$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Screwed by the Ambassador
Business
Baton Rouge
Oct 18, 2010

Never pre pay and book a room here!!

Never book and pre pay for a room at the Ambassador Hotel. We did recently and had the pleasure of being bumped and dumped in a flea bag sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent. Seems we weren't the only parties this was done to as we meet multiple people who were moved to the Queen and Crescent and all had pre paid for their rooms through a travel company. Seems the Ambassador overbooked and sent all the prepaid customers to their dump sister hotel. The Ambassador management refused to refund our money or to give us a partial discount as the other hotel was a third of the price of the Ambassador. The elevators didn't work, the room wreaked of smoke and wasn't clean, the building is in bad need of a refurb and the staff was horrible. It took over an hour for a valet to retrieve our car, which turned out to be in a lot about thirty yards from the hotel, and when we complained the manager physically threatened us and had to be restrained by other hotel staff members. There are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to scams like this. Never book a room and pre pay for it at the Ambassador Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book another hotel and don't pre pay for it. You have no recourse if you pre pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Windycity Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Think twice - bedbugs!

I stayed two nights at The Ambassador, after finding the offer [...] I checked out their website and felt comfortable booking a stay. I travel often and think I can spot a bad deal. However, one can never find bedbugs on the websites. I'm currently dealing with my extra roommates that first night. After I discovered the bites I requested a room change, which they immediately accomodated. My second room, while marked as clean in the system, had not been touched by housekeeping. In fact I questioned if I had been accidentally given someone else's keys. My third room was a clear downgrade--not even a window.Even through the awfulness of the bedbugs the front desk staff was very sympathetic but didn't offer to do much about it. The restuarant connected to the hotel is fantastic, and I will say all the staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and knowledgable on New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ambassador is located in a great location to hit all the neighborhoods of New Orleans. You don't have to rent a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, LA
Dec 14, 2009

At Least it Was Cheap!

Reservations where not secure when we got there. Beds are very small. Staff slow and not very helpful. No parking in front of hotel. Overall- bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Stay at Ambassador Guy
Business
New Orleans Louisiana
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing like website pictures, very bad

We checked into what we thought were rooms similar to the rooms we saw on the website but turned out to be interior rooms with no windows. Once inside we discovered probably the dirtiest most unsanitary bathrooms that i have ever seen. The toilet and sink were stained and the grout on the tile was so dirty it had turned black. The shower had a cloth curtain that was so stained you could hardly tell what color it was. Beyond this, before turning out the lights to go to sleep, we discovered a mouse walking on top our luggage. Needless to say i will never stay here again and would recommend it to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2010

Flea-bitten at Ambassador Hotel

Finding several severe flea bites each morning on my face and hands was very unwelcome. Ruined my stay at the Hotel -- I do not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 4, 2010

NEVER Book a room at the Ambassador

Never book a room at the Ambassador again. The excuse was they had mechanical problems. They refused to refund our money and moved us to an old run down sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent that was a dump. The elevators didn't work so we had to use the stairs to go up and down. The rooms were run down and unkept. The staff was rude and acted like they didn't care about anything. The final insult was the valet service took over an hour to retrieve our vehicle and the hotel manager was rude and physically threatened us and had to be restrained by his co workers. We will never book a room at the Ambassador again. Too many other quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to rude staff and run down accomadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 5, 2010

Horrible

We arrived Tuesday morning and left Sunday morning. We traveled to New Orleans to vacation somewhere fun for New Year's Eve. It was pure coincidence for Cincinnati to be in the Sugar Bowl. The Ambassador Hotel was in very poor shape. Our room was dirty with mold on the wall in the bathroom and scum under the shower mat. There were nails poking up through the hardwood floor. I ripped one of my socks and was grateful they did not cut my foot. The beds were extremely hard and made us ache (We are 29 and 31 and in good shape). The comforters were old and the sheets had holes in them. The staff seemed very poorly trained with little or no follow through. We were given our room key without directions to the elevator on the backside of the hotel. We were wandering around the third floor in the wrong area of the hotel. The other elevator was extremely difficult to find and the staff should direct guests for first time use. We asked for coffee two days in a row before we received it. We asked for an extra blanket and were told there were none. I have NEVER stayed at a hotel and had an experience even close to this one. We normally book four stars through another online travel site. I will never go back to that hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Snug Harbor is a great place to feel like a local and see live New Orleans jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 27, 2011

Dirty

Customer service was less than average. I asked for my room to be cleaned more thoroughly since i found trash under my bed and a shirt in a corner. The trash and shirt remained there after my complaint for another 3 days. Definitely lacking in service and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AJWalk
Business
Mobile
Aug 12, 2014

No A/C

The first night the ac was not working I called the front desk, went out for a bit came back to a hot room, was told maintenance was gone for the night they refused to get anyone out to fix it that night. I asked for a fan I was told no, even though the front desk had one. The room had a lovely view with windows opening into the hall way. It felt like sleeping in a closet. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBE33
Business
Pensacola
Aug 21, 2014

Not suitable for any purpose.

This place was too dirty and in such disrepair that its only purpose would be as a place to crash for one night. You would find more accommodating staff and have a more relaxed stay at the Days Inn. The only redeeming quality was that the building is over 150 years old--that is if you like the historical nostalgia of the city, but the entire furnishings are run down from the 1980's. There is only one entry to this maze, and we saw 4 different couples complaining in our 3 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Adolfo's on Frenchman

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top