$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
436 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boogieman
Ramsey, MN
Sep 10, 2010

What a beatiful place

We walked into a beautiful hotel...we rode in on our motorcycle from Jackson MS. We were tired and was ready to rest. We were welcomed and checked in right away. They wanted to make sure that we had what we needed. They were so nice and seemed interested in you as a person, not just a client. When we asked advise or direction they went above and beyond to make sure that you received what you needed to have a successful trip. The room was so classy and clean. The view was awesome. At night we were away from the noise so we could sleep. We were able to walk to all exhibits or destinations. Not to mention great coffee. Thank you Ambassador Hotel for a five star stay. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 7, 2010

so unhappy here we left a day early

Where to start? After a long drive from Houston all we wanted to do when we got there @ 1am was get right in and sleep. Checking in was not easy. The staff couldn't give clear instructions about what to do for the valet, which consisted of one person. The bar next to the lobby had music so loud you couldn't hear the person at the counter. The 1st room they put us in had a ladder and there was ceiling plaster all over the bed. After going back to check in went to another room which was freezing only to find out it had the two most uncomfortable, noisy beds we'd ever slept in. You could not wiggle your toes without it sounding like styrofoam being crushed. The room only had 2 temps. Hot & freezing. The bathroom was small and in need of being sprayed with a lot of Tilex. We disliked it so much it pretty much ruined the trip for us so we ate the cost and left a whole day early. We were also told not to leave any valuables in our room because they might get stolen. If your staff is that bad why not fire them and hire honest people instead of warning your guests they will be stolen from? This is one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's, the French Quarter and great dining all within walking distance

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tntnascargirl
Vidalia, GA
Sep 5, 2010

Wonderful time!!!

We wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary. When reading ratings we were apprehensive about this hotel; however, when we got there we were very happy. The staff went out ouf their way to make sure we were happy. The room was awesome. Brick walls, dark hardwood flooring. First floor level room, large bathroom, very comfortable. They even took the time to make resrvations for the civil war cruise and we walked right up to the window and our tickets were right there. We didn't get to eat in the dining room, but we will definately be back and look forward to their chef's menu. A special thank you to the entire staff for making the first two nights of our anniversary vacation a special one!!! T. Summers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tntnascargirl
Vidalia, GA
Sep 5, 2010

Wonderful time!!!

We wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary. When reading ratings we were apprehensive about this hotel; however, when we got there we were very happy. The staff went out ouf their way to make sure we were happy. The room was awesome. Brick walls, dark hardwood flooring. First floor level room, large bathroom, very comfortable. They even took the time to make resrvations for the civil war cruise and we walked right up to the window and our tickets were right there. We didn't get to eat in the dining room, but we will definately be back and look forward to their chef's menu. A special thank you to the entire staff for making the first two nights of our anniversary vacation a special one!!! T. Summers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Cool but not extroadinary

about a mile from Bourbon so very convenient if youre there to party. The rooms look much bigger in the pictures and we had two rooms in two towers both had one window facing a brick wall. Made us laugh. Staff is ok but Valet takes about 15 minutes to check in and 15 to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Cool but not extroadinary

about a mile from Bourbon so very convenient if youre there to party. The rooms look much bigger in the pictures and we had two rooms in two towers both had one window facing a brick wall. Made us laugh. Staff is ok but Valet takes about 15 minutes to check in and 15 to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 13, 2010

A hotel that is rich in history

I liked the old New Orleans atmosphere and the French furniture and wood floors. The staff was nice but the desk clerk was very inept. The first room she gave us had someone else's luggage in it. This was very disturbing. We were reassigned to another room where the air conditioner did not work properly and was very warm and humid. There was also a very loud high frequency noise that was unbearable. I was assigned a third room and it was very satisfactory. If I had been given this room the first time I would have a very different impression of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 13, 2010

A hotel that is rich in history

I liked the old New Orleans atmosphere and the French furniture and wood floors. The staff was nice but the desk clerk was very inept. The first room she gave us had someone else's luggage in it. This was very disturbing. We were reassigned to another room where the air conditioner did not work properly and was very warm and humid. There was also a very loud high frequency noise that was unbearable. I was assigned a third room and it was very satisfactory. If I had been given this room the first time I would have a very different impression of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ponchatoula, LA.
Aug 11, 2010

Old Charm, Bad Smell

The room was as described. It had a funny smell, but there was an Ionizer in the room once we turned it off it was much better. It was very noisy, but so is New Orleans. One Major complaint was parking. It was supposed to be free with the deal we booked. What they fail to tell you is its first come first serve. So we had to park next door and pay 30.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top