Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Craigers
Business
D
Apr 27, 2012

Decent

Uncomfortable beds, but overall the staff was quite nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, OH
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for the price

This hotel is in a great location for the convention center, and within walking distance to many great restaurants. However, the building I was in had no outside windows, which made the room very dark and dreary. I could not get the AC to make the room cool enough, even though the hallway was quite comfortable. It also could have been cleaner...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations EVERYWHERE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Not very pleased. Front desk not friendly. Rooms too noisy.

We had a very bad experience. My daughter was taking a bath when all of a sudden a tile from the ceiling fell on her head. We had to take her to the local hospital. The hotel was not concern about her well being. The manager for some reason was not around to talk to us. This was very dissapointing. The had to be moved to another room and no compensation was considered. Thishotel was recommended to us but we probably will not recommendit to no one we know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Great price, but no cigar!

Upon arriving a the hotel, I was immediately asked for the $9 per night mandatory fee, that covers the continental breakfast and internet access. I can't fathom why they charge for either. They were kind enough not to take an incidental fee, however, the first room they gave me was a dungeon. It was very small, damp and humid. There was an old ceiling fan and a window that about the size of a small safe with old curtains. Upon drawing back the curtains I discovered there was no light and no view, just 3 brick walls with a bit of a glow of the sun peeking through...like it use to be a laundry chute. I quickly took two steps to the left to see the "rest" of the room. The sink was next to the closet and a wall divided the bathroom that greeted my with a dirty counter and some lovely gnats! After leaving the "closet", I asked for another room. Again, they were nice and changed my room, which was better, but still no cigar. The floor was warped, the bed was old (in the web video they call them "plush"), the curtains were kind of outdated as well. The windows were great and with a view of Harrahs. (sigh) This wouldn't have been so bad if I wasn't directly over the bar...let's say that Bars, sports and the Karaoke version of "These Boots are Made for Walking" by a drunk girl is not want you want to hear the night before you have to wake up at 6am for a conference. When I finally got to the point I felt comfortable in my room some sort of flying cricket/ water bug /creature invaded my room...which I understand is common in the area...but still not welcome. The price is very good and the breakfast was good. But the online presentation on the rooms is way off. They claim to be a BOUTIQUE HOTEL...okay. At best it's a dark warehouse with beds..a little creepy...def not for kids. A boutique is typically modern and vibrant. They had plenty of patrons to pay for improvements. I insist they can keep the the same rates and make improvements, new beds, curtains a good exterminator maybe a few sound proof rooms. The LOCATION WAS THE BEST FEATURE!! Close to everything NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Square--great Po Boys and music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
french rose
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Traveler beware

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The A/C did not work or was very inadequate, and when you're staying in New Orleans, that's the last thing you want breaking down in your hotel. It seems to be a constant problem at this hotel as we search older guest reviews and saw the same complaints. There is a $29/day charge for valet parking that was not listed on the website in addition to a daily amenity charge of $7.98 for wi-fi and business services (which we didn't use). The hotel is not near Bourbon street as the website claims, but is closer to Harrah's Casino and is about a .75 mile walk to Bourbon Street. The staff was unfriendly, unwelcoming, and insufficient for the amount of guests. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early (due to the lack of A/C) and were told we would still be charged for the day regardless if we checked out. The hotel and rooms have a nice atmosphere (one of the reasons we selected it), and while clean, need some serious updating as there was mold and stained grout in the bathroom with molded acoustic tiles in the ceiling. Lighting was also poor in our bathroom. Overall, we gave this hotel 2 stars because of its atmosphere and the price. Nevertheless, we will not be staying here again if our travels take us back to New Orleans, and we would caution any one else who is considering staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1 mile from the hotel is Cafe du Monde. It is well worth the walk along the river (drive or trolly) to get beignets and a cafe au lait. It was a highlight of the trip. **Cash only**

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Truth About My Stays
Edmonton, KY
Mar 29, 2011

The Good and The Bad

My friend and I thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and out with an old Victorian feel to it. However, their was some downers to the hotel. Our room 426 smelled like someone washed it in bourbon every day we walked into it. Their was one bulb in the entire room on the ceiling for lighting and possibly two lamps in the room that were not very bright. So if your looking for a nice place to read this place might not be for you. The SHOWER OMG THE SHOWER SUCKED! It took like no joke 8minutes to warm up then it barely came out of the overhead faucet onto you. Pretty much in order to take a shower you had to hug the wall underneath the faucet to get enough water even on you. My friend and I even tried moving the nozzle, but it made it worse. The front desk girls weren't the happiest people to greet you after a long trip they all looked grumpy and sleep deprived. But that wasn't going to stop us from having fun on our trip. The hotel itself wasn't worth over 90.00 a night seriously. The guys that parked the cars and carried the luggage were friendly and seemed interested in pleasing the customers of the hotel. The hotel location was smack dab in the city of New Orleans so that was convenient. Also, their was a bar at the bottom of the hotel for those who drink. This might be convenient info for someone. If I had to do it again I probably would choose another hotel only because the shower thing killed me in the mornings. I really wanted a nice warm, relaxing shower and that was just not possible in this hotel. Everything else was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayJay1981
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 2, 2013

Good location, bad hotel

I love old-style boutique hotels. In fact, I prefer them over something like a modern day Hilton. But this place was a disaster. I was on the 2nd floor and there is a loud bar that played music until 2am. If I wanted a bar with loud music playing, I would have gone to Bourbon Street. I could hear a loud banging (it happened very regularly every 30 minutes and I have no idea what it was) and it would wake up up. The walls are paper thin and I could hear every door close, toilet flush or shower running from my neighbor. Place really needs upgrades. The hotel clerk was rude and snapped at me when I asked her a question. They charged me for 2 days of parking when there was only 1. After I checked in at 4pm, a housekeeper came into my room to clean and I was not dressed. Then I got no clean towels my 2nd day and I had to call to get more. It's a great location but I will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glo, MA
Apr 28, 2010

Not a good experience

[...] Also, we were not informed that there was a charge to park of $29 per night plus another $8 per day for Cont breakfast and internet. We did not eat breakfast there.This hotel was very, very basic. However, we did like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
propgig
Business
Galveston, TX, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Ordinary

Overall experience was OK, however internet did not work and we were moved to different rooms multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Just a little off. . . .

Although the room was fine and had a bit more charm than a chain might, the experience was a little off. For example, the hard wood floors buckled in the middle of the room, which meant that we regularly were tripping - humourous the first time, but can get old. The window looked out onto a brick wall, which made it really dark in the room. The lighting in the room was nice, but the bed was not very firm. The hotel was clean. The problem with it being understaffed was perhaps the major problem. There was no open restaurant on site - not a huge problem except when one wants coffee in the morning - and although we were close to Canal street, we still had to several blocks to get coffee. Also, the front desk staff were not prepared with suggeestions for places to eat, sending us down wrong streets and blocks. The valet and parking service is nice to have, but they only had one valet working at a time, which meant that there was a huge back up of people waiting when we checked out. For the price, the location was nice as we were situated right in between the French Quarter and the Warehouse district. We did not have to use our car at all while exploring these areas. We still had a nice time in New Orleans, and the hotel wasn't horrible, bue we will not likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we were on the hunt for coffee, we did find PJs. If you walk north on Canal Street past the Starbucks in the Sheraton, PJs will be on your left. The coffee, chai and bagels were yummy, and the service friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top