$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 8, 2007

Unique Style

This was my first time visiting New Orleans so I did not know what to expect but I had a great time at the Ambassador! The rooms were very unique in that the walls were brick! The location was on a little side street but was in walking distance to great places such as Mother's Restaurant, Harrah's Casino and Decatur Street where so much was going on :-) We were close to clubs, restaurants and a mini mart in the hotel next door to ours! lol The restaurant in the hotel, although newly opened served excellent food--possibly one of the best burgers I ever tasted-- along with these delicious sweet potato fries. It was truly a delight...The only major complaint I had was when requesting towels and blankets, that seemed to take several calls...also, it would have been nice if a pool was at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map to try and locate where streets are...we had one and it was very easy to follow..most things were off Canal Street, the main strip near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MPLs, MN
Jun 9, 2011

Pleasant old world charm

Pleasant, convenient, and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 16, 2007

Good Value

The Ambassador Hotel New Orleans is conveniently located near the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino. Easy walk to streetcar. On-site restaurant didn't seem to be open all the time. Very small bathroom; room had very small window looking into a tiny open area facing brick walls so not much natural ligh; walls had scuff marks but somehow added to charm of property. Wood floors and brick wall in room were nice. Housekeeping never left clean glasses, we had to ask. Charged a daily resort fee for unlimited use of internet and unlimited local and long distance phone calls. Did not know of this added fee until check-in. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping and transportation. Staff was helpful in getting taxi and handing out band-aids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to French Quarter, aquarium, Riverwalk shopping, casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wife of a tightwad:)
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 10, 2009

Almost like home....

We enjoyed our stay. It was comfortable and convenient. It reminded me of the old New Orleans style hotel with updated decor. I prefer the wood floors to carpet.....carpet in a hotel always seems so dirty and grungy, it is disgusting to walk on it with bare feet. The rooms were a little small, but we were only in the room at night to watch a little TV and sleep, so it was perfect. The only complaint I had was at check-out on Sunday morning when everyone was checking out at the same time, they didn't have more staff getting cars. Seems like they could hire extra staff for those few hours who could work mostly off of tips than anything else. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is convenient for dining and shopping, but also less expensive than most and a great place to stay if you just want a quiet place to get away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La.
May 4, 2009

great ambience

Perfect in every way except for the maid service,so we keep returning.Front desk & valet are great.Even alone at night it feels safe walking the 2 blocks to Canal & the streetcar.Deanie's,a local favorite at Dauphine & Iberville for great seafood.Try a bar b q shrimp appetizer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teddybear71
Business
monterrey, nl
Aug 1, 2014

good location, reasonable price

Good location - Canal St, Riverfront and French Quarter are in walking distance; vintage style. No free parking available, valet costs $32 + tax per night. Josie, the guide at the desk in the lobby, is a very amiable person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiger fan
Business
texas
Aug 2, 2014

Good comfortable getaway

Good place to stay. Love the continental breakfast. The hotel is in a good location for all the places we love to go. Within walking distance to French Quarter, river and shopping. The only thing I didn't like was the glass insert in the hotel room door. It had blinds over the glass, but didn't feel very private. Didn't like that at all. The room was big, bathroom small, but we made out alright. All in all it was a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Carousel Bar for a drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clemencia Isaura
Business
san Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 20, 2014

Excelent modest hotel

I dislike big hotels, Hiltons, Sheratons, etc. In spite of one afternoon, when the noise of a nearby sports bar was unnaceptable, I really enjoyed my 5 nights at the Ambassador. Customers who enjoy the luxurious environment of big hotels would not be that confortable at the Ambassador. I love the location, halfway between the French Quarter and the Convention Center. I would like to stay here during my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants within a 5 or 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ringom
Business
Brookhaven, MS
Dec 6, 2014

Greatness

This was a great trip down. They were doing renovations but were very helpful and friendly and rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaina V.
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Beware of parking

My boyfriend and I stayed at the ambassador for Mardi gras this weekend. The parade caused most of the streets to be blocked, so we called for some directions on how to get there. While the woman on the phone was friendly and patient, she led us to the complete wrong side of town. Furthermore, when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that we could park in the parking lot directly across the street and charge it to the room. This is NOT true, it is NOT their lot. My car got booted and the hotel was not even willing to call the tow company and explain the miscommunication. It took my boyfriend dragging the towing guy in to get them to even address the situation. Other than that, the room was nice & modern. Good price for location and occasion. Staff was friendly but unclear about almost everything. They are also remodeling, so don't expect a grand entrance. I would stay again, but I would park somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top