$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Who Dat Bears
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 4, 2010

Great Bang for the Buck

The hotel is conveniently near the French Quarter and the Riverfront, our room is spacious and decent, and overall we really got our money worth. I would have rated the hotel higher at 4 stars if it weren't for two small issues: our room were not cleaned after the first night, and we can hear some neighboring noise as well as the elevators. Fortunately that did not bother us since we were out so much having fun and that we really slept soundly. The hotel has a nice antique look and the surrounding area of Warehouse/Art district feels safe, nice and quite. We also got two free tickets to cruise on the Creole Queen by booking on [...] so that was a great bonus. The hotel charges an extra $7.95/day Value Package fee but I knew that before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's, a famous restaurant, is on the neighboring block. We enjoyed its Jimbalaya so much that we ordered two large takeouts to take all the way home!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Windycity Traveler
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Think twice - bedbugs!

I stayed two nights at The Ambassador, after finding the offer [...] I checked out their website and felt comfortable booking a stay. I travel often and think I can spot a bad deal. However, one can never find bedbugs on the websites. I'm currently dealing with my extra roommates that first night. After I discovered the bites I requested a room change, which they immediately accomodated. My second room, while marked as clean in the system, had not been touched by housekeeping. In fact I questioned if I had been accidentally given someone else's keys. My third room was a clear downgrade--not even a window.Even through the awfulness of the bedbugs the front desk staff was very sympathetic but didn't offer to do much about it. The restuarant connected to the hotel is fantastic, and I will say all the staff I encountered were friendly, helpful and knowledgable on New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ambassador is located in a great location to hit all the neighborhoods of New Orleans. You don't have to rent a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Dub
Baton Rouge, La.
Jan 26, 2010

Cool Hotel, Great Locatin

Fun times in New Orleans. Great Location to all the hot spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis, mo
Jan 25, 2010

nice hotel/nice people

The staff was excellent, the room was very spacious (although it could have been a little cleaner) and had interesting furniture and architectural details. Parking was valet [...].We would stay there again! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Touch of Class
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 18, 2010

Historic Getaway

Great experience! Close to Riverwalk, Canal Street, Harrahs Casino, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bkd
Downingtown, PA
Jan 6, 2010

Nice, but hidden

Nice hotel in a good location, but the mandatory $8/day "resort fee" was a surprise and never mentioned anywhere online!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 5, 2010

Horrible

We arrived Tuesday morning and left Sunday morning. We traveled to New Orleans to vacation somewhere fun for New Year's Eve. It was pure coincidence for Cincinnati to be in the Sugar Bowl. The Ambassador Hotel was in very poor shape. Our room was dirty with mold on the wall in the bathroom and scum under the shower mat. There were nails poking up through the hardwood floor. I ripped one of my socks and was grateful they did not cut my foot. The beds were extremely hard and made us ache (We are 29 and 31 and in good shape). The comforters were old and the sheets had holes in them. The staff seemed very poorly trained with little or no follow through. We were given our room key without directions to the elevator on the backside of the hotel. We were wandering around the third floor in the wrong area of the hotel. The other elevator was extremely difficult to find and the staff should direct guests for first time use. We asked for coffee two days in a row before we received it. We asked for an extra blanket and were told there were none. I have NEVER stayed at a hotel and had an experience even close to this one. We normally book four stars through another online travel site. I will never go back to that hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Snug Harbor is a great place to feel like a local and see live New Orleans jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainriders
Jonesboro, AR
Jan 4, 2010

Very convenient

This was our first trip to New Orleans so we weren't familiar with the area and we weren't sure if we had chosen wisely. However, upon arriving on the train, we discovered that the hotel was only about 8 blocks from the station and was only 3 blocks from Canal Street. It was very convenient, not too close, not too far. The only thing that would make it better would be a streetcar route. The king-size bed was comfortable but fell on us the first night (not what you're thinking)! I had to help the maintenance man repair it. However, when we called the desk they sent someone very quickly. We missed having a micro-fridge (we could have rented a fridge for $20 per night) because we like to eat in the room some but that was not too inconvenient. The staff was very helpful (however the doorman was a little annoying) and courteous. We didn't try the in-house steak restaurant/bar but several people did and seemed to be enjoying themselves. I'm not a fitness buff but I was disappointed that theirs was closed. Overall the experience was very positive and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the casino, 3 blocks from Canal Street (acclaimed to be the widest main street in the U.S.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, MS
Dec 27, 2009

Amazing!

Huge room that felt more like a suite. Great location to uptown, magazine street, garden district, french quarter and Emerils is only three blocks away! Great value and recommended to anyone traveling to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, La.
Dec 21, 2009

Horrible Experience

I originally had requested 2 rooms 2 beds each. However [...] changed it to 2 rooms 1 king each. When we arrived they tried giving us 2 rooms with 1 double bed in each room. Room was very unclean and they offered us a roll away that was filthy. Furthermore the linens they provided were balled up and thrown on the floor and appeared to been used. We left the hotel and went to Holiday Inn and demanded a refund which they denied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top