$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainriders
Business
Jonesboro, AR
Jan 4, 2010

Very convenient

This was our first trip to New Orleans so we weren't familiar with the area and we weren't sure if we had chosen wisely. However, upon arriving on the train, we discovered that the hotel was only about 8 blocks from the station and was only 3 blocks from Canal Street. It was very convenient, not too close, not too far. The only thing that would make it better would be a streetcar route. The king-size bed was comfortable but fell on us the first night (not what you're thinking)! I had to help the maintenance man repair it. However, when we called the desk they sent someone very quickly. We missed having a micro-fridge (we could have rented a fridge for $20 per night) because we like to eat in the room some but that was not too inconvenient. The staff was very helpful (however the doorman was a little annoying) and courteous. We didn't try the in-house steak restaurant/bar but several people did and seemed to be enjoying themselves. I'm not a fitness buff but I was disappointed that theirs was closed. Overall the experience was very positive and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the casino, 3 blocks from Canal Street (acclaimed to be the widest main street in the U.S.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 20, 2011

Summer trip

Staff very gracious. Took care of minor problems immediately. Loved character of room, location. Plenty of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some excellent places a a few minutes walk from hotel. we were able to walk to quarter in less than 10 mintues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SGTSCHU
Business
Madison,WI
Apr 13, 2010

A great place to stay.

Traveling with 4 children and got 2 rooms, each with 2 beds. Although not adjoining, they were across the hall from each other and were still convenient. They were both not the same size or equipped the same. However, we didn't care if the coffee maker was on a stand or on a shelf. One room had a couch, the other didn't, even though it had the room for it. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. Plenty of towels and hot water for showers! Both rooms were clean and furnishings were appropriate for the character of the hotel. TV was good sized with good array of programming to wind on with. Although some noises were heard from hallway or adjoining rooms, didn't really bother me. I didn't care for the blinds to cover the window on the door to the hallway(privacy). Also, rooms were on the interior so no windows, so they were a little dark at times. Breakfast wasn't much more that coffee cake and mini-muffins...pretty light. Will I stay again, in a heartbeat!!! The hotel staff were all VERY friendly and always willing to help. The bar/restaurant in the hotel has a joyful staff and great food, for a decent price. Will this rival Harrah's, no way. Can we all afford to stay at Harrah's....? In short, a friendly hotel, clean rooms, hot showers, in a great location, for a great price. What more are you looking for??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food downstairs....gotta have a Poboy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jERRY D.
Business
VICKSBURG MS
May 23, 2010

Nice hotel, good location, make ac colde

I did a lot of walking and looking around the city. very hot and humid weather. bought some stuff and just mainly I had some me time- a get a way. Air in rooms were not cool at all, but besides that- very nice location and helpful staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teddybear71
Business
monterrey, nl
Aug 1, 2014

good location, reasonable price

Good location - Canal St, Riverfront and French Quarter are in walking distance; vintage style. No free parking available, valet costs $32 + tax per night. Josie, the guide at the desk in the lobby, is a very amiable person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiger fan
Business
texas
Aug 2, 2014

Good comfortable getaway

Good place to stay. Love the continental breakfast. The hotel is in a good location for all the places we love to go. Within walking distance to French Quarter, river and shopping. The only thing I didn't like was the glass insert in the hotel room door. It had blinds over the glass, but didn't feel very private. Didn't like that at all. The room was big, bathroom small, but we made out alright. All in all it was a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Carousel Bar for a drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clemencia Isaura
Business
san Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 20, 2014

Excelent modest hotel

I dislike big hotels, Hiltons, Sheratons, etc. In spite of one afternoon, when the noise of a nearby sports bar was unnaceptable, I really enjoyed my 5 nights at the Ambassador. Customers who enjoy the luxurious environment of big hotels would not be that confortable at the Ambassador. I love the location, halfway between the French Quarter and the Convention Center. I would like to stay here during my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good restaurants within a 5 or 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ringom
Business
Brookhaven, MS
Dec 6, 2014

Greatness

This was a great trip down. They were doing renovations but were very helpful and friendly and rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 15, 2009

Ambassador Review

You can hear people upstairs pretty clearly but not having anyone next door was great. Some fees on internet and phone service was unexpected and didnt like that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRAZYHORSE
Business
SHREVEPORT, LOUISIANA
Nov 30, 2009

GREAT GETAWAY FOR THE FAMILY

PERSONNEL WERE GREAT, THE ONLY PROBLEMS IS BEING CHARGED FOR SOMETHING THAT NOT WORKING OR SOMETHING THAT IS NOT USED WHILE STAYING THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top