$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisiana
Jun 14, 2010

Never Again!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because it seemed like a good hotel, for a fair price, not far from the New Orleans Arena. Great. But...it ended there. We arrived to check in, and the Rep checking us in got a phone call from an apparently 'lost' hotel customer asking for directions. She smirked, rolled her eyes, and then laughed at them when they hung up. Evidently, in her lack of professionalism haze...she also didn't activate my hotel room keys, as neither of them worked. After going to our room and discovering that they didn't work, I had to go back to the lobby, upon which time I stumbled upon a HUUUGE roach in the hall...and the room keys was inconveniently fixed by the same Rep. Once we were able to get in our room, I turned the AC down to 65 degrees before we left for our evening out. When we arrived back in our room after about 7 hours away…the thermostat was reading about 75 degrees in our room….so I turned it down to 55 degrees. We were hot all evening...and when we woke up...it was 80 degrees in our room! (a far cry from the 55 that it was set on!) The AC ran all night,(or at least it sounded like it did) but clearly, had something wrong with it. The hallway was significantly cooler than our room. When we walked out to check out, my boyfriend say "We should have slept in the hallway. It's cooler in here". It probably would've been more quiet as well! Around 4am and again at about 5am...it sounded like someone fell out of bed multiple times and was going to come crashing through the ceiling on the floor above us. I'm assuming it was just someone slamming doors....or perhaps they were beating their heads against the wall, because their AC wasn't working either. In June in New Orleans…the last thing you want…is an AC that doesn't work! Whatever the case...we did not sleep! Oh...and not to be forgotten how incredibly uncomfortable the beds were. We were on the first level....room #170...and could hear every car, truck or bicycle that passed our room outside. Checkout time was at 11am. While I was packing up our belongings, Housekeeping was banging on our door at 10:25am asking if we were checked out yet. I responded to her "No...I don't plan on leaving until 11am....when I am required to be out...thank you!" Trust me lady…if I could've packed up faster to avoid the sweltering heat in my room, I would have! My boyfriend summed it up best when he said "This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had." [...] I am DEFINITELY NEVER staying here again. I am fairly tollerant of hotels, but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asgeir101
New York, NY
Jun 10, 2010

Nice hotel for the price

We were first put in a room that had a lot of noice from a pipe on the wall. A call to the front desk was enough to get us moved to another roo which was very nice. The hotels location is good as it is close to the French quarter (8 min walk), but far enough away so that it is quit during the night. The staff was friendly and helpful but they took a long time to respond to our requests (ie waiting for 15 min. for the bellboy to come up with the new room keys). Valet parking was included which saved us a lot of money as downtown parking isn't cheap. Overal we were satisfied with the hotel for the price we payed and would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
huntsville, AL
Jun 8, 2010

all good

easy walk to the riverfront and french quarter with free street parking on the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

check online at www.nola.com/entertainment to find festivals and other events

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Jun 5, 2010

Great Place to Stay

Good location. Close to French Quarter but not so close to be disturbed by those there to party. Walking distance to cable cars for ride to Garden District. Easy walk to Riverwalk, French Quarter and Harrah's Casino. We only took our car out one time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's is great for breakfast, but get there before 9:00 am to get the Early Bird Special.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando,FL
Jun 1, 2010

Great Location

Great location for those needing to be near the convention center and 5 minute walk to center of french quarter. Area around hotel including the walk to the convention center and french quarter very clean and safe which was surprising considering the cost of the hotel. I have been to New Orleans several times and this was the cleanest and safest place I have stayed for the price. Bathrooms are very clean as well as the rooms. Wood floors and brick walls kept after renovations make it unique. Hotel staff were very nice. Please be aware of the $8 daily service charge (for wireless internet, fitness room access, etc) everyone is required to pay which is not included in the initial bill when you reserve a room. Could be upsetting if you did not know beforehand and don't even plan to use these services. Still, it's actually a good price for wireless access compared to most hotels. The wood floors although cool, can be a bit noisy if guests in adjacent rooms are wearing hard soled shoes since the walls can be a little thin. Otherwise, it is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nashville Nomad
Nashville, TN
Jun 1, 2010

Classy and clean

The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, and the atmosphere was slightly rustic. It was a reasonably short walk to the Quarter, and the restaurant in the hotel had excellent bloody mary's! Very pleased with this affordable and cozy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Memorial Day getaway

I made reservations week in advance for king. got a queen in room with no window to exterior. Upon request to change was denied. Felt had there been a fire in the hall outside the glass door of the room, that also had no window to the outside, there would have been no way to excape. No internet the first day but charged anyway. Felt staff did not act due to booking on [...]. Said nothing they could do. I will not only never stay at this dump but my suggestion is that people pay the little extra, regardless of the deal they are offering and stay someplace nice. This room would not even be worth the stay if it had been free. Would not expect the management of this hotel to care about this review since they made no attempt after 2 calls to make any changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Harrah's casino is close by.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Too High Maintenance
Waynesville, MO
Jun 1, 2010

Nice

After a long trip to the hotel we just wanted to find out how to use the valet service. The staff was not rude but I definitely wouldn't consider them friendly! They did hold our bags for us since we arrived early and allowed us to check in slightly before check-in when we returned. The room was ADORABLE with the huge windows, high ceilings, exposed brick and antique looking decor. The bathroom could definitely use some help (although it was clean it was just old with some chips/cracks that made it appear worn). The hotel is in a great location to Harrah's and the Riverwalk as well as the Children's Museum...you are quite a few blocks from attractions such as Jackson Square and Cafe Du Monde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

When we asked where kids were welcome in New Orleans we were told of all the attractions which were closed after 7. If you will be out later in the evening with children stay OFF Bourbon street. Other areas such as Jackson Square (St. Louis Cathedral) are kid friendly.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
french rose
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Traveler beware

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The A/C did not work or was very inadequate, and when you're staying in New Orleans, that's the last thing you want breaking down in your hotel. It seems to be a constant problem at this hotel as we search older guest reviews and saw the same complaints. There is a $29/day charge for valet parking that was not listed on the website in addition to a daily amenity charge of $7.98 for wi-fi and business services (which we didn't use). The hotel is not near Bourbon street as the website claims, but is closer to Harrah's Casino and is about a .75 mile walk to Bourbon Street. The staff was unfriendly, unwelcoming, and insufficient for the amount of guests. We tried to check out of the hotel a day early (due to the lack of A/C) and were told we would still be charged for the day regardless if we checked out. The hotel and rooms have a nice atmosphere (one of the reasons we selected it), and while clean, need some serious updating as there was mold and stained grout in the bathroom with molded acoustic tiles in the ceiling. Lighting was also poor in our bathroom. Overall, we gave this hotel 2 stars because of its atmosphere and the price. Nevertheless, we will not be staying here again if our travels take us back to New Orleans, and we would caution any one else who is considering staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1 mile from the hotel is Cafe du Monde. It is well worth the walk along the river (drive or trolly) to get beignets and a cafe au lait. It was a highlight of the trip. **Cash only**

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
tn
May 27, 2010

good price for the location

the only thing I did not like was the fact we had to pay for telephone/internet services and fitness center which we never used. I think you should be only charged if you use it. We stayed for 3 days and had to pay the $7.95 for each day for these services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search