$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kostas N
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2013

Good value for money

Very basic amenities, the breakfast was not that good. The room was not that clean at check in but it was great the 2nd day. Staff was helpful but responded slowly. Simple tasks needed extra time to be done and the overall takeaway was not to trust the staff at all. It was the only hotel in the US where I was afraid to leave my laptop in the room while away. Also, it was the only hotel in US that they charged extra when we requested a baby crib....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HPM Convention goer
Business
KC, MO
Mar 19, 2013

Works for Work

They really couldn't offer an early check-in, not even by 30 minutes. Would have liked the option to forego housekeeping everyday since I was spending so little time in my room -- such a waste. Breakfast although included was fairly bare-bones. Easy walk to convention center though and free wifi was helpful. I liked the character of the wood floors and the rooms, but sometimes the creakiness was a bit much and not much soundproofing so neighbors knocking on doors late at night wasn't much fun. Was an acceptable option for my conference attendance, but otherwise I'm not sure I'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pappa Mike
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2013

Very disappointed

Claims to be a boutigue hotel. Very old and bath tub and sink really need upgrade (cracks, etc. Youth cheerleading competition going on and hotel was booked with teams and families. kids were hanging out in hallways. (20) camped outside our door. teams prcaticing routines in the hallways and in their rooms. called desk (3) separate times last time was 1:00am, they were still at it. Talked to desk personel, could'nt cares less. One more thing, no windows looking outside, just a window looking at the hallway (where the kids were practicing). high price for horrible service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsJones87
Business
Southwestern Ohio
Jan 20, 2013

Hotel with personality

- Good location, only a short walk to French quarter & CBD - Nice, unique ambiance - Could have been cleaner - Walls must be a bit thin as we heard a lot of voices and noises from plumbing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs.A
Business
GA
Jan 7, 2013

Really needs an upgrade

Just stayed here over the weekend Jan 2013. The Internet pics and rating was so far from the truth. The bed is not connected to the headboard so is slides away from the wall. The bathroom had yellow spots on the ceiling and a piece of paper stuck in a hole in the ceiling. The floors were ancient. The conversations of the next room occupants were easily heard. The ceiling seemed as if it would fall in when the upper floor occupants walked. This place really needs some work. Definitely would not recommend UNLESS you are looking for a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
Business
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Sheila
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, but so disappointing!

I stayed here for my birthday for three night and four days. For one, I had to wait for my town car to pick me up after I'd made reservations. Once I finally made it to the hotel, the front desk tells me that I had to wait for my room to be cleaned. REALLY?! I had to sit at the bar with drunk folks ready to party before I finally got my room to relax. When I FINALLY made it to my room, the hardwood floor was so creaky and uneven, I thought I would fall through. It was around this time that I discovered that there was NO ROOM SERVICE at this hotel. When I called to ask about room service, and what one should do to get food, the Front Desk was very flippant and sarcastic with me. (Mind you, no one bothered to mention the continental breakfast until I was checking out of the hotel.) Sleeping was a horrible experience. My bed was comfortable, but everybody's footsteps was heard throughout the hotel, ... it sounded like each guest in each hotel room (anywhere near mine) wore 'concrete busters' throughout the night, and also chose to drag dead bodies across the floor at 3am in the mornings. (It's the only thing I can think of to drag that late at night.) When I'd wake up in the mornings, I had no idea what time it was if I did not have my phone next to me, as the windows in my room only showed the view of the hallway outside, meaning when I woke up at 7:30am, it was pitch black in my room. Once I woke up in the morning, there was NEVER any hot water to use for the tub. I'd have to wait til the evening hours to take my baths, because that's when most people were out and about getting drunk and NOT using the water. I couldn't wait for this experience to be over. The concierge adviced me to try to get the Front Desk to take off the "hidden fees" of $9.95 a night, since I'd been inconvenienced with having to wait for my room when I arrived. When I tried her method, the Front Desk didn't budge. When it was time for check-out, the concierge assured me that she'd reserved transportation for me to get to the train station. I waited, ... and waited, ... and waited some more. Finally, the nice gentleman who worked in place of the previous concierge found a cab for me, who came right away. He didn't even charge me for the ride, which was a positive experience that had absolutely NOTHING to do with this hotel. LOL! But anyway, ... I loved the architecture of the building, and the history behind it, but it just wasn't as pleasant of an experience as I had hoped. One night would've been great, ... 3 nights in a row sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I'll be honest that the food at the Extreme Bar & Grille was quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Music connection
Business
Kansas City
Nov 18, 2012

Overall good place

I like the location of this hotel, not right in the middle of all the activities but close enough to walk to all of them. I like where I stay to be quieter! My only complaint about the room was the bed - one side was higher than the other. The hotel bar was great - best Bloody Mary's I've had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ACha
Business
Montpelier, VT
Nov 6, 2012

Horrible Experience

They gave me a key to a room when I checked in and when I opened the door, someone was sleeping in the bed! This is one of the sleaziest hotels I've ever stayed in. People in the rooms were screaming at 4 in the morning and the place was filthy. I have strong trepidation about ever using this service again. Parking across the street was $30/day and when I checked out they tried to tack on a charge for a fitness room and business services. There was no fitness room and no business services that I could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top