$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
272 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (272)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day getaway

I made reservations week in advance for king. got a queen in room with no window to exterior. Upon request to change was denied. Felt had there been a fire in the hall outside the glass door of the room, that also had no window to the outside, there would have been no way to excape. No internet the first day but charged anyway. Felt staff did not act due to booking on [...]. Said nothing they could do. I will not only never stay at this dump but my suggestion is that people pay the little extra, regardless of the deal they are offering and stay someplace nice. This room would not even be worth the stay if it had been free. Would not expect the management of this hotel to care about this review since they made no attempt after 2 calls to make any changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harrah's casino is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby Twp
Oct 9, 2008

dumperino!

I realize the Ambassador is an old, historic hotel. Unfortunately I couldn't get around the fact that the place was, in a word, a dump. Furniture old and worn. Bedsheets had dried bloodstains. Bathroom sorta OK. They gave me a mandatory $6.95 charge for internet and cable--neither worked in my room. Doors had glass six foot high lookthroughs: curtains, of course, but curtains can't stop and determined intruder. Food was good but service lousy (the girls' lowcut outfits did NOT make up for the extra slow service). Not again. Not next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Rosa
Sep 29, 2008

Waste of time

The wallpaper was peeling of the walls in the room and when we turn on the fan in the room dust came flyng off them. The location was not bad, but there was a constant dinging in our room from the waterpipes in the walls. I am going back next October and I will be paying for a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

if you go far enough you will get good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson,ms
Apr 3, 2010

pipe noises all night

This location was very loud. When I called the front desk to ask about the noise they said it might be the water in the pipes. It did not sound like water. It was a knocking noise all night. The front desk stated that they had no one available to check the noise. The night was very unrestful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Screwed by the Ambassador
Business
Baton Rouge
Oct 18, 2010

Never pre pay and book a room here!!

Never book and pre pay for a room at the Ambassador Hotel. We did recently and had the pleasure of being bumped and dumped in a flea bag sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent. Seems we weren't the only parties this was done to as we meet multiple people who were moved to the Queen and Crescent and all had pre paid for their rooms through a travel company. Seems the Ambassador overbooked and sent all the prepaid customers to their dump sister hotel. The Ambassador management refused to refund our money or to give us a partial discount as the other hotel was a third of the price of the Ambassador. The elevators didn't work, the room wreaked of smoke and wasn't clean, the building is in bad need of a refurb and the staff was horrible. It took over an hour for a valet to retrieve our car, which turned out to be in a lot about thirty yards from the hotel, and when we complained the manager physically threatened us and had to be restrained by other hotel staff members. There are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to scams like this. Never book a room and pre pay for it at the Ambassador Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book another hotel and don't pre pay for it. You have no recourse if you pre pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Windycity Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Think twice - bedbugs!

I stayed two nights at The Ambassador, after finding the offer [...] I checked out their website and felt comfortable booking a stay. I travel often and think I can spot a bad deal. However, one can never find bedbugs on the websites. I'm currently dealing with my extra roommates that first night. After I discovered the bites I requested a room change, which they immediately accomodated. My second room, while marked as clean in the system, had not been touched by housekeeping. In fact I questioned if I had been accidentally given someone else's keys. My third room was a clear downgrade--not even a window.Even through the awfulness of the bedbugs the front desk staff was very sympathetic but didn't offer to do much about it. The restuarant connected to the hotel is fantastic, and I will say all the staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and knowledgable on New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ambassador is located in a great location to hit all the neighborhoods of New Orleans. You don't have to rent a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, LA
Dec 14, 2009

At Least it Was Cheap!

Reservations where not secure when we got there. Beds are very small. Staff slow and not very helpful. No parking in front of hotel. Overall- bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Stay at Ambassador Guy
Business
New Orleans Louisiana
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing like website pictures, very bad

We checked into what we thought were rooms similar to the rooms we saw on the website but turned out to be interior rooms with no windows. Once inside we discovered probably the dirtiest most unsanitary bathrooms that i have ever seen. The toilet and sink were stained and the grout on the tile was so dirty it had turned black. The shower had a cloth curtain that was so stained you could hardly tell what color it was. Beyond this, before turning out the lights to go to sleep, we discovered a mouse walking on top our luggage. Needless to say i will never stay here again and would recommend it to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2010

Flea-bitten at Ambassador Hotel

Finding several severe flea bites each morning on my face and hands was very unwelcome. Ruined my stay at the Hotel -- I do not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 4, 2010

NEVER Book a room at the Ambassador

Never book a room at the Ambassador again. The excuse was they had mechanical problems. They refused to refund our money and moved us to an old run down sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent that was a dump. The elevators didn't work so we had to use the stairs to go up and down. The rooms were run down and unkept. The staff was rude and acted like they didn't care about anything. The final insult was the valet service took over an hour to retrieve our vehicle and the hotel manager was rude and physically threatened us and had to be restrained by his co workers. We will never book a room at the Ambassador again. Too many other quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to rude staff and run down accomadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top