$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susan in houston
Business
houston, tx
Oct 16, 2009

GREAT location

I thought [...] was terrific and very helpful. I thought $2 for a soft drink was too much. I wish the hotel resturant had offered breakfast. They could have told me where the parking was. I was concerned where my vehicle was. [...] I had no other problems or concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I wish the hotel had a map to the French Quarter. I wish the hotel had pronounced the street's name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis, mo
Jan 25, 2010

nice hotel/nice people

The staff was excellent, the room was very spacious (although it could have been a little cleaner) and had interesting furniture and architectural details. Parking was valet [...].We would stay there again! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inspector Al
Business
Pevely, Missouri
Sep 11, 2010

Get-A-Way

Our 4th trip to New Orleans. Good hotel, within walking distance of the Quarter. Located just down the street from "Mothers" restaurant. Good food all day long. Check out the bread pudding! Hotel's breakfast was only coffee and cut up rolls,so we went to Mothers to eat. Freindly and helpful staff. The hot water was only tepid, and we couldn't control the ac very well either. It was cold or warm, so we left it cold and slept w/a blanket. The housekeeping staff could spend a little more time dusting and sweeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers, Harrahs Casino and lots of other spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gonzales, LA
Jul 20, 2011

Good experience

Love the hotel, good location, good service!!!! Interesting interior!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La
Feb 9, 2010

One night stay for sick child

We only spent one night at the hotel b/c my daughter had to recover from a minor surgery and we live two and a half hours away from the hospital. We stayed at the same hotel before and we had a bigger room for a cheaper price. Maybe that was because of Mardi Gras season or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is walking distance to lots of family entertainment, malls, dining and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Very Quaint

The only problem we had was the Valet was very slow, and the people above us had some noisy kids jumping on the bed, but one call to the front desk took care of that. Other than that we loved our room, the A/C worked great. The room had a wonderful French Charm to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, MS
Feb 9, 2010

Ambassador Rocks

We were in NOLA for super bowl sunday, so we didn't hang out in the hotel. It was, however, perfect for getting down to the French Quarter without having to pay for cabs. Rates were way cheaper than other surrounding hotels. beds were comfortable, hard wood floors, just a cool place all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant on the corner of Tchop and Poydras. walk out the door and look to the left, it's right in front of you. Be sure you know what you want before you get in the door, they will get mad and yell at you. Fantastic New Orleans cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 8, 2007

Unique Style

This was my first time visiting New Orleans so I did not know what to expect but I had a great time at the Ambassador! The rooms were very unique in that the walls were brick! The location was on a little side street but was in walking distance to great places such as Mother's Restaurant, Harrah's Casino and Decatur Street where so much was going on :-) We were close to clubs, restaurants and a mini mart in the hotel next door to ours! lol The restaurant in the hotel, although newly opened served excellent food--possibly one of the best burgers I ever tasted-- along with these delicious sweet potato fries. It was truly a delight...The only major complaint I had was when requesting towels and blankets, that seemed to take several calls...also, it would have been nice if a pool was at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map to try and locate where streets are...we had one and it was very easy to follow..most things were off Canal Street, the main strip near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MPLs, MN
Jun 9, 2011

Pleasant old world charm

Pleasant, convenient, and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 16, 2007

Good Value

The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is conveniently located near the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino. Easy walk to streetcar. On-site restaurant didn't seem to be open all the time. Very small bathroom; room had very small window looking into a tiny open area facing brick walls so not much natural ligh; walls had scuff marks but somehow added to charm of property. Wood floors and brick wall in room were nice. Housekeeping never left clean glasses, we had to ask. Charged a daily resort fee for unlimited use of internet and unlimited local and long distance phone calls. Did not know of this added fee until check-in. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping and transportation. Staff was helpful in getting taxi and handing out band-aids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to French Quarter, aquarium, Riverwalk shopping, casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top