$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ViciousRiders
Egypt,Texas
Apr 4, 2010

Good Location-Good Price

Check in was effortless, valet parking was quick and painless. The only thing we didn't like was the bed, as it was not very comfortable at all. The hotel needs some modernization in the bedding department. The hotel is old and that was part of the allure of staying there. It was authentic to say the least, from the hardwood floors and the 5% downhill grade of the whole room.. lol..it was as expected though..overall... good place to stay for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay sober ;-)

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Too High Maintenance
Waynesville, MO
Jun 1, 2010

Nice

After a long trip to the hotel we just wanted to find out how to use the valet service. The staff was not rude but I definitely wouldn't consider them friendly! They did hold our bags for us since we arrived early and allowed us to check in slightly before check-in when we returned. The room was ADORABLE with the huge windows, high ceilings, exposed brick and antique looking decor. The bathroom could definitely use some help (although it was clean it was just old with some chips/cracks that made it appear worn). The hotel is in a great location to Harrah's and the Riverwalk as well as the Children's Museum...you are quite a few blocks from attractions such as Jackson Square and Cafe Du Monde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

When we asked where kids were welcome in New Orleans we were told of all the attractions which were closed after 7. If you will be out later in the evening with children stay OFF Bourbon street. Other areas such as Jackson Square (St. Louis Cathedral) are kid friendly.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 20, 2012

Long weekend

Enjoyed my stay. Interesting place, a little off the beaten path but very good location. Nice sports bar off the lobby. Very good for the price. I'll probably stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little corner breakfast, lunch spot less than a block away.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SGTSCHU
Madison,WI
Apr 13, 2010

A great place to stay.

Traveling with 4 children and got 2 rooms, each with 2 beds. Although not adjoining, they were across the hall from each other and were still convenient. They were both not the same size or equipped the same. However, we didn't care if the coffee maker was on a stand or on a shelf. One room had a couch, the other didn't, even though it had the room for it. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. Plenty of towels and hot water for showers! Both rooms were clean and furnishings were appropriate for the character of the hotel. TV was good sized with good array of programming to wind on with. Although some noises were heard from hallway or adjoining rooms, didn't really bother me. I didn't care for the blinds to cover the window on the door to the hallway(privacy). Also, rooms were on the interior so no windows, so they were a little dark at times. Breakfast wasn't much more that coffee cake and mini-muffins...pretty light. Will I stay again, in a heartbeat!!! The hotel staff were all VERY friendly and always willing to help. The bar/restaurant in the hotel has a joyful staff and great food, for a decent price. Will this rival Harrah's, no way. Can we all afford to stay at Harrah's....? In short, a friendly hotel, clean rooms, hot showers, in a great location, for a great price. What more are you looking for??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food downstairs....gotta have a Poboy!!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainriders
Jonesboro, AR
Jan 4, 2010

Very convenient

This was our first trip to New Orleans so we weren't familiar with the area and we weren't sure if we had chosen wisely. However, upon arriving on the train, we discovered that the hotel was only about 8 blocks from the station and was only 3 blocks from Canal Street. It was very convenient, not too close, not too far. The only thing that would make it better would be a streetcar route. The king-size bed was comfortable but fell on us the first night (not what you're thinking)! I had to help the maintenance man repair it. However, when we called the desk they sent someone very quickly. We missed having a micro-fridge (we could have rented a fridge for $20 per night) because we like to eat in the room some but that was not too inconvenient. The staff was very helpful (however the doorman was a little annoying) and courteous. We didn't try the in-house steak restaurant/bar but several people did and seemed to be enjoying themselves. I'm not a fitness buff but I was disappointed that theirs was closed. Overall the experience was very positive and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the casino, 3 blocks from Canal Street (acclaimed to be the widest main street in the U.S.)

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
misswic
Ocean Springs, MS, USA
Aug 24, 2011

small glitch but overall good

only problem we had was that they had to change our room after checkin because we had requested smoking and they put us in a nonsmoking other than that no complaints. had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
TN
Jul 8, 2010

Ambassador

Good Location, friendly staff, cool rooms. Great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jERRY D.
VICKSBURG MS
May 23, 2010

Nice hotel, good location, make ac colde

I did a lot of walking and looking around the city. very hot and humid weather. bought some stuff and just mainly I had some me time- a get a way. Air in rooms were not cool at all, but besides that- very nice location and helpful staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Aug 27, 2008

Unique & Easy

The Ambassador is unacceptable expense to their room comfort, hotel character, or cleanliness...like you usually find in their price range. The Ambassador is a hotel I've stayed in several times, and each time, I find that I'm just a tad more impressed...and they are a tad more polished...than the last stay. The cleanliness is a definite no worry. The room, bathroom, and hotel itself are in excellent condition, including exposed brick walls in some rooms and a unique atmosphere afforded to it because it's located in a renovated warehouse. The location of the hotel is great. You'll do a block or three of walking to reach the french quarter...and at night, you aren't in an incredibly trafficked area of town....however, you aren't in an area you should fear for safety. Harrah's is across the street, and you are within easy walking distance of the Riverwalk, Aquarium, and if you are interested, the growing Warehouse District Art Galleries. The staff prides itself on being easy to get along with, and I've found that check in and anything I've needed...they are most attentive. (They let me use the microwave in the employee break room...which was cool.) They don't do extravagant holds on your credit card, and the bar/restaurant in the lobby has been recently completed in its overhaul, and I must say, is quite chic and interesting for a cocktail before heading out for the night, etc. The continental breakfast leaves much to be desired...being simply coffee and one choice of danish...however, it's understandable for the rate they offer. Their bedding is NOT the low-quality travel lodge dark floral print with green blanket. It fits the bill, in short. With a good location and an understanding for simple travel without sacrificing cleanliness or sudden hotel surprises like bad water pressure..this is your place. I haven't been dissatisfied yet. You will be pleased, and I can assure you after several stays over a good period of time...they haven't changed or gone downhill. They've consistently grown their hotel into a more and more recommended place to stay, and I like it. It's doable. It's cute, and it's perfect for a quick overnight stay with comfort, ease and affordability....and yes, dependable trust and comfort in knowing it's okay...The Ambassador is a great find, and you can trust you won't get surprised or have to wonder if the sheets are clean. :) Have a great stay in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Audobon (The same people who created the New Orleans Aquarium/Intergy IMAX Theatre two blocks away from the Ambassador) have JUST OPENED a brand new and incredibly cool and interesting attraction three blocks from the hotel...the new Audobon INSECTARIUM...it's a Zoo, yet it's all indoors, brand spankin' new, and all about insects.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Great Place to Stay

Great place to stay. Be forewarned that not all rooms are the same size. Our room had 2 beds and was very large. My sister-in-law's room also had 2 beds, but was much smaller. However, she did pay about $15 less. Valet parking is $26 a day (ouch!), but that may be the norm for New Orleans. The public lot across the street was $25. My only complaint about the room was the small TV. The hotel tacked on a $6.95 resort fee, that you can't get out of. They say it's for phone service and internet access. Taxi ride to the French Quarter for 5 people will cost around $10-$11 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino is a short 2 blocks away.

Back to menu Return to top