$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Who Dat Bears
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 4, 2010

Great Bang for the Buck

The hotel is conveniently near the French Quarter and the Riverfront, our room is spacious and decent, and overall we really got our money worth. I would have rated the hotel higher at 4 stars if it weren't for two small issues: our room were not cleaned after the first night, and we can hear some neighboring noise as well as the elevators. Fortunately that did not bother us since we were out so much having fun and that we really slept soundly. The hotel has a nice antique look and the surrounding area of Warehouse/Art district feels safe, nice and quite. We also got two free tickets to cruise on the Creole Queen by booking on [...] so that was a great bonus. The hotel charges an extra $7.95/day Value Package fee but I knew that before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's, a famous restaurant, is on the neighboring block. We enjoyed its Jimbalaya so much that we ordered two large takeouts to take all the way home!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
St. Will
Columbus, OH
Apr 4, 2010

"quaint" but cheap for its location

The hotel is in a great location and has an impressive lobby and history. That said, it looks like it's under renovation, and while the rooms were generally clean, the comforter and throw pillows on the bed showed signs of wear. Guests must pay a mandatory WiFi/fitness room usage fee onsite -- no exceptions -- of $7 or $8. Still, for the price, the location is great for most tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
Mar 9, 2010

Quirky hotel with good value

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and we were prepared for the things that might be a bit unusual. We knew they had rooms that have no windows so we asked for a window. We knew about the $7.95/day that covers the internet and the fitness room and the internet service worked easily and perfectly and the Fitness Room was clean and adequately equipped. The charge wasn't excessive with our internet discount. We knew about the parking charge which may seem high at $39/day, but for the area is not, but we had free parking in our room rate. We also got a river cruise included in our rate and we enjoyed that too, 2 1/2 hours with a battlefield stop, from a pier within easy walking distance of the hotel. Our room was medium-sized and everything was clean. The decor is unusual with unfinished walls showing bricks, but it adds to the historical character. The construction is probably not the newest, but it caused us no problems. The staff service was outstanding and friendly. They answered questions on restaurants and printed out menus for us, gave us maps, and the valet service was prompt, considering they had to walk at least a block to get our car and had to go around the block to pull it up. They warned us about noise and gave us room choices before we had a problem. All in all we were quite happy with this hotel and the location is easy walking distance to Harrahs, and the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed both Mother's, for breakfast and po boys and a hurry-up style all their own, just a few doors down from the hotel. We also enjoed Mulate's for dinner a several blocks walk from the hotel. Great traditional Cajun food in a casual environment with live music every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFW54
Rochester, NY
Feb 26, 2012

Hard to Rate This Trip

I booked this hotel 6 weeks in advance as it was pre-Mardi Gras. As our flight did not land until 12:15 AM, I called a few days earlier to confirm to make sure they did not give our hotel room away. Our flight was slightly delayed & we did not arrive at the Ambassador until 1:30AM. They did NOT have a room for us. We had to drag our luggage thru the streets to another hotel a few blocks away. The next morning at 10 AM, back to the Ambassador. The Ambassador said "No room for you." Fortunately, the desk guy from 1:30AM was there & said "You have a room; the owner will be down to see you in a few minutes." The owner did arrive in 10 minutes & apologized. Subsequently, much of our pre-payment was refunded. The room was fine, free breakfast passable. Internet was not available in our room; it was fine in the main building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mother;s for breakfast...about 2 blocks away. Go early to : 1. Avoid long lines. 2. Get the pre 9AM special. DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE ON A DIET!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucks 123
Business
Ohio, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Good Value

Nothing Special about this place. For the price it was in a great location, walk to convention center, riverwalk, and FQ. Resturant attached had average food and was a decent value. The only thing that was wierd is that many of the rooms have no windows. Strange feeling inside....but OK if your only there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos resturant in the Hilton hotel has the BEST Charbroiled Oysters EVER!!! Make sure you get them Charbroiled, you won't be disappointed!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S B in VA
Business
VA
Apr 15, 2012

Minimally Adequate

The staff were wonderful and courteous, and the location was perfect for my needs (CBD and warehouse district which is great for dinners that aren't overrun with tourists). However I had a first floor room which did not resemble the photos on the website. They are going for the rustic charm - lobby hits its that mark, but the room fell way short and was just junky. The carpet was absolutely disgusting and the bathroom was not particularly clean either (lots of mold in the shower grout, and around fixtures). It wasn't worth switching hotels for me but this hotel also wasnt worth what I paid for it. With so many other options in the area I most likely won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Oct 15, 2009

Ambassador Review

You can hear people upstairs pretty clearly but not having anyone next door was great. Some fees on internet and phone service was unexpected and didnt like that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt1542
Charleston, SC, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Great Place

Great location, authentic rooms. Great value. Close to all local establishments within walking distance of casino restaurants and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent visitor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Consistently adequate!

Great location at usually a reasonable price. Very quirky, boutique hotel. Good value, though! Overlook the averageness of the experience and go enjoy/explore one of our country's truly unique cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's and Emeril's restaurants are very short walks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runner8489
Houston
Feb 4, 2014

Perfect location, hotel needs updates

Stayed in Room 219 from 2/1/2014-2/3/2014. Room was cute with the brick on the walls. Bathroom was horrible. No counter space in bathroom and tub was gross. The towels are thin and very small. The weather was hot and muggy that weekend so we tried to turn in the AC and the room never cooled down. Be prepared to pay a $10 fee per night for the internet and breakfast. We never used the internet and breakfast was not good. Pastries, bread and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search