$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
273 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MrsJones87
Business
Southwestern Ohio
Jan 20, 2013

Hotel with personality

- Good location, only a short walk to French quarter & CBD - Nice, unique ambiance - Could have been cleaner - Walls must be a bit thin as we heard a lot of voices and noises from plumbing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mrs.A
Business
GA
Jan 7, 2013

Really needs an upgrade

Just stayed here over the weekend Jan 2013. The Internet pics and rating was so far from the truth. The bed is not connected to the headboard so is slides away from the wall. The bathroom had yellow spots on the ceiling and a piece of paper stuck in a hole in the ceiling. The floors were ancient. The conversations of the next room occupants were easily heard. The ceiling seemed as if it would fall in when the upper floor occupants walked. This place really needs some work. Definitely would not recommend UNLESS you are looking for a great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
Business
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Sheila
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, but so disappointing!

I stayed here for my birthday for three night and four days. For one, I had to wait for my town car to pick me up after I'd made reservations. Once I finally made it to the hotel, the front desk tells me that I had to wait for my room to be cleaned. REALLY?! I had to sit at the bar with drunk folks ready to party before I finally got my room to relax. When I FINALLY made it to my room, the hardwood floor was so creaky and uneven, I thought I would fall through. It was around this time that I discovered that there was NO ROOM SERVICE at this hotel. When I called to ask about room service, and what one should do to get food, the Front Desk was very flippant and sarcastic with me. (Mind you, no one bothered to mention the continental breakfast until I was checking out of the hotel.) Sleeping was a horrible experience. My bed was comfortable, but everybody's footsteps was heard throughout the hotel, ... it sounded like each guest in each hotel room (anywhere near mine) wore 'concrete busters' throughout the night, and also chose to drag dead bodies across the floor at 3am in the mornings. (It's the only thing I can think of to drag that late at night.) When I'd wake up in the mornings, I had no idea what time it was if I did not have my phone next to me, as the windows in my room only showed the view of the hallway outside, meaning when I woke up at 7:30am, it was pitch black in my room. Once I woke up in the morning, there was NEVER any hot water to use for the tub. I'd have to wait til the evening hours to take my baths, because that's when most people were out and about getting drunk and NOT using the water. I couldn't wait for this experience to be over. The concierge adviced me to try to get the Front Desk to take off the "hidden fees" of $9.95 a night, since I'd been inconvenienced with having to wait for my room when I arrived. When I tried her method, the Front Desk didn't budge. When it was time for check-out, the concierge assured me that she'd reserved transportation for me to get to the train station. I waited, ... and waited, ... and waited some more. Finally, the nice gentleman who worked in place of the previous concierge found a cab for me, who came right away. He didn't even charge me for the ride, which was a positive experience that had absolutely NOTHING to do with this hotel. LOL! But anyway, ... I loved the architecture of the building, and the history behind it, but it just wasn't as pleasant of an experience as I had hoped. One night would've been great, ... 3 nights in a row sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I'll be honest that the food at the Extreme Bar & Grille was quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Music connection
Business
Kansas City
Nov 18, 2012

Overall good place

I like the location of this hotel, not right in the middle of all the activities but close enough to walk to all of them. I like where I stay to be quieter! My only complaint about the room was the bed - one side was higher than the other. The hotel bar was great - best Bloody Mary's I've had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ACha
Business
Montpelier, VT
Nov 6, 2012

Horrible Experience

They gave me a key to a room when I checked in and when I opened the door, someone was sleeping in the bed! This is one of the sleaziest hotels I've ever stayed in. People in the rooms were screaming at 4 in the morning and the place was filthy. I have strong trepidation about ever using this service again. Parking across the street was $30/day and when I checked out they tried to tack on a charge for a fitness room and business services. There was no fitness room and no business services that I could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pfc wintergreen
Business
New Orleans
Oct 16, 2012

Cockroaches and mold here

Most rooms don't have windows and we had to move three times here, twice for mold everywhere and once when we had cockroaches in our room. If the entire city wasn't sold out for the SFN conference we would have changed hotels - which is the only thing the manager told us to do. He was unsympathetic and could not care less that our room had cockroaches. Unbelievable. This place is truly a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste your money by staying here, there are plenty of hotels in the area that aren't filthy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Venezuelan voting in NOLA
Business
Miami, Florida
Oct 11, 2012

Not worth it

I stayed at this hote during the Venezuelan elections in New Orleans. I paid about $150 per night and it was definitely not worth it. The rooms are very old, and are not well maintained. For example, I noticed that they had not cleaned the bathroom in the room I was initially assigned. You can find better hotels in the area. Also, at the time of the check-out, they could not give me the receipt because "the printer was down", so I gave them my e-mail, and I am still waiting for my receipt. Finally, you have to pay $10.00 daily for internet, which they call 'ammenities", and which is a "manndatory fee", but the internet was down most of the times.....Find a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

NOLA!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamchsr
Business
Holt, FL
Aug 5, 2012

Comfortable homey feeling

We stayed only one night with our granddaughters and it was very comfortable. We were able to walk to our destinations with New Orleans and not incur additional costs for parking or cabs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans Power Pass pick-up is only a few blocks away. Pickup your ticket and the attractions surround you. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top