$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Personalitzzzzz......
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2012

Old style comfort, would stay again

Loved the historic quality of the rooms and hotel. Parking can be expensive (about 29 a night across the street, 36 for valet), but we were able to park on the street in the 2 hour and get away with it (the clerk said they sometimes ticket, sometimes they don't-we may have just lucked out). The hotel bar was reasonable and poured good martinis, and I enjoyed a perfect catfish po'boy. Our bath tub was huge, so wife poured herself a hot one. Very close the riverwalk, and in mild weather perfect walking distance to French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel bar was fantastic for it's price point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bone01
Alabama
Mar 10, 2014

Nola for Gras

Staff was nice and helpful. got the the room and didn't have any towels and wash cloths, but the staff brought some right up. the only complaint was the tricale of water that came out of the shower. not enough pressure to wash the soap off. everything else was great. cool rooms with exposed brick, but don't expect a view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
warrior20.05
Indiana
Feb 24, 2014

Nice location, everything else needs help.

Hotel staff doesn't know much about what is going on in town. They couldn't provide accurate directions, or even tell us if the hotel was accessible due to parade closings. Rooms were dirty, the windows looked into a hall, no outside windows what so ever. There was a continental breakfast, that was cereal, muffins, toast, coffee, and milk. It was not restocked all morning, as we were in the room having a small meeting for 4 hours. The only good thing about the hotel was the location. And they had free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to the Quarter and Bourbon St. 8 min walk to the Aquarium. Casino right across the street. Good all around location in the CBD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Latin Lover 2014
Los Angeles, California
Feb 17, 2014

Overall Average

My main concern was not even being in the reservation log when I arrived at hotel. If I didn't have my receipt they would've sent to the streets!! The cleanliness was not the best either. My experience in New Orleans was amazing. The hotel was experience was average and sometimes frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runner8489
Houston
Feb 4, 2014

Perfect location, hotel needs updates

Stayed in Room 219 from 2/1/2014-2/3/2014. Room was cute with the brick on the walls. Bathroom was horrible. No counter space in bathroom and tub was gross. The towels are thin and very small. The weather was hot and muggy that weekend so we tried to turn in the AC and the room never cooled down. Be prepared to pay a $10 fee per night for the internet and breakfast. We never used the internet and breakfast was not good. Pastries, bread and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elsa R
Dayton
Jan 20, 2014

Ambassador Hotel, huge let down

I stayed at the Ambassador hotel this past weekend (Thursday, January 16 – Sunday, January 19) and not only will I never stay there again but recommend no one else does. This hotel is not only extremely run down but the majority of the staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Upon checking in we were greeted with an unfriendly lady at the front desk. When I opened the door to our room my heart sank. It was clearly not the room I had reserved, which was a “Superior Double Queen” room. This room looked like a small, dark closest and had a lovely view of kitchen storage. I immediately walked back to the front desk and explained to the chipper female that this could not be the room I had reserved. According to the description/pictures the superior rooms were supposed to have wood floors and exposed brick. Instead of apologizing or explaining the female’s first response was, “well they don’t look like the pictures”. After I explained the major differences she agreed and said a new room would be ready at 4:00pm. We arrived back at the hotel and went up to our new room. By the description of a “superior” room this room was one but looked much different than the pictures. It had hard wood floors and an exposed brick wall. The room also had massive water damage that was poorly patched. The bathroom had major cracks around the shower and door. I understand part of the charm of the Ambassador is supposed to be its “old, authentic interior” but water damage and cracks should not be part of that. The bedding was cheap and the pillowcases had massacre stains. Honestly the Quality Inn by the airport we stayed at the night before was in better condition. Unfortunately the unfriendly female at the front desk was not the worst employee we came in contact with at the Ambassador. Thursday night we decided to stop in the attached bar, Lafayett’s. We took a seat at one of the high tables by the bar and waited for the red headed female bartender to greet us. After a few minutes she looked at us and said, “If you want a drink, you have to come to the bar. I am not a cocktail waitress and especially not when the bar is half full”. I was speechless. Clearly this lady missed the memo on good customer service or how to get tips. My boyfriend ordered a beer, drank it and we were out with in ten minutes. There were a few friendly employees but unfortunately the rude ones outweighed the good. The only positive thing I can say about the Ambassador is it in a good location, close to Harrah’s and the French Quarter. Overall a very disappointing stay and I wish I had listened to the other bad views I read before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luge
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Good

Good location But a little High Price no parking and break fast not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V1J1H1
Houston, Texas
Jan 2, 2014

Historic Look Location

If you're looking for a place to stay with a historic feel and take a step back in time, this is a great place. Despite this historic feel, it has very nice modern amenities, which is a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dginglas
Chicago
Dec 18, 2013

great

The location was great. Walk anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes. The staff was very friendly!!! It was clean, comfortable and we definatly enjoyed our stay and when we go back to new Orleans we would most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcadia!!!! Good food, arcade games and a fantastic staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hambone101
Arlington, Texas
Nov 25, 2013

Good Location, Spacious Rooms

The hotel although not in French Quarter just a few blocks away. This is near Harrah's Casino and Emeril's Resturant. Staff was friendly. Not a fancy hotel but very nice. Beds were great as well, that really is quite nice. Definitely give it a solid 4 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarolX
Oakland, California
Nov 6, 2013

Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would definitely come back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of cool things that were going on were all nearby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top