$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 23, 2010

good location- bad service

The hotel was very old. the floors squeek whenever you walk. you could hear all the adjacent room. They charge $7/day for amenities including breakfast which was horrible. breakfast was offered from 7:30 to 9am and was only coffee and donuts. they even divide each donut to 10 pieces. moreover they charge $30/day for the car parking. the only good thing was that it is close to the conventioncenter, the river front and the french quarter. Room service did not come until noon or 2pm on some days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham AL
Nov 10, 2010

Beautiful old new Orleans hotel.

The hotel had a beautiful lobby and neat little bar downstairs. Great location near harrahs and Decatur, and only a few minutes walk from Bourbon St. Rooms were smaller as expected from 100 yr old building, but clean and nice bath. I would recommend parking in the lot across the street rather than valet - it costs a little less and doesnt take near the time to retreive your car. Overall we had a great experience with this hotel. I lived in new orleans for several years and visit often. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oldgirl Tralver
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 9, 2010

why was I staying there

The water was hot, and the staff was great. Otherwise it was not what I expected. would not recommend this hotel for people who need to sleep during the night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many place to chose from with in walking distant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 4, 2010

Great Location...but....

Great location to Harrah's Casino, Canal Street amd Bourbon Street. We arrived after check in time androom was not ready. The bathroom in our room was dirty and in disrepair. Broken shower tile, dirty shower curtain, dirty floor, light missing protective covering. The beds were a little soft for my liking. For the most part, staff friendly and helpful. Good rustic feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gumbogas
Business
McComb, Ms.
Oct 24, 2010

could have done better

The hotel was in a very good location, close to the arts and the French Quarter. We were in town to attend a wedding nearby. The bed was very hard, unable to sleep comfortably-solf folks may like a stiff bed. It took almost an hour to get our car out from valet parking while we sat in a hot and humid lobby, The bathroom was a nice size and the room clean but plain, small with wood floors. I do not plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Screwed by the Ambassador
Business
Baton Rouge
Oct 18, 2010

Never pre pay and book a room here!!

Never book and pre pay for a room at the Ambassador Hotel. We did recently and had the pleasure of being bumped and dumped in a flea bag sister hotel called the Queen and Crescent. Seems we weren't the only parties this was done to as we meet multiple people who were moved to the Queen and Crescent and all had pre paid for their rooms through a travel company. Seems the Ambassador overbooked and sent all the prepaid customers to their dump sister hotel. The Ambassador management refused to refund our money or to give us a partial discount as the other hotel was a third of the price of the Ambassador. The elevators didn't work, the room wreaked of smoke and wasn't clean, the building is in bad need of a refurb and the staff was horrible. It took over an hour for a valet to retrieve our car, which turned out to be in a lot about thirty yards from the hotel, and when we complained the manager physically threatened us and had to be restrained by other hotel staff members. There are too many quality hotels in New Orleans to be subjected to scams like this. Never book a room and pre pay for it at the Ambassador Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book another hotel and don't pre pay for it. You have no recourse if you pre pay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Covington, La
Oct 17, 2010

Regrettable Stay

We arrived to the hotel and it took 30 minutes just to get someone to take our car to the valet so we could go to our room. We came to the city for a relaxing time for my husband's birthday. The only great part about the hotel is that it was within walking distance to our destination Harrah's Casino and other little restaurants. Other than that, we are not pleased at all. The staff was so rude. We were charged their "nominal" fee which included internet which we couldn't even use in our room because it didn't work. The rooms small but noisy as you could hear people in the adjacent rooms taking showers. Upon check out, the valet guys were not with it and rude as well. The front desk lady had to go and get our car. Also, all we smelled the entire stay was smoke. Even in our "smoke-free" room, all I could smell was the smoke. For the money we paid, I would have preferred a more enjoyable experience. We do not recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

NOLA restaurant is a restaurant you must try. We go for lunch when the price is a little cheaper. Fantastic food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta,Ga
Oct 14, 2010

unbeatable location and price

We stayed one night and went to Harrahs casino, great restaurants, friendly staff. Rooms were very nice and quite. Check in and out was great. Very courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 11, 2010

Very Pleased

The hotel wasnt the best but adaquate. Room was very cute and the staff was friendly. We werent looing for the typcal chain hotel and wanted a different feel then the plain old chain hotel as to experiecne the feel and culture of NOLA. It was exactly what we were looking for and we wer every pleased consodering the cheap nighlty rate we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baton rouge, la
Oct 11, 2010

great place to stay

nice atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top