$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
273 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayJay1981
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 2, 2013

Good location, bad hotel

I love old-style boutique hotels. In fact, I prefer them over something like a modern day Hilton. But this place was a disaster. I was on the 2nd floor and there is a loud bar that played music until 2am. If I wanted a bar with loud music playing, I would have gone to Bourbon Street. I could hear a loud banging (it happened very regularly every 30 minutes and I have no idea what it was) and it would wake up up. The walls are paper thin and I could hear every door close, toilet flush or shower running from my neighbor. Place really needs upgrades. The hotel clerk was rude and snapped at me when I asked her a question. They charged me for 2 days of parking when there was only 1. After I checked in at 4pm, a housekeeper came into my room to clean and I was not dressed. Then I got no clean towels my 2nd day and I had to call to get more. It's a great location but I will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alichacon23
miami
Sep 26, 2013

my visit to new orlean in september 2013

Ordinary services and room, good staff, dinner and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeonardoCarmona
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Sep 9, 2013

Excellent Service

Very good experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. They provided information when requested and were always kind and professional. I will recommend this hotels to my friends and relatives. I would like to return someday if I travel to New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Canal Avenue

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natbay
Atlanta, GA
Jul 22, 2013

For the price, it was good enough.

I should have know that $89 was too good for a great place but the hotel did the best they could with an old coffee warehouse. The bathroom had black mold on most of the ceiling tiles and in the grout in the shower. We were welcomed by a roach coming out from underneath the bed one night when we arrived in for the night. I didn't make any complaints because for the price it was doable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eniac
Beijing
Jul 18, 2013

Dont be tricked by photos

This place is ok but we were shocked to find that the only window in our room faced into the hallway! Also the floors were so slick that when we got out of bed we just fell right one the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NOLA traveler
NYC
Jul 11, 2013

Good value for money

Great location. Clean. Would recommend it. Hotel staff were friendly, but the free breakfast was not worth waking up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jearnee McGuin
New Orleans,La
Jun 19, 2013

Rip off!! Unauthorized charges on my account

After telling and showing the attendant the breakfast was included in the package he charged me. He also charged me for parking when I didn't park at the hotel. When I checked out it was refunded on the receipt . One day later, it was put back into my account and then taken back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
porkasmith
San Antonio, TX
Jun 18, 2013

across from the Piazza d'Italia

Our initial experience was a bit rocky as our electronic key did not open the room; so we were given a new room. The woman at reception gave us an upgraded room because she wanted us to have a room with a window. The room was huge and overlooked the hotel entrance and across to the Piazza d'Italia, a bench mark of early postmodern architecture. FYI, there are rooms without windows located in the center of the hotel because the hotel is carved out of an old coffee factory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers for classic new orleans poor boys with roast beef, debris and gravy.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NOLA traveler
NYC
Jun 10, 2013

Amazing Location, Good Hotel

You are within 10 minute walk from the French Quarter and within a couple of steps from Mother's restaurant, which is an absolute must try. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There was noise outside my room when I arrived and I was upgraded from a queen to a king to a quieter room without much hassle. The building is old and the hotel isn't the most luxurious place you've ever stayed at, but it had everything you need from a hotel in New Orleans. Also, good value for money. They do charge you a MANDATORY $10 for wi-fi and breakfast etc once you arrive, but since they had such a good deal on the hotel, I didn't feel like throwing a tantrum over the extra $10 per night. Overall, I definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Airboat Adventure swamp tour! Stunning!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookiemo
New Orleand LA
Jun 4, 2013

Awesome girls getaway

The stay was great. The rooms were very clean and the attached bar and grill staff was very entertaining. Great location we were able to walk to party areas and enjoy the amenities of other locations. Only wish they had a pool!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's world best baked ham famous restaurant had the best breakfast and home cook meals. you will have to wait in a line to get in but it was worth the wait.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search