$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, texas
Dec 5, 2009

Not all it appears to be..

In the fine print "A required $7.95 communication fee is charged to each reservation that provides in room Internet access, unlimited long distance calls, unlimited access to 24 hour Fitness Center, and usage as well as insurance up to $20,000.00 on in room digital safes." I used none of these services but was required, after objecting to pay it.....should be optional....surly staff, restaurant is not part of hotel (cannot charge to room), old worn out furniture in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Stay at Ambassador Guy
New Orleans Louisiana
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing like website pictures, very bad

We checked into what we thought were rooms similar to the rooms we saw on the website but turned out to be interior rooms with no windows. Once inside we discovered probably the dirtiest most unsanitary bathrooms that i have ever seen. The toilet and sink were stained and the grout on the tile was so dirty it had turned black. The shower had a cloth curtain that was so stained you could hardly tell what color it was. Beyond this, before turning out the lights to go to sleep, we discovered a mouse walking on top our luggage. Needless to say i will never stay here again and would recommend it to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Screwed by the Ambassador
Baton Rouge
Oct 18, 2010

Never pre pay and book a room here!!

Never book and pre pay for a room at the Ambassador Hotel. We did recently and had the pleasure of being bumped and dumped in a flea bag sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent. Seems we weren't the only parties this was done to as we meet multiple people who were moved to the Queen and Crescent and all had pre paid for their rooms through a travel company. Seems the Ambassador overbooked and sent all the prepaid customers to their dump sister hotel. The Ambassador management refused to refund our money or to give us a partial discount as the other hotel was a third of the price of the Ambassador. The elevators didn't work, the room wreaked of smoke and wasn't clean, the building is in bad need of a refurb and the staff was horrible. It took over an hour for a valet to retrieve our car, which turned out to be in a lot about thirty yards from the hotel, and when we complained the manager physically threatened us and had to be restrained by other hotel staff members. There are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to scams like this. Never book a room and pre pay for it at the Ambassador Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book another hotel and don't pre pay for it. You have no recourse if you pre pay.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MovieMom
Business
Spring Hill, TN
Jan 19, 2012

NOT Pet Friendly

We were attending a conference in New Orleans, and we had booked rooms at one of the conference hotels. At the last minute, we needed a pet friendly hotel. We found this hotel in fact it showed up first on the list. First the hotel is old, everything squeaks especially our bed. The floors are not level, the elevator sounds like it will break at any minute, and you can hear EVERYTHING..After two days of our stay, we were out with our pets and we were harassed as we came back to the hotel by the 'manager' who said the hotel was not pet friendly. I explained that we checked in no problem and it states in the directory that pets are allowed. He said he would find out who checked us in and that the policy had changed and they don't allow pets. I went to our room and called the corporate office to see if we needed to leave and complained about the rude 'manager'. Turns out he was the assistant and the actual manager knew we checked in and 'didn't have a problem' with our dogs. They don't know if they take pets or not. We couldn't wait to leave. Will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the French Quarter, visit 'Huey's" which is on the River front near the actual Cafe Du Monde. Fabulous staff, and food, AND they allow pets! Ask for James, he was the best waiter we ever had!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, texas
Dec 5, 2009

Not all it appears to be..

In the fine print "A required $7.95 communication fee is charged to each reservation that provides in room Internet access, unlimited long distance calls, unlimited access to 24 hour Fitness Center, and usage as well as insurance up to $20,000.00 on in room digital safes." I used none of these services but was required, after objecting to pay it.....should be optional....surly staff, restaurant is not part of hotel (cannot charge to room), old worn out furniture in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby Twp
Oct 9, 2008

dumperino!

I realize the Ambassador is an old, historic hotel. Unfortunately I couldn't get around the fact that the place was, in a word, a dump. Furniture old and worn. Bedsheets had dried bloodstains. Bathroom sorta OK. They gave me a mandatory $6.95 charge for internet and cable--neither worked in my room. Doors had glass six foot high lookthroughs: curtains, of course, but curtains can't stop and determined intruder. Food was good but service lousy (the girls' lowcut outfits did NOT make up for the extra slow service). Not again. Not next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pumpkin Eater
Texas
Sep 28, 2011

Cheap and for a reason

It was old yet charming but for all that charm it lacked alot of up keep! it lacked maintance, cleaning and some repairs! I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2011

LC

Left quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Stay at Ambassador Guy
New Orleans Louisiana
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing like website pictures, very bad

We checked into what we thought were rooms similar to the rooms we saw on the website but turned out to be interior rooms with no windows. Once inside we discovered probably the dirtiest most unsanitary bathrooms that i have ever seen. The toilet and sink were stained and the grout on the tile was so dirty it had turned black. The shower had a cloth curtain that was so stained you could hardly tell what color it was. Beyond this, before turning out the lights to go to sleep, we discovered a mouse walking on top our luggage. Needless to say i will never stay here again and would recommend it to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top