$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B in VA
Business
VA
Apr 15, 2012

Minimally Adequate

The staff were wonderful and courteous, and the location was perfect for my needs (CBD and warehouse district which is great for dinners that aren't overrun with tourists). However I had a first floor room which did not resemble the photos on the website. They are going for the rustic charm - lobby hits its that mark, but the room fell way short and was just junky. The carpet was absolutely disgusting and the bathroom was not particularly clean either (lots of mold in the shower grout, and around fixtures). It wasn't worth switching hotels for me but this hotel also wasnt worth what I paid for it. With so many other options in the area I most likely won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt1542
Charleston, SC, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Great Place

Great location, authentic rooms. Great value. Close to all local establishments within walking distance of casino restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decal
Orange, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

vacation

Loved the staff and the room. Very clean and the staff was so helpful. Walking distance to all the places we wanted to go. Had a great time and would stay here again if we do come to visit again. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny Sawdust
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Adequate

The location is convenient if attending the convention center. The room and personnel were adequate. Was caught off guard at checkout by a $9.95 per night 'amenities' fee which was not included in the original price paid online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn33
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

great surprise

we were last minute booking a room and quite happy with the friendly staff and size of the room! we will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New to Nola
New Orleans, LA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great location, great fun!

We only stayed one night, but I will definitely send my family there when they come into town to visit! The front desk staff was friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cajun fries in the bar attached to the bar!!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt1542
Charleston, SC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

First Timer

Aside from the unattached headboard, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Ambassador. The rooms are beautiful and the location was very convenient to restaurants, bars, and the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFW54
Rochester, NY
Feb 26, 2012

Hard to Rate This Trip

I booked this hotel 6 weeks in advance as it was pre-Mardi Gras. As our flight did not land until 12:15 AM, I called a few days earlier to confirm to make sure they did not give our hotel room away. Our flight was slightly delayed & we did not arrive at the Ambassador until 1:30AM. They did NOT have a room for us. We had to drag our luggage thru the streets to another hotel a few blocks away. The next morning at 10 AM, back to the Ambassador. The Ambassador said "No room for you." Fortunately, the desk guy from 1:30AM was there & said "You have a room; the owner will be down to see you in a few minutes." The owner did arrive in 10 minutes & apologized. Subsequently, much of our pre-payment was refunded. The room was fine, free breakfast passable. Internet was not available in our room; it was fine in the main building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mother;s for breakfast...about 2 blocks away. Go early to : 1. Avoid long lines. 2. Get the pre 9AM special. DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE ON A DIET!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essard
El Paso, TX, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great place for Party Gras

While the hotel wasn't anything special, it was in a perfect place for seeing Mardi Gras. We were minutes, (walking,) from catching many of the parades that traverse Canal Street, and only a few blocks from the festivities within the French Quarter, (just far enough that when we got back to the room, there was no obstruction to getting some sleep to be ready to do it all again the following day. The staff was also great, going out of their way to make the stay comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olivier's was absolutely fantastic, and only a 10ish minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob from Texas
Fort worth
Feb 25, 2012

Pretty bad.

I was late making reservations during Mardi Gras so I was lucky to get a room at all. Still, the room was the worst I have had in a long time especially at that price. The door to the room was an old office door with a full window in it with beat up blinds on the inside! The room windows looked out to the hallway with the same old blinds. On the plus side, the beds were clean, firm and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top