$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teddybear71
Business
monterrey, nl
Aug 1, 2014

good location, reasonable price

Good location - Canal St, Riverfront and French Quarter are in walking distance; vintage style. No free parking available, valet costs $32 + tax per night. Josie, the guide at the desk in the lobby, is a very amiable person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experiment33
Business
South Florida
Jul 25, 2014

Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet spot. Beautiful older hotel with a lot of character an easy walk to the quarter. Good, inexpensive bar. Continental breakfast was nice to have. The exercise room was just enough to help us sweat out the toxins from the night before. Room was nice and quiet. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nola
May 28, 2014

nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Al3x
Business
Houston, tx
May 27, 2014

Good location .... That's all

The only thing I really likes was ... The location, and I guess that it had hot water lol, the very first impression was extremely noisy floors, inside the room... So I told myself well I can live with that, after a short 2 minutes I decided to try out the bed, it was the most uncomfortable and noisy bed I have ever slept on my whole life....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiger fan
Business
texas
May 22, 2014

Great stay. Good getaway

We have stayed here before so this was our third of forth stay. It's a wonderful location, rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We also enjoy the breakfast . They added a new waffle maker since we were there last and they were very good. It was a good upgrade. It was a wonderful stay and we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chief TC
Business
New Iberia, LA
May 20, 2014

Go somewhere else

Although it is built in an old warehouse, it is the poorest design of all the hotels in that same warehouse area. It's noisy, floors in rooms dirty, a/c does not work, beds uncomfortable. But worst of all the staff at front desk, upon checkout, very rude. Beware of an added $10 fee tagged on when you checkout for, supposedly, breakfast, internet, and local phone. You sign for it when you check in. So, the room rate is always $10 more than advertised on this site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood at Drago's in the Hilton riverside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bone01
Business
Alabama
Mar 10, 2014

Nola for Gras

Staff was nice and helpful. got the the room and didn't have any towels and wash cloths, but the staff brought some right up. the only complaint was the tricale of water that came out of the shower. not enough pressure to wash the soap off. everything else was great. cool rooms with exposed brick, but don't expect a view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
warrior20.05
Business
Indiana
Feb 24, 2014

Nice location, everything else needs help.

Hotel staff doesn't know much about what is going on in town. They couldn't provide accurate directions, or even tell us if the hotel was accessible due to parade closings. Rooms were dirty, the windows looked into a hall, no outside windows what so ever. There was a continental breakfast, that was cereal, muffins, toast, coffee, and milk. It was not restocked all morning, as we were in the room having a small meeting for 4 hours. The only good thing about the hotel was the location. And they had free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to the Quarter and Bourbon St. 8 min walk to the Aquarium. Casino right across the street. Good all around location in the CBD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Latin Lover 2014
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 17, 2014

Overall Average

My main concern was not even being in the reservation log when I arrived at hotel. If I didn't have my receipt they would've sent to the streets!! The cleanliness was not the best either. My experience in New Orleans was amazing. The hotel was experience was average and sometimes frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runner8489
Business
Houston
Feb 4, 2014

Perfect location, hotel needs updates

Stayed in Room 219 from 2/1/2014-2/3/2014. Room was cute with the brick on the walls. Bathroom was horrible. No counter space in bathroom and tub was gross. The towels are thin and very small. The weather was hot and muggy that weekend so we tried to turn in the AC and the room never cooled down. Be prepared to pay a $10 fee per night for the internet and breakfast. We never used the internet and breakfast was not good. Pastries, bread and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top