$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We <3 to travel
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 22, 2010

A New Orleans hidden treasure!

The hotel was in am amazing location, a block from the casino and only 3 blocks from bourbon street. In one day wee walked tothe farmers market, all along the river walk, and our hotel was never too far away. The room was amazing very cute and quaint. Well worth the price and cant beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Mar 21, 2010

"Best for Your Budget"

The staff was a toss up. One day we had super friendly, amazing people and the next they were insulting and rude. However, for students on a budget it was ideal! perfect location (only a few blocks from canal and bourbon) and the rooms were pleasant. I definitely recommend this hotel for a few friends looking to stay a few nights in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Mar 20, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

The Ambassador Hotel did not disappoint on my vacation. I would recommend it if you are looking for a location that is right in the middle of the action of New Orleans. It is extremely close to the casino, and only about a 3 minute walk to Canal St. and a 10-15 minute walk to the St. Louis Cathedral. Finding the place was simple and the check-in was fast and simple, as was the valet parking. My room was on the 1st floor with carpet, and was clean upon arrival with no noticeable mildew, bugs, or stains of any kind. It has really nice high ceilings and a window as promised... but it was a view of an air conditioning unit. No big deal. Everyday the maids cleaned our rooms and provided fresh towels and linens. The staff was friendly and helped out when they were asked. Never got to check out the breakfast, was always out to eat in the morning. Overall, I got exactly what I paid for. Positives greatly outweighed the negatives. Only complaints was the noise made at night of guests walking on the wood floors above us (the air conditioning mostly silenced the noise) and that the maid came to our door twice the day we checked out, and 10am & 11am, to ask us if we were leaving yet.A little too pushy for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Mother's restaurant. The line can grow quickly, but moves fast. Walk out the hotel doors, take a left, and you will run right into it when you cross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prairieville, LA
Mar 15, 2010

Anniversary Weekend

It was me and my Husbands first Anniversary so we walked to the riverwalk, to the french quaters, to Bourbon, and we walked the river.. The hotel is in a great spot for you to walk around the whole town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kullguti
Business
Gonzales, LA
Mar 10, 2010

Really good place to stay

Loved it, stay there often. Location, rooms, interior, just love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Mar 9, 2010

Quirky hotel with good value

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and we were prepared for the things that might be a bit unusual. We knew they had rooms that have no windows so we asked for a window. We knew about the $7.95/day that covers the internet and the fitness room and the internet service worked easily and perfectly and the Fitness Room was clean and adequately equipped. The charge wasn't excessive with our internet discount. We knew about the parking charge which may seem high at $39/day, but for the area is not, but we had free parking in our room rate. We also got a river cruise included in our rate and we enjoyed that too, 2 1/2 hours with a battlefield stop, from a pier within easy walking distance of the hotel. Our room was medium-sized and everything was clean. The decor is unusual with unfinished walls showing bricks, but it adds to the historical character. The construction is probably not the newest, but it caused us no problems. The staff service was outstanding and friendly. They answered questions on restaurants and printed out menus for us, gave us maps, and the valet service was prompt, considering they had to walk at least a block to get our car and had to go around the block to pull it up. They warned us about noise and gave us room choices before we had a problem. All in all we were quite happy with this hotel and the location is easy walking distance to Harrahs, and the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed both Mother's, for breakfast and po boys and a hurry-up style all their own, just a few doors down from the hotel. We also enjoed Mulate's for dinner a several blocks walk from the hotel. Great traditional Cajun food in a casual environment with live music every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola,Florida
Mar 8, 2010

So Good....Stayed One EXTRA Day!!

1st Nite was in a Standard Queen room due to lack of availabilty, it was Small but comfortable. I spoke with Desk and was able to move into a VERY Large 1 Bedroom KING Suite at same rate for the next day [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Park the car and walk or use taxi $5 per person in leu of finding parking and/or paying parking ticket...still will need to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honorably Woman
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 1, 2010

Historically Classic Experience

The walls are a little thin. I could here the next doors neighbor's TV. Also the window are not tented so I could let in the light like I wanted to. But the structure of the building was nice, simple, but I wouldnt change a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATL Runner
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 1, 2010

Read [...] Fine Writing

We were charged a mandatory $7.95 per day fee for unlimited internet, local phone calls, business center, pool, etc. Possibly it was stated somewhere on the page when I booked through [...], but I don't recall. If it was, it was probably in very fine print or a link to some lengthy terms and conditions. After going to the hotel's web site, it is clearly stated on the bottom of their page that this fee is in addition to the nightly fee, so I don't wrong the hotel for people that book direct, but the clarity between [...] and the hotel is lacking and is deceiving. I also was suppose to have free parking per [...] and after they attempted to charge me, the made the correction. Additionally, we were suppose to have 2 river boat tickets with our [...] booking and had to ask to get those. The hotel staff was very friendly and this hotel is really cool because of how unique the interior brick and wood floors make it a true New Orleans style hotel. My main complaint is the gap in communication between the hotel and [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Rich in history, poor in cleaning

The location is good, especially if you are at the convention center by day and French Quarter by night. However, it was very noisy: you could hear every door close. The bathroom showed evidence of signficant water leaks and moldy/crumbling drywall. My window looked out over a brickwall not farther than 18 inches away. They also have significant rescheduling charges, so keep that in mind if you don't have firm travel plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top