$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attalla, Al. 35954
Apr 30, 2010

friendly, awesome employees, decor outst

There is probably not enough words to describe the atmosphere. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elyria, Ohio
Apr 28, 2010

Great Hotel and service was great!!

Walking up to the Hotel was like France and stepping inside was like Jamaica. Staff was very nice and informative. They really know how to make you feel at home. Rooms were really pretty. Nice and quiet too. Great location. If I go back that's where I'm staying!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right off Bourbon St. and walking distance to everything..and not in the crazy part of the French quarter. I really enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glo, MA
Apr 28, 2010

Not a good experience

[...] Also, we were not informed that there was a charge to park of $29 per night plus another $8 per day for Cont breakfast and internet. We did not eat breakfast there.This hotel was very, very basic. However, we did like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Apr 26, 2010

Nice Location

Great location, nice restaurant on site. I was annoyed that I had to pay an additional $7.95 per night for 'services'. It isn't much but it was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away Mothers restaurant was worth the trip-

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 19, 2010

Moldy three star

This was a charming authentic looking New Orleans hotel from the outside,as well as the lobby and maybe some of the rooms...... but not ours! We were in a dungeon type room on the lowest floor with a window that looked out at a brick wall about two feet away. There was a constant knocking sound that required us to wear earplugs to get any sleep. The bathroom had rotten drywall and mold around the base of the bath tube area. We were told upon check-in that wireless internet was included, and then on check out charged 7.95 per day. There were no clothes hangers in the room so we asked and they had trouble coming up with any, but eventually gave us 6 wire hangers. We had friends staying other places not using a travel service who got better prices and much larger and nicer rooms. Not too great of an experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Apr 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Friendly staff both at hotel and bar. Valet parking was a little slow upon arrival. Great location within walking distance of the riverwalk and bourbon street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Funky Pirate on bourbon street, blues masters were awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Apr 16, 2010

OK for the price

First time in New Orleans and we weren't sure where to stay. We picked this place based on the price of the room and the photos on the website. Our check in was delayed because we wanted a room with a window. That window ended up being about 3'x3' and didn't open. There were also security bars on the window because the room was on the bottom floor facing a back alley. The hotel was clean, but old and a bit delapidated. The rooms are not well insulated and we were able to hear all of the activities of our neighbors. Cable TV service and the TV were average for the type of hotel. I didn't like the mandatory $7.95 wifi/phone fee the hotel makes you pay since I didn't use the service. The hotel was reasonably outside the French Quarter and we were able to walk to everywhere we needed to go. I would stay there again if the price is right, but I would also look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SGTSCHU
Business
Madison,WI
Apr 13, 2010

A great place to stay.

Traveling with 4 children and got 2 rooms, each with 2 beds. Although not adjoining, they were across the hall from each other and were still convenient. They were both not the same size or equipped the same. However, we didn't care if the coffee maker was on a stand or on a shelf. One room had a couch, the other didn't, even though it had the room for it. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. Plenty of towels and hot water for showers! Both rooms were clean and furnishings were appropriate for the character of the hotel. TV was good sized with good array of programming to wind on with. Although some noises were heard from hallway or adjoining rooms, didn't really bother me. I didn't care for the blinds to cover the window on the door to the hallway(privacy). Also, rooms were on the interior so no windows, so they were a little dark at times. Breakfast wasn't much more that coffee cake and mini-muffins...pretty light. Will I stay again, in a heartbeat!!! The hotel staff were all VERY friendly and always willing to help. The bar/restaurant in the hotel has a joyful staff and great food, for a decent price. Will this rival Harrah's, no way. Can we all afford to stay at Harrah's....? In short, a friendly hotel, clean rooms, hot showers, in a great location, for a great price. What more are you looking for??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food downstairs....gotta have a Poboy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fan of Mothers' Restaurant
Business
San Diego
Apr 8, 2010

Good location

It was good. We really liked the location. It was within easy walking distance from the French Quarter, but it was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mothers Restaurant. It is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim in NWA
Business
Northwest Arkansas
Apr 7, 2010

Awesome Deal and First Class Hotel

When we arrived at the hotel lobby we were quickly blown away by the outstanding service of hotel personnel. The overall ambience was impressive with the newly renovated appearance of Old New Orleans faithfully preserved in the aged brick walls, wrought iron works, cherry cabinetry, and hard wood floors. The rooms were spacious, with vaulted ceilings, hard wood floors, beautiful furniture, and awesome water pressure in the shower. The best part of our stay was its excellent location, just a little under a mile away from Bourbon Street, and just blocks away from Canal. For the price of 59.99 a night, this was by far the best package I have ever received on a trip and I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and associates. Awesome indeed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top