$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange, TX
Nov 27, 2009

Disappointed

The hotel had trouble finding the terms under which we booked the hotel and took a while to confirm that the website indeed says free valet parking. They also charge a mandatory fee of about $8 which is supposedly for unlimited Wi-Fi, but our room did not get a signal at all, had trouble connecting to the internet even through an ethernet cable and still, when we asked for a refund of the fee since we did not receive the service we were charged for, the staff were unhelpful and refused to give us one. The so called "Continental" Breakfast consisted of store-bought mini-muffins and cut up coffee cake and coffee, there was no tea or even hot water, no place to sit down for breakfast and not to mention the noise from the pipes in the ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The locals try to avoid the touristy flavor of Bourbon St. and instead go to the clubs on Frenchman.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dickerin
Houston, Texas
Nov 25, 2009

A good deal...

Great location near clubs and French Quarter. For Tulane University visits we should have stayed closer, but the price was a bargain. Instead of making such a big deal of it, they should just add the stupid $8.00 'Internet Fee' to the cost of the room. Most of other negative reports are false... but not all light fixtures worked and checkout took a little long because the clerk did not know what deals other booking agencies had offered. Our 'free' river boat tour was 'canceled by the operator'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Carry some cash.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, LA
Nov 16, 2009

The WORST hotel in New Orleans

We checked in at 3:30PM and checked out at 4PM same day after seeing this "laugh" of a room....rat hole in the cornor of room...beds that apparently were in this hotel in 1854!...dirty sheets w/dead bugs...glass doors to rooms with blinds over them...furnishings that looked like castoffs from some bad 40's movie and OLD ugly wood floors(NO CARPET IN ROOMS)!! Bath looked like it came out of some horrible nightmare. We lost our money but would have paid double to get out...DON'T EVER USE THIS HOTEL...SHOULD BE CLOSED AND DEMOLISHED. It is a travesty that this kind of trashy hotel is allowed to dupe unaware travelers. Please Please Please NEVER book a room there. There are plently of hotels at around the same price and much better condition. DO NOT BE DUPED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nanny pett
opelousas, la
Nov 16, 2009

not sure that i would recommend

the hotel is very beautiful but it needs work. the floors throughout the hotel are very uneven and is dangerous for a handicapped person who is unaware of this. the bed was broken ib one of the three rooms we were changed to. one of the rooms was at street level and was very noisy with people sitting right outside of the window. the room had no towels in it and when we called for some the clerk never came to bring them, we had to go get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the casino is across the street a very short walk if you like the casino.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wife of a tightwad:)
New Orleans, LA
Nov 10, 2009

Almost like home....

We enjoyed our stay. It was comfortable and convenient. It reminded me of the old New Orleans style hotel with updated decor. I prefer the wood floors to carpet.....carpet in a hotel always seems so dirty and grungy, it is disgusting to walk on it with bare feet. The rooms were a little small, but we were only in the room at night to watch a little TV and sleep, so it was perfect. The only complaint I had was at check-out on Sunday morning when everyone was checking out at the same time, they didn't have more staff getting cars. Seems like they could hire extra staff for those few hours who could work mostly off of tips than anything else. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is convenient for dining and shopping, but also less expensive than most and a great place to stay if you just want a quiet place to get away.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gotalive
new orleans
Nov 8, 2009

been to nicer motels

stayed in 3 different rooms in 4 might first night the bar in the lobby was open past 3 in the morning. next night room didn´t have a clock and the ac diddn´t work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gulfport, MS
Nov 1, 2009

Nice surprise

Good location. Great brick wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't Stay at Ambassador Guy
New Orleans Louisiana
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing like website pictures, very bad

We checked into what we thought were rooms similar to the rooms we saw on the website but turned out to be interior rooms with no windows. Once inside we discovered probably the dirtiest most unsanitary bathrooms that i have ever seen. The toilet and sink were stained and the grout on the tile was so dirty it had turned black. The shower had a cloth curtain that was so stained you could hardly tell what color it was. Beyond this, before turning out the lights to go to sleep, we discovered a mouse walking on top our luggage. Needless to say i will never stay here again and would recommend it to no one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susan in houston
houston, tx
Oct 16, 2009

GREAT location

I thought [...] was terrific and very helpful. I thought $2 for a soft drink was too much. I wish the hotel resturant had offered breakfast. They could have told me where the parking was. I was concerned where my vehicle was. [...] I had no other problems or concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I wish the hotel had a map to the French Quarter. I wish the hotel had pronounced the street's name.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Oct 15, 2009

Ambassador Review

You can hear people upstairs pretty clearly but not having anyone next door was great. Some fees on internet and phone service was unexpected and didnt like that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search