$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Venezuelan voting in NOLA
Business
Miami, Florida
Oct 11, 2012

Not worth it

I stayed at this hote during the Venezuelan elections in New Orleans. I paid about $150 per night and it was definitely not worth it. The rooms are very old, and are not well maintained. For example, I noticed that they had not cleaned the bathroom in the room I was initially assigned. You can find better hotels in the area. Also, at the time of the check-out, they could not give me the receipt because "the printer was down", so I gave them my e-mail, and I am still waiting for my receipt. Finally, you have to pay $10.00 daily for internet, which they call 'ammenities", and which is a "manndatory fee", but the internet was down most of the times.....Find a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

NOLA!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pfc wintergreen
Business
New Orleans
Oct 16, 2012

Cockroaches and mold here

Most rooms don't have windows and we had to move three times here, twice for mold everywhere and once when we had cockroaches in our room. If the entire city wasn't sold out for the SFN conference we would have changed hotels - which is the only thing the manager told us to do. He was unsympathetic and could not care less that our room had cockroaches. Unbelievable. This place is truly a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste your money by staying here, there are plenty of hotels in the area that aren't filthy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ACha
Business
Montpelier, VT
Nov 6, 2012

Horrible Experience

They gave me a key to a room when I checked in and when I opened the door, someone was sleeping in the bed! This is one of the sleaziest hotels I've ever stayed in. People in the rooms were screaming at 4 in the morning and the place was filthy. I have strong trepidation about ever using this service again. Parking across the street was $30/day and when I checked out they tried to tack on a charge for a fitness room and business services. There was no fitness room and no business services that I could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Carol
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 19, 2013

New Orleans Nightmare 2013

i will never stay or recomment this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jearnee McGuin
Business
New Orleans,La
Jun 19, 2013

Rip off!! Unauthorized charges on my account

After telling and showing the attendant the breakfast was included in the package he charged me. He also charged me for parking when I didn't park at the hotel. When I checked out it was refunded on the receipt . One day later, it was put back into my account and then taken back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Rich in history, poor in cleaning

The location is good, especially if you are at the convention center by day and French Quarter by night. However, it was very noisy: you could hear every door close. The bathroom showed evidence of signficant water leaks and moldy/crumbling drywall. My window looked out over a brickwall not farther than 18 inches away. They also have significant rescheduling charges, so keep that in mind if you don't have firm travel plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jun 14, 2010

Never Again!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because it seemed like a good hotel, for a fair price, not far from the New Orleans Arena. Great. But...it ended there. We arrived to check in, and the Rep checking us in got a phone call from an apparently 'lost' hotel customer asking for directions. She smirked, rolled her eyes, and then laughed at them when they hung up. Evidently, in her lack of professionalism haze...she also didn't activate my hotel room keys, as neither of them worked. After going to our room and discovering that they didn't work, I had to go back to the lobby, upon which time I stumbled upon a HUUUGE roach in the hall...and the room keys was inconveniently fixed by the same Rep. Once we were able to get in our room, I turned the AC down to 65 degrees before we left for our evening out. When we arrived back in our room after about 7 hours away…the thermostat was reading about 75 degrees in our room….so I turned it down to 55 degrees. We were hot all evening...and when we woke up...it was 80 degrees in our room! (a far cry from the 55 that it was set on!) The AC ran all night,(or at least it sounded like it did) but clearly, had something wrong with it. The hallway was significantly cooler than our room. When we walked out to check out, my boyfriend say "We should have slept in the hallway. It's cooler in here". It probably would've been more quiet as well! Around 4am and again at about 5am...it sounded like someone fell out of bed multiple times and was going to come crashing through the ceiling on the floor above us. I'm assuming it was just someone slamming doors....or perhaps they were beating their heads against the wall, because their AC wasn't working either. In June in New Orleans…the last thing you want…is an AC that doesn't work! Whatever the case...we did not sleep! Oh...and not to be forgotten how incredibly uncomfortable the beds were. We were on the first level....room #170...and could hear every car, truck or bicycle that passed our room outside. Checkout time was at 11am. While I was packing up our belongings, Housekeeping was banging on our door at 10:25am asking if we were checked out yet. I responded to her "No...I don't plan on leaving until 11am....when I am required to be out...thank you!" Trust me lady…if I could've packed up faster to avoid the sweltering heat in my room, I would have! My boyfriend summed it up best when he said "This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had." [...] I am DEFINITELY NEVER staying here again. I am fairly tollerant of hotels, but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, texas
Dec 5, 2009

Not all it appears to be..

In the fine print "A required $7.95 communication fee is charged to each reservation that provides in room Internet access, unlimited long distance calls, unlimited access to 24 hour Fitness Center, and usage as well as insurance up to $20,000.00 on in room digital safes." I used none of these services but was required, after objecting to pay it.....should be optional....surly staff, restaurant is not part of hotel (cannot charge to room), old worn out furniture in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2011

LC

Left quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon, MS
Aug 8, 2010

Horrible absolutely horrible.

I booked two rooms, I was given rooms that were suppose to be non-smoking but wreaked of smoke. The air-conditioners were broke and apparently the front desk knew this they were just hoping I wouldn't complain about it because the acted like they were going to send the maintenance guy but he never showed up because apparently he had already tried to fix it. They changed my room on my second call and put me in a room that had another broken air conditioner that they had rigged a portable ac unit in which could not cool the room, the maintenance man came in and rigged the exhaust out the window with towels. I packed my kids up and asked for a refund, in which the front desk was no help. I could not find another hotel, every one i tried was booked, so I had to cancel our whole vacation and drive four hours back home. It was a nightmare of an experience. [...] Also while trying to connect to the internet while waiting 40 MINUTES! for the valet to bring around my car I could only get two bars and only stay connected for seconds at a time, and the hotel charges you a mandatory $15 dollars for this internet service. Also the restaurant in the hotel was shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top