$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
436 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (436)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamchsr
Holt, FL
Aug 5, 2012

Comfortable homey feeling

We stayed only one night with our granddaughters and it was very comfortable. We were able to walk to our destinations with New Orleans and not incur additional costs for parking or cabs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans Power Pass pick-up is only a few blocks away. Pickup your ticket and the attractions surround you. Very convenient.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Slightly warn, but good value

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room could have used some refurbishment, but everything worked and the bed was comfortable. For the money, a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans institution, Mother's Restaurant, is only a block away. Big breakfasts such as crawfish etouffee omelet with biscuits are good if you ave the appetite. Also in the neighborhood is the Wine Institute of New Orleans (WINO).

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lethbridge Alberta
Feb 27, 2011

Not clean

We checked in after midnight and checked out the next morning as the room was dirty. The sheets and pillow case looked used and the bathroom was dirty - could not use the tub. I took pictures which did not do justice to the snot on the wall behind the bed. Anyway I couldn't wait to get out of there and felt fortunate that we did not experience a bed bug episode or something. The hotel is well located but noisy. It looks charming in the pictures but the "windows" in our room did not look outside but rather into the hotel corridor. Therefore a bit noisy when people walking by. The breakfast was coffee and pastries - they do not give you a plate but do have napkins. no, I would not recommend this hotel and was glad to move to a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk around the French quarter

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge,La
Feb 26, 2011

Great last minute trip

I really enjoyed my stay and my kids werent ready to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge,La
Feb 26, 2011

Great last minute trip

I really enjoyed my stay and my kids werent ready to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Feb 23, 2011

New Orleans historic hotel

We arrived 1 and one half days prior to sailing on a cruise to Mexico. The hotel location is convenient to several attractions in New Orleans. We found the staff friendly and gracious. Especially the desk clerks, and bell man. The room needed some TLC. The room is small and had a bed that was described as "queen" sized. However; I think it was more of a large full. The bathroom was nice except the tub needed a good scrubbing. The floor boards were original wood, but needed to be refinished to get rid of the scratches and wear. They furnished a continental breakfast but it only opened from 7AM to 9AM. Then the attendant began closing the room. Late sleepers missed out. I must emphasize the great staff that worked there. They did their best to assist us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We made reservations at K-Paul's restaurant. It is VERY expensive. But since this was the first trip in 25years, we went for the "special". The early bird reservation was a little less expensive and staff had more time to pay attention to us.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Missouri
Feb 23, 2011

New Orleans historic hotel

We arrived 1 and one half days prior to sailing on a cruise to Mexico. The hotel location is convenient to several attractions in New Orleans. We found the staff friendly and gracious. Especially the desk clerks, and bell man. The room needed some TLC. The room is small and had a bed that was described as "queen" sized. However; I think it was more of a large full. The bathroom was nice except the tub needed a good scrubbing. The floor boards were original wood, but needed to be refinished to get rid of the scratches and wear. They furnished a continental breakfast but it only opened from 7AM to 9AM. Then the attendant began closing the room. Late sleepers missed out. I must emphasize the great staff that worked there. They did their best to assist us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We made reservations at K-Paul's restaurant. It is VERY expensive. But since this was the first trip in 25years, we went for the "special". The early bird reservation was a little less expensive and staff had more time to pay attention to us.

Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, ms
Jan 31, 2011

The whole story

The hotel was very nosy and lacked hot water. Several guests had issues getting their vehicles back from the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jackson, ms
Jan 31, 2011

The whole story

The hotel was very nosy and lacked hot water. Several guests had issues getting their vehicles back from the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
loxley, al.
Jan 30, 2011

a good stay.

This is my 8th or 9th stay at the Ambassador.. Most of the stays have been complaint free.. It is a good location, clean and friendly.. usually quiet, this time not so quiet. stayed on the first floor and could hear people talking, yellinig and laughing, most of the night till at least 2 in the morning. I couldn't really tell where it was coming from so i did not call the desk.. I will go back and next time i will ask for a different area to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
loxley, al.
Jan 30, 2011

a good stay.

This is my 8th or 9th stay at the Ambassador.. Most of the stays have been complaint free.. It is a good location, clean and friendly.. usually quiet, this time not so quiet. stayed on the first floor and could hear people talking, yellinig and laughing, most of the night till at least 2 in the morning. I couldn't really tell where it was coming from so i did not call the desk.. I will go back and next time i will ask for a different area to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top