$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 23, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
277 reviews
Best Mardi Gras We Could Ask For!!

We got to the hotel early and were hoping they could get us in. They not only got us in early but... See full review

  • BabyGirlAggies
  • Feb 22, 2015
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
This room features a plush king bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Double Double
This room features 2 plush double beds , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Premium Queen
This room features a plush queen bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium King
This room features a plush king bed, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Premium Queen Queen
This room features 2 plush queen beds, original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair. Room is handicap accessible.
Deluxe Queen, Windowless
This interior room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.
Deluxe Queen
This room features a plush queen bed , original hardwood floors, exposed original brick and beam elements, ceiling fan, high speed internet access, in-room safe, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and large writing desk with chair.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamchsr
Holt, FL
Aug 5, 2012

Comfortable homey feeling

We stayed only one night with our granddaughters and it was very comfortable. We were able to walk to our destinations with New Orleans and not incur additional costs for parking or cabs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans Power Pass pick-up is only a few blocks away. Pickup your ticket and the attractions surround you. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jul 5, 2010

"Fasinating Place

There was no refreeze

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a good pair of walking shoes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
Jul 2, 2010

Going down hill

When I stayed at this place in the summer of 2008 it was much better. Either I got a bad room or they have not keep the place up to previous standards which were pretty good 2 years ago. Maybe it's under new management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French quarter is close by. Stay away from Bourbon St unless you want to experience cheap, college boy party atmosphere. Bourbon St betrays all that I remember as good about New Orleans. Go to Frenchman St just outside the quarter for a better time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2010

Just a little off. . . .

Although the room was fine and had a bit more charm than a chain might, the experience was a little off. For example, the hard wood floors buckled in the middle of the room, which meant that we regularly were tripping - humourous the first time, but can get old. The window looked out onto a brick wall, which made it really dark in the room. The lighting in the room was nice, but the bed was not very firm. The hotel was clean. The problem with it being understaffed was perhaps the major problem. There was no open restaurant on site - not a huge problem except when one wants coffee in the morning - and although we were close to Canal street, we still had to several blocks to get coffee. Also, the front desk staff were not prepared with suggeestions for places to eat, sending us down wrong streets and blocks. The valet and parking service is nice to have, but they only had one valet working at a time, which meant that there was a huge back up of people waiting when we checked out. For the price, the location was nice as we were situated right in between the French Quarter and the Warehouse district. We did not have to use our car at all while exploring these areas. We still had a nice time in New Orleans, and the hotel wasn't horrible, bue we will not likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we were on the hunt for coffee, we did find PJs. If you walk north on Canal Street past the Starbucks in the Sheraton, PJs will be on your left. The coffee, chai and bagels were yummy, and the service friendly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cleanthesheets
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 21, 2010

Good Price, Good Location, Rustic Hotel

Before I arrived I asked about parking and I was not received well on the phone. I did not realize that I had free Valet parking until I read the [...] details. I was nervous about someone parking my car but everything worked out...Thank God! After I arrived everthing went great! Their was one surprise fee of $7.95 per night for the use of fitness room, business room, etc which I did not use any of it.Bring your own sheets because we were bitten a few times by something in the bedding...scary! Other than that it was a great place, great location, great price... Just needs a little extra care. Surrounded by big expensive hotels...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oliver Springs, TN
Jun 21, 2010

Tool Concert

The hotel was great. walking distance from main attractions of New Orleans like Bourbon street and the French quarter. Lots of live music lots of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

plan to stay at least 2 days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welderremie
Business
lake charles louisiana
Jun 20, 2010

really really good hotel

it was a great hotel with very helpful staff and they were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Jun 14, 2010

Never Again!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because it seemed like a good hotel, for a fair price, not far from the New Orleans Arena. Great. But...it ended there. We arrived to check in, and the Rep checking us in got a phone call from an apparently 'lost' hotel customer asking for directions. She smirked, rolled her eyes, and then laughed at them when they hung up. Evidently, in her lack of professionalism haze...she also didn't activate my hotel room keys, as neither of them worked. After going to our room and discovering that they didn't work, I had to go back to the lobby, upon which time I stumbled upon a HUUUGE roach in the hall...and the room keys was inconveniently fixed by the same Rep. Once we were able to get in our room, I turned the AC down to 65 degrees before we left for our evening out. When we arrived back in our room after about 7 hours away…the thermostat was reading about 75 degrees in our room….so I turned it down to 55 degrees. We were hot all evening...and when we woke up...it was 80 degrees in our room! (a far cry from the 55 that it was set on!) The AC ran all night,(or at least it sounded like it did) but clearly, had something wrong with it. The hallway was significantly cooler than our room. When we walked out to check out, my boyfriend say "We should have slept in the hallway. It's cooler in here". It probably would've been more quiet as well! Around 4am and again at about 5am...it sounded like someone fell out of bed multiple times and was going to come crashing through the ceiling on the floor above us. I'm assuming it was just someone slamming doors....or perhaps they were beating their heads against the wall, because their AC wasn't working either. In June in New Orleans…the last thing you want…is an AC that doesn't work! Whatever the case...we did not sleep! Oh...and not to be forgotten how incredibly uncomfortable the beds were. We were on the first level....room #170...and could hear every car, truck or bicycle that passed our room outside. Checkout time was at 11am. While I was packing up our belongings, Housekeeping was banging on our door at 10:25am asking if we were checked out yet. I responded to her "No...I don't plan on leaving until 11am....when I am required to be out...thank you!" Trust me lady…if I could've packed up faster to avoid the sweltering heat in my room, I would have! My boyfriend summed it up best when he said "This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had." [...] I am DEFINITELY NEVER staying here again. I am fairly tollerant of hotels, but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asgeir101
Business
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2010

Nice hotel for the price

We were first put in a room that had a lot of noice from a pipe on the wall. A call to the front desk was enough to get us moved to another roo which was very nice. The hotels location is good as it is close to the French quarter (8 min walk), but far enough away so that it is quit during the night. The staff was friendly and helpful but they took a long time to respond to our requests (ie waiting for 15 min. for the bellboy to come up with the new room keys). Valet parking was included which saved us a lot of money as downtown parking isn't cheap. Overal we were satisfied with the hotel for the price we payed and would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntsville, AL
Jun 8, 2010

all good

easy walk to the riverfront and french quarter with free street parking on the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check online at www.nola.com/entertainment to find festivals and other events

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 5, 2010

Great Place to Stay

Good location. Close to French Quarter but not so close to be disturbed by those there to party. Walking distance to cable cars for ride to Garden District. Easy walk to Riverwalk, French Quarter and Harrah's Casino. We only took our car out one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's is great for breakfast, but get there before 9:00 am to get the Early Bird Special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top