$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whyisthisrequired
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2013

Good deal

Decent place and friendly staff. There were many amenities--compact but comprehensive gym, free printing, and free wireless. However, the breakfast was lame, the elevators function at random, and the lighting in the room was less than desired. Still, a better deal and a beautiful interior than many nearby hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
P'cola, Fl
Aug 2, 2010

Great location- Bad beds

We went to the convention center for a show. Hotel was great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life in Style
Business
Gadsden AL
Jul 30, 2010

Not the Ritz but good enough

This hotel is in a great location. Staff was great and Pete the bellhop treated you like you owned the place. This was our second stay and enjoyed both times. We think for the price it a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo
Jul 24, 2010

Ok for the price

There is a hidden cost of 7.95 for internet and the fitness center. You pay for this whether you use it or not. This should be included in the initial price. Other than that the hotel was okay.It was close enough to walk to the french quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emerils

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 23, 2010

I love this hotel !!!

This is my 5th time stay at the Ambassador Hotel New Orleans. I love this hotel. Me and my parents were driving to New Orleans. I had a feeling we might be late. So I call the hotel and told they can we check in late. They told me no problem I could. Own room was big, the beds were nice size. If you love the casino like my father than this is the hotel for you. And that famous restaurant "Mother" is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jul 16, 2010

Not Bad but Not Good

We spent the night in New Orleans on our way back from Orlando, FL. We were worried because of the reviews that we read but decided it was only one night and such a great deal with the free parking that we would give it a try. It is a very old building so there are issues but it has a lot of charm with the exposed brick and hard wood floors. The staff could have done a lot more to clean the hotel. The floors obviously hadn't been swept and there was hair in the bathroom and on the bed but because of the reviews we brought our own cleaning supplies and sheets and blankets for the bed so we were prepared. There were a lot of complaints about the air but we turned it to the on setting instead of auto and it worked great for us. The location is very quiet and its right next to the mall. If you're going to the french quarter its just a short ride on the street car. Mothers across the street is good for breakfast and very cheap compared to the other places in NO. The hotel staff wasn't friendly at all, the lady at the front desk did not smile or even look us in the eye the whole time we were checking out. They only had one valet when we checked out so we had to wait a while for our car. If you're staying for an extended period of time I wouldn't suggest staying here but if you just need a place for one night its not that bad. Just be prepared to clean your own room and I would suggest taking your own bedding and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jefferson City, Missouri
Jul 16, 2010

my kinda hotel in my kinda town

When I travel for leisure/pleasure I don't spend a lot of time in hotel rooms. I prefer a simple hotel with good service, comfortable bed and clean showers. this was my second stay at the Ambassador. I love the exposed brick walls, the hard wood floors, marble bathroom floors and comfy wrought iron beds. A real understated charm, and also a little romantic. Not a big, "cold" place like modern hotels, and each time I've found the staff friendly and attentive. The person checking out ahead of me mentioned to the desk clerk they would stay there again, and so will I. Can't wait until the restaurant remodeling is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's a great local favorite, is just down the block, and usually has a waiting line going out the door during breakfast and dinner hours. Nothing fancy inside, but the food is great and inexpensive. To avoid a long line, call in your order then carry out and take back to your room! Red beans and rice, fresh greens, ham with debris, shrimp po boys anduille sausage...mmmmmmm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yamidt and the Texans
Business
Austin and Rio Grande Valley
Jul 13, 2010

Great place to stay

slept most of the time at the hotel, a little noisy for my taste, noisy water pipes, wood floor and bed. Didn't have a TV control remote. Stayed at New Orleans marriot in Feb. for Mardi Gras on canal street, this hotel was as good as the marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

everything was at walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
map1999
Business
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Jul 13, 2010

Ambassador Hotel

We only stayed one night to make an early appointment at Tulane Medical Center, it was an easy drive from this hotel location. The hotel is also in a great location for tourists, it was just a short walk to the Riverwalk, the French Quarter, and the casino. It's not the pristine, new hotel if that's what you want, but it is a very nice, historic building at a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Jul 12, 2010

Fun because of location

The hotel is described as a boutique hotel. It's got that, "our hotel was and old existing building previously, so we're going to show you unfinished brick walls all over. Fits in with the charm of that spot in New Orleans. It's good for first time to New Orleans. You get the feel of French Quarter (3 blocks down, 3 blocks across to Bourbon St) without the headaches (100 people drunk and walking around blocking traffic). Also it's close to Emeril's restaurant. And I got free valet parking. Didn't have to wait to check and get car either on a Sunday 11am. Probably willing to book French Quarter if I don't bring car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is famous restaurant and 1 blcokk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Jul 8, 2010

Ambassador

Good Location, friendly staff, cool rooms. Great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top