$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa R
Business
Dayton
Jan 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel, huge let down

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel this past weekend (Thursday, January 16 – Sunday, January 19) and not only will I never stay there again but recommend no one else does. This hotel is not only extremely run down but the majority of the staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Upon checking in we were greeted with an unfriendly lady at the front desk. When I opened the door to our room my heart sank. It was clearly not the room I had reserved, which was a “Superior Double Queen” room. This room looked like a small, dark closest and had a lovely view of kitchen storage. I immediately walked back to the front desk and explained to the chipper female that this could not be the room I had reserved. According to the description/pictures the superior rooms were supposed to have wood floors and exposed brick. Instead of apologizing or explaining the female’s first response was, “well they don’t look like the pictures”. After I explained the major differences she agreed and said a new room would be ready at 4:00pm. We arrived back at the hotel and went up to our new room. By the description of a “superior” room this room was one but looked much different than the pictures. It had hard wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The room also had massive water damage that was poorly patched. The bathroom had major cracks around the shower and door. I understand part of the charm of the Ambassador is supposed to be its “old, authentic interior” but water damage and cracks should not be part of that. The bedding was cheap and the pillowcases had massacre stains. Honestly the Quality Inn by the airport we stayed at the night before was in better condition. Unfortunately the unfriendly female at the front desk was not the worst employee we came in contact with at the Ambassador. Thursday night we decided to stop in the attached bar, Lafayett’s. We took a seat at one of the high tables by the bar and waited for the red headed female bartender to greet us. After a few minutes she looked at us and said, “If you want a drink, you have to come to the bar. I am not a cocktail waitress and especially not when the bar is half full”. I was speechless. Clearly this lady missed the memo on good customer service or how to get tips. My boyfriend ordered a beer, drank it and we were out with in ten minutes. There were a few friendly employees but unfortunately the rude ones outweighed the good. The only positive thing I can say about the Ambassador is it in a good location, close to Harrah’s and the French Quarter. Overall a very disappointing stay and I wish I had listened to the other bad views I read before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luge
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Good

Good location But a little High Price no parking and break fast not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V1J1H1
Business
Houston, Texas
Jan 2, 2014

Historic Look Location

If you're looking for a place to stay with a historic feel and take a step back in time, this is a great place. Despite this historic feel, it has very nice modern amenities, which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dginglas
Business
Chicago
Dec 18, 2013

great

The location was great. Walk anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes. The staff was very friendly!!! It was clean, comfortable and we definatly enjoyed our stay and when we go back to new Orleans we would most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcadia!!!! Good food, arcade games and a fantastic staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hambone101
Business
Arlington, Texas
Nov 25, 2013

Good Location, Spacious Rooms

The hotel although not in French Quarter just a few blocks away. This is near Harrah's Casino and Emeril's Resturant. Staff was friendly. Not a fancy hotel but very nice. Beds were great as well, that really is quite nice. Definitely give it a solid 4 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarolX
Business
Oakland, California
Nov 6, 2013

Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would definitely come back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of cool things that were going on were all nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph G
Business
Sand Springs, OK
Oct 15, 2013

Nights in New Orleans

Room was musty, and had together staff to sweep floor. We also had reserved a king size bed and only received a queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayJay1981
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 2, 2013

Good location, bad hotel

I love old-style boutique hotels. In fact, I prefer them over something like a modern day Hilton. But this place was a disaster. I was on the 2nd floor and there is a loud bar that played music until 2am. If I wanted a bar with loud music playing, I would have gone to Bourbon Street. I could hear a loud banging (it happened very regularly every 30 minutes and I have no idea what it was) and it would wake up up. The walls are paper thin and I could hear every door close, toilet flush or shower running from my neighbor. Place really needs upgrades. The hotel clerk was rude and snapped at me when I asked her a question. They charged me for 2 days of parking when there was only 1. After I checked in at 4pm, a housekeeper came into my room to clean and I was not dressed. Then I got no clean towels my 2nd day and I had to call to get more. It's a great location but I will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alichacon23
Business
miami
Sep 26, 2013

my visit to new orlean in september 2013

Ordinary services and room, good staff, dinner and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeonardoCarmona
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Sep 9, 2013

Excellent Service

Very good experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. They provided information when requested and were always kind and professional. I will recommend this hotels to my friends and relatives. I would like to return someday if I travel to New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Canal Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top