$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa
Sep 29, 2008

Waste of time

The wallpaper was peeling of the walls in the room and when we turn on the fan in the room dust came flyng off them. The location was not bad, but there was a constant dinging in our room from the waterpipes in the walls. I am going back next October and I will be paying for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

if you go far enough you will get good food

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2010

Flea-bitten at Ambassador Hotel

Finding several severe flea bites each morning on my face and hands was very unwelcome. Ruined my stay at the Hotel -- I do not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Screwed by the Ambassador
Baton Rouge
Oct 18, 2010

Never pre pay and book a room here!!

Never book and pre pay for a room at the Ambassador Hotel. We did recently and had the pleasure of being bumped and dumped in a flea bag sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent. Seems we weren't the only parties this was done to as we meet multiple people who were moved to the Queen and Crescent and all had pre paid for their rooms through a travel company. Seems the Ambassador overbooked and sent all the prepaid customers to their dump sister hotel. The Ambassador management refused to refund our money or to give us a partial discount as the other hotel was a third of the price of the Ambassador. The elevators didn't work, the room wreaked of smoke and wasn't clean, the building is in bad need of a refurb and the staff was horrible. It took over an hour for a valet to retrieve our car, which turned out to be in a lot about thirty yards from the hotel, and when we complained the manager physically threatened us and had to be restrained by other hotel staff members. There are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to scams like this. Never book a room and pre pay for it at the Ambassador Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book another hotel and don't pre pay for it. You have no recourse if you pre pay.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Rich in history, poor in cleaning

The location is good, especially if you are at the convention center by day and French Quarter by night. However, it was very noisy: you could hear every door close. The bathroom showed evidence of signficant water leaks and moldy/crumbling drywall. My window looked out over a brickwall not farther than 18 inches away. They also have significant rescheduling charges, so keep that in mind if you don't have firm travel plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Windycity Traveler
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Think twice - bedbugs!

I stayed two nights at The Ambassador, after finding the offer [...] I checked out their website and felt comfortable booking a stay. I travel often and think I can spot a bad deal. However, one can never find bedbugs on the websites. I'm currently dealing with my extra roommates that first night. After I discovered the bites I requested a room change, which they immediately accomodated. My second room, while marked as clean in the system, had not been touched by housekeeping. In fact I questioned if I had been accidentally given someone else's keys. My third room was a clear downgrade--not even a window.Even through the awfulness of the bedbugs the front desk staff was very sympathetic but didn't offer to do much about it. The restuarant connected to the hotel is fantastic, and I will say all the staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and knowledgable on New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ambassador is located in a great location to hit all the neighborhoods of New Orleans. You don't have to rent a car!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 27, 2011

Dirty

Customer service was less than average. I asked for my room to be cleaned more thoroughly since i found trash under my bed and a shirt in a corner. The trash and shirt remained there after my complaint for another 3 days. Definitely lacking in service and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2010

Moldy three star

This was a charming authentic looking New Orleans hotel from the outside,as well as the lobby and maybe some of the rooms...... but not ours! We were in a dungeon type room on the lowest floor with a window that looked out at a brick wall about two feet away. There was a constant knocking sound that required us to wear earplugs to get any sleep. The bathroom had rotten drywall and mold around the base of the bath tube area. We were told upon check-in that wireless internet was included, and then on check out charged 7.95 per day. There were no clothes hangers in the room so we asked and they had trouble coming up with any, but eventually gave us 6 wire hangers. We had friends staying other places not using a travel service who got better prices and much larger and nicer rooms. Not too great of an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pumpkin Eater
Texas
Sep 28, 2011

Cheap and for a reason

It was old yet charming but for all that charm it lacked alot of up keep! it lacked maintance, cleaning and some repairs! I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jearnee McGuin
New Orleans,La
Jun 19, 2013

Rip off!! Unauthorized charges on my account

After telling and showing the attendant the breakfast was included in the package he charged me. He also charged me for parking when I didn't park at the hotel. When I checked out it was refunded on the receipt . One day later, it was put back into my account and then taken back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, La.
Dec 21, 2009

Horrible Experience

I originally had requested 2 rooms 2 beds each. However [...] changed it to 2 rooms 1 king each. When we arrived they tried giving us 2 rooms with 1 double bed in each room. Room was very unclean and they offered us a roll away that was filthy. Furthermore the linens they provided were balled up and thrown on the floor and appeared to been used. We left the hotel and went to Holiday Inn and demanded a refund which they denied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top