$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
277 reviews
Best Mardi Gras We Could Ask For!!

We got to the hotel early and were hoping they could get us in. They not only got us in early but... See full review

  • BabyGirlAggies
  • Feb 22, 2015
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
This room features a plush king bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Double Double
This room features 2 plush double beds , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Premium Queen
This room features a plush queen bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium King
This room features a plush king bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium Queen Queen
This room features 2 plush queen beds, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Deluxe Queen, Windowless
This interior room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Queen
This room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pfc wintergreen
Business
New Orleans
Oct 16, 2012

Cockroaches and mold here

Most rooms don't have windows and we had to move three times here, twice for mold everywhere and once when we had cockroaches in our room. If the entire city wasn't sold out for the SFN conference we would have changed hotels - which is the only thing the manager told us to do. He was unsympathetic and could not care less that our room had cockroaches. Unbelievable. This place is truly a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste your money by staying here, there are plenty of hotels in the area that aren't filthy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ACha
Business
Montpelier, VT
Nov 6, 2012

Horrible Experience

They gave me a key to a room when I checked in and when I opened the door, someone was sleeping in the bed! This is one of the sleaziest hotels I've ever stayed in. People in the rooms were screaming at 4 in the morning and the place was filthy. I have strong trepidation about ever using this service again. Parking across the street was $30/day and when I checked out they tried to tack on a charge for a fitness room and business services. There was no fitness room and no business services that I could see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Carol
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 19, 2013

New Orleans Nightmare 2013

i will never stay or recomment this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jearnee McGuin
Business
New Orleans,La
Jun 19, 2013

Rip off!! Unauthorized charges on my account

After telling and showing the attendant the breakfast was included in the package he charged me. He also charged me for parking when I didn't park at the hotel. When I checked out it was refunded on the receipt . One day later, it was put back into my account and then taken back out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa R
Business
Dayton
Jan 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel, huge let down

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel this past weekend (Thursday, January 16 – Sunday, January 19) and not only will I never stay there again but recommend no one else does. This hotel is not only extremely run down but the majority of the staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Upon checking in we were greeted with an unfriendly lady at the front desk. When I opened the door to our room my heart sank. It was clearly not the room I had reserved, which was a “Superior Double Queen” room. This room looked like a small, dark closest and had a lovely view of kitchen storage. I immediately walked back to the front desk and explained to the chipper female that this could not be the room I had reserved. According to the description/pictures the superior rooms were supposed to have wood floors and exposed brick. Instead of apologizing or explaining the female’s first response was, “well they don’t look like the pictures”. After I explained the major differences she agreed and said a new room would be ready at 4:00pm. We arrived back at the hotel and went up to our new room. By the description of a “superior” room this room was one but looked much different than the pictures. It had hard wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The room also had massive water damage that was poorly patched. The bathroom had major cracks around the shower and door. I understand part of the charm of the Ambassador is supposed to be its “old, authentic interior” but water damage and cracks should not be part of that. The bedding was cheap and the pillowcases had massacre stains. Honestly the Quality Inn by the airport we stayed at the night before was in better condition. Unfortunately the unfriendly female at the front desk was not the worst employee we came in contact with at the Ambassador. Thursday night we decided to stop in the attached bar, Lafayett’s. We took a seat at one of the high tables by the bar and waited for the red headed female bartender to greet us. After a few minutes she looked at us and said, “If you want a drink, you have to come to the bar. I am not a cocktail waitress and especially not when the bar is half full”. I was speechless. Clearly this lady missed the memo on good customer service or how to get tips. My boyfriend ordered a beer, drank it and we were out with in ten minutes. There were a few friendly employees but unfortunately the rude ones outweighed the good. The only positive thing I can say about the Ambassador is it in a good location, close to Harrah’s and the French Quarter. Overall a very disappointing stay and I wish I had listened to the other bad views I read before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Randy.
Business
Kabul, Afghanistan
Mar 18, 2011

R&R/Mardi Gras

Upon walking in to my first room, it looked like the room had just been slept in and left that way. I then called the front desk and was asked "What do you want me to do?" by the front desk attendant. I was moved into the last available king size bed room which was right on the front of the hotel and parallel with the side walk. When I spoke to the manager the next day, I was comped for my parking and then later charged for one of the two days anyways. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this hotel a 2, it brought down the overall experience of New Orleans and Mardi Gras. [...] The bartender at the bar did lean on my drinks a little though, best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must take a cab (because it's too cold to walk) do not ask them how much it is to get to Bourbon St, get in and tell them your destination. I was charged a flat rate of $12 and then a meter rate of $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Businessman
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 7, 2010

Not recommended for business

No one available to park the car so they called me later on in the room and I had to go downstairs to deliver keys for car left outside. Seven story public parking next door; hint. AC did not work but the ceiling fan did. The internet did not work; got it repaired and it worked for 1/2 hour then I gave up. Still was charged for two days use. The Continental breakfast was a Sara Lee coffee cake cut into tiny pieces and an urn of decent coffee. The shower worked and had hot water. If you want ancient 'ambiance' the Ambassador has plenty. And the computer did not work so they could not check me out when I left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid driving in downtown N.O.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, La.
Dec 21, 2009

Horrible Experience

I originally had requested 2 rooms 2 beds each. However [...] changed it to 2 rooms 1 king each. When we arrived they tried giving us 2 rooms with 1 double bed in each room. Room was very unclean and they offered us a roll away that was filthy. Furthermore the linens they provided were balled up and thrown on the floor and appeared to been used. We left the hotel and went to Holiday Inn and demanded a refund which they denied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2010

Moldy three star

This was a charming authentic looking New Orleans hotel from the outside,as well as the lobby and maybe some of the rooms...... but not ours! We were in a dungeon type room on the lowest floor with a window that looked out at a brick wall about two feet away. There was a constant knocking sound that required us to wear earplugs to get any sleep. The bathroom had rotten drywall and mold around the base of the bath tube area. We were told upon check-in that wireless internet was included, and then on check out charged 7.95 per day. There were no clothes hangers in the room so we asked and they had trouble coming up with any, but eventually gave us 6 wire hangers. We had friends staying other places not using a travel service who got better prices and much larger and nicer rooms. Not too great of an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top