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
SLC, UT
Jul 2, 2010

Going down hill

When I stayed at this place in the summer of 2008 it was much better. Either I got a bad room or they have not keep the place up to previous standards which were pretty good 2 years ago. Maybe it's under new management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French quarter is close by. Stay away from Bourbon St unless you want to experience cheap, college boy party atmosphere. Bourbon St betrays all that I remember as good about New Orleans. Go to Frenchman St just outside the quarter for a better time.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
P'cola, Fl
Aug 2, 2010

Great location- Bad beds

We went to the convention center for a show. Hotel was great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, ms
Jan 31, 2011

The whole story

The hotel was very nosy and lacked hot water. Several guests had issues getting their vehicles back from the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs.A
GA
Jan 7, 2013

Really needs an upgrade

Just stayed here over the weekend Jan 2013. The Internet pics and rating was so far from the truth. The bed is not connected to the headboard so is slides away from the wall. The bathroom had yellow spots on the ceiling and a piece of paper stuck in a hole in the ceiling. The floors were ancient. The conversations of the next room occupants were easily heard. The ceiling seemed as if it would fall in when the upper floor occupants walked. This place really needs some work. Definitely would not recommend UNLESS you are looking for a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top