$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
435 reviews
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Fantabulous!

Hotel was fab and reasonably priced. Staff was 5- star and the location was perfect. Would... See full review

  • CarolX
  • Nov 6, 2013
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yamidt and the Texans
Austin and Rio Grande Valley
Jul 13, 2010

Great place to stay

slept most of the time at the hotel, a little noisy for my taste, noisy water pipes, wood floor and bed. Didn't have a TV control remote. Stayed at New Orleans marriot in Feb. for Mardi Gras on canal street, this hotel was as good as the marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

everything was at walking distance.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
misswic
Ocean Springs, MS, USA
Aug 24, 2011

small glitch but overall good

only problem we had was that they had to change our room after checkin because we had requested smoking and they put us in a nonsmoking other than that no complaints. had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis, mo
Jan 25, 2010

nice hotel/nice people

The staff was excellent, the room was very spacious (although it could have been a little cleaner) and had interesting furniture and architectural details. Parking was valet [...].We would stay there again! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Very Quaint

The only problem we had was the Valet was very slow, and the people above us had some noisy kids jumping on the bed, but one call to the front desk took care of that. Other than that we loved our room, the A/C worked great. The room had a wonderful French Charm to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
map1999
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Jul 13, 2010

Ambassador Hotel

We only stayed one night to make an early appointment at Tulane Medical Center, it was an easy drive from this hotel location. The hotel is also in a great location for tourists, it was just a short walk to the Riverwalk, the French Quarter, and the casino. It's not the pristine, new hotel if that's what you want, but it is a very nice, historic building at a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxford, MS
Feb 9, 2010

Ambassador Rocks

We were in NOLA for super bowl sunday, so we didn't hang out in the hotel. It was, however, perfect for getting down to the French Quarter without having to pay for cabs. Rates were way cheaper than other surrounding hotels. beds were comfortable, hard wood floors, just a cool place all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant on the corner of Tchop and Poydras. walk out the door and look to the left, it's right in front of you. Be sure you know what you want before you get in the door, they will get mad and yell at you. Fantastic New Orleans cuisine.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MPLs, MN
Jun 9, 2011

Pleasant old world charm

Pleasant, convenient, and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jefferson City, Missouri
Jul 16, 2010

my kinda hotel in my kinda town

When I travel for leisure/pleasure I don't spend a lot of time in hotel rooms. I prefer a simple hotel with good service, comfortable bed and clean showers. this was my second stay at the Ambassador. I love the exposed brick walls, the hard wood floors, marble bathroom floors and comfy wrought iron beds. A real understated charm, and also a little romantic. Not a big, "cold" place like modern hotels, and each time I've found the staff friendly and attentive. The person checking out ahead of me mentioned to the desk clerk they would stay there again, and so will I. Can't wait until the restaurant remodeling is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's a great local favorite, is just down the block, and usually has a waiting line going out the door during breakfast and dinner hours. Nothing fancy inside, but the food is great and inexpensive. To avoid a long line, call in your order then carry out and take back to your room! Red beans and rice, fresh greens, ham with debris, shrimp po boys anduille sausage...mmmmmmm!

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeonardoCarmona
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Sep 9, 2013

Excellent Service

Very good experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. They provided information when requested and were always kind and professional. I will recommend this hotels to my friends and relatives. I would like to return someday if I travel to New Orleans again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Canal Avenue

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 5, 2008

Good Value for the Location

Location exceptional within easy walk distance of Harrah's, French Quarter, Warehouse District restaurants, Street Car, galleries, museums and so much more. basic hotel, but had the essential amenities to include small business center, on-site restaurant/bar and exercise room. Staff is friendly and helpful, but you need to be insistent if there is a problem. Upon check-in, the toilet in the room was clogged and I requested another room. The staff's initial solution was to have a maintenance person fix, which I knew meant use a plunger and have the same annoying overflowing toilet the next day. I previewed several rooms before committing to move to another. The TV remote control was missing from the second room, but the maintenance person was very helpful in finding a replacement. The only other drawback to this hotel was that the soundproofing and insulation between rooms is paper thin. You can hear everything, I mean everything - toilets flushing, conversations and inhale the smoke of your neighbors. I would stay there again, but pick my room carefully. Mother's Restaurant, a half block away is the bomb and was my staple during the visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's Restaurant Convention Center Riverwalk

Back to menu Return to top