Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabyErik
New Jersey
May 18, 2012

Seemed OK but...

My husband just spent two nights at this hotel and came home with a significant number of bites. The doctor confirmed today that it was bed bugs. I've left a msg today for the hotel manager but no one has returned my call. Not sure what I expect from him, but others should be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Venezuelan voting in NOLA
Miami, Florida
Oct 11, 2012

Not worth it

I stayed at this hote during the Venezuelan elections in New Orleans. I paid about $150 per night and it was definitely not worth it. The rooms are very old, and are not well maintained. For example, I noticed that they had not cleaned the bathroom in the room I was initially assigned. You can find better hotels in the area. Also, at the time of the check-out, they could not give me the receipt because "the printer was down", so I gave them my e-mail, and I am still waiting for my receipt. Finally, you have to pay $10.00 daily for internet, which they call 'ammenities", and which is a "manndatory fee", but the internet was down most of the times.....Find a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

NOLA!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, LA
Nov 16, 2009

The WORST hotel in New Orleans

We checked in at 3:30PM and checked out at 4PM same day after seeing this "laugh" of a room....rat hole in the cornor of room...beds that apparently were in this hotel in 1854!...dirty sheets w/dead bugs...glass doors to rooms with blinds over them...furnishings that looked like castoffs from some bad 40's movie and OLD ugly wood floors(NO CARPET IN ROOMS)!! Bath looked like it came out of some horrible nightmare. We lost our money but would have paid double to get out...DON'T EVER USE THIS HOTEL...SHOULD BE CLOSED AND DEMOLISHED. It is a travesty that this kind of trashy hotel is allowed to dupe unaware travelers. Please Please Please NEVER book a room there. There are plently of hotels at around the same price and much better condition. DO NOT BE DUPED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
jackson,ms
Apr 3, 2010

pipe noises all night

This location was very loud. When I called the front desk to ask about the noise they said it might be the water in the pipes. It did not sound like water. It was a knocking noise all night. The front desk stated that they had no one available to check the noise. The night was very unrestful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brandon, MS
Aug 8, 2010

Horrible absolutely horrible.

I booked two rooms, I was given rooms that were suppose to be non-smoking but wreaked of smoke. The air-conditioners were broke and apparently the front desk knew this they were just hoping I wouldn't complain about it because the acted like they were going to send the maintenance guy but he never showed up because apparently he had already tried to fix it. They changed my room on my second call and put me in a room that had another broken air conditioner that they had rigged a portable ac unit in which could not cool the room, the maintenance man came in and rigged the exhaust out the window with towels. I packed my kids up and asked for a refund, in which the front desk was no help. I could not find another hotel, every one i tried was booked, so I had to cancel our whole vacation and drive four hours back home. It was a nightmare of an experience. [...] Also while trying to connect to the internet while waiting 40 MINUTES! for the valet to bring around my car I could only get two bars and only stay connected for seconds at a time, and the hotel charges you a mandatory $15 dollars for this internet service. Also the restaurant in the hotel was shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day getaway

I made reservations week in advance for king. got a queen in room with no window to exterior. Upon request to change was denied. Felt had there been a fire in the hall outside the glass door of the room, that also had no window to the outside, there would have been no way to excape. No internet the first day but charged anyway. Felt staff did not act due to booking on [...]. Said nothing they could do. I will not only never stay at this dump but my suggestion is that people pay the little extra, regardless of the deal they are offering and stay someplace nice. This room would not even be worth the stay if it had been free. Would not expect the management of this hotel to care about this review since they made no attempt after 2 calls to make any changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harrah's casino is close by.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, LA
Dec 14, 2009

At Least it Was Cheap!

Reservations where not secure when we got there. Beds are very small. Staff slow and not very helpful. No parking in front of hotel. Overall- bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to casino

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2011

LC

Left quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Carol
Houston, TX
Apr 19, 2013

New Orleans Nightmare 2013

i will never stay or recomment this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Back to menu Return to top