$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamchsr
Holt, FL
Aug 5, 2012

Comfortable homey feeling

We stayed only one night with our granddaughters and it was very comfortable. We were able to walk to our destinations with New Orleans and not incur additional costs for parking or cabs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans Power Pass pick-up is only a few blocks away. Pickup your ticket and the attractions surround you. Very convenient.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMWill
Canton, GA
Jul 19, 2012

My getaway

Never again!!! On the website the building look all nice but when I got there the hotel look like an old run down building that they tried to fix up. You either had to pay for parking across the street or use their valet parking a block and a half away and I think it was $35 a night. The walls were paper thin, rooms were very small I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Worldwide Wanderer
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 8, 2012

I Suppose It Depends On What You're Looking For...

We were absolutely delighted by what we found for the uber-amazing price we paid for our stay at the Ambassador! We partook of the free breakfast every morning and it kept us going for hours, we slept soundly each night, and enjoyed the quirky mix of old-and-new touches in this hotel. We were able to walk easily from the front doors to the public transportation we were using or even straight into the French Quarter itself, and the amazing Mother's restaurant is barely a half a block away! Now, for the downside: if you like your bed to feel like it's brand-new, your room phone to work, and every detail of your room to be in perfect order, this is probably not the place for you. But if you are an easy-going, take-it-as-it-comes budget traveler that just wants a convenient, affordable place to lay your head, you will hopefully be just as thrilled as we were!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for big portions of delicious local food at a really reasonable price, you have to visit "Mother's Restaurant" about half a block back toward Canal Street from the Ambassador's front entrance! Fabulous!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lesismore
Minnesota
Jul 1, 2012

Good Location

This hotel was close enough but far enough away from the Quarter. I stayed by myself a few days extra after a work conference and I felt safe. I was close enough to the Quarter to see the tourist stuff, but far enough away to not dealing with the partying that occurs. It was nice to be close to the Riverwalk and the streetcars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's Restaurant is a block away with good food.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bethlynn
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 27, 2012

If you just need a room

Given I do not like to be in my hotel rooms much the rooms offered by Ambassador fit the bill to a tee. I did have trouble closing the door as it did not fit to the frame correctly and judging by the amount of noise from other rooms I was not alone. Furniture in room was old and worn but that hardly mattered, bed was fine. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snug Harbor Jazz Club was wonderful !

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel time PA
PA
May 31, 2012

Fair price

Overall a solid experience for the price. Minor issues - the shower tub faucet needed repairs and only went into shower mode. The breakfast selection is very limited to toast, cereal, muffins, and hard boiled eggs. Side note not related to the hotel - The parking in downtown New Orleans is expensive, $32 per day at the public parking lot that the hotel uses. Way more expensive than other cities. Not sure if I'll be visiting New Orleans if they keep raising parking lot prices and rental car taxes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GabyErik
New Jersey
May 18, 2012

Seemed OK but...

My husband just spent two nights at this hotel and came home with a significant number of bites. The doctor confirmed today that it was bed bugs. I've left a msg today for the hotel manager but no one has returned my call. Not sure what I expect from him, but others should be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SF tester
San Francisco, CA
Apr 30, 2012

Awful room!

The hotel itself is really nice, people are friendly and the cleaning personel is good. It is not their fault that the room...was the worst I have ever been so far! No window, former smoker room, bathroom really old with broken floor. Climate was loud and only very difficult to adjust. Everything else was nice but the stay in the room made the whole stay in the hotel extremely unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A guy with modest needs
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

not too good at all!`

I read a lot of negative stuff about this place, but it had a low price. It was poorly maintained with chipping unfinished walls, floorboards coming up, a bathroom in poor repair. The bed only had a thin sheet and a thin cover - it wasn't much for the >100 per night I paid. They offered to charge me extra 10$ per night for the luxury of internet, work out room and business center, which I had to specifically request that I not be charged for. They said they are supposed to, but for whatever reason they decided not to charge me. But, it was a quiet night in a bed. Nothing broke, no one bothered me, and I slept well. I would not go back unless I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Craigers
Business
D
Apr 27, 2012

Decent

Uncomfortable beds, but overall the staff was quite nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top