$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
View map of 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SGTSCHU
Business
Madison,WI
Apr 13, 2010

A great place to stay.

Traveling with 4 children and got 2 rooms, each with 2 beds. Although not adjoining, they were across the hall from each other and were still convenient. They were both not the same size or equipped the same. However, we didn't care if the coffee maker was on a stand or on a shelf. One room had a couch, the other didn't, even though it had the room for it. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. Plenty of towels and hot water for showers! Both rooms were clean and furnishings were appropriate for the character of the hotel. TV was good sized with good array of programming to wind on with. Although some noises were heard from hallway or adjoining rooms, didn't really bother me. I didn't care for the blinds to cover the window on the door to the hallway(privacy). Also, rooms were on the interior so no windows, so they were a little dark at times. Breakfast wasn't much more that coffee cake and mini-muffins...pretty light. Will I stay again, in a heartbeat!!! The hotel staff were all VERY friendly and always willing to help. The bar/restaurant in the hotel has a joyful staff and great food, for a decent price. Will this rival Harrah's, no way. Can we all afford to stay at Harrah's....? In short, a friendly hotel, clean rooms, hot showers, in a great location, for a great price. What more are you looking for??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food downstairs....gotta have a Poboy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jERRY D.
Business
VICKSBURG MS
May 23, 2010

Nice hotel, good location, make ac colde

I did a lot of walking and looking around the city. very hot and humid weather. bought some stuff and just mainly I had some me time- a get a way. Air in rooms were not cool at all, but besides that- very nice location and helpful staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Aug 27, 2008

Unique & Easy

The Ambassador is unacceptable expense to their room comfort, hotel character, or cleanliness...like you usually find in their price range. The Ambassador is a hotel I've stayed in several times, and each time, I find that I'm just a tad more impressed...and they are a tad more polished...than the last stay. The cleanliness is a definite no worry. The room, bathroom, and hotel itself are in excellent condition, including exposed brick walls in some rooms and a unique atmosphere afforded to it because it's located in a renovated warehouse. The location of the hotel is great. You'll do a block or three of walking to reach the french quarter...and at night, you aren't in an incredibly trafficked area of town....however, you aren't in an area you should fear for safety. Harrah's is across the street, and you are within easy walking distance of the Riverwalk, Aquarium, and if you are interested, the growing Warehouse District Art Galleries. The staff prides itself on being easy to get along with, and I've found that check in and anything I've needed...they are most attentive. (They let me use the microwave in the employee break room...which was cool.) They don't do extravagant holds on your credit card, and the bar/restaurant in the lobby has been recently completed in its overhaul, and I must say, is quite chic and interesting for a cocktail before heading out for the night, etc. The continental breakfast leaves much to be desired...being simply coffee and one choice of danish...however, it's understandable for the rate they offer. Their bedding is NOT the low-quality travel lodge dark floral print with green blanket. It fits the bill, in short. With a good location and an understanding for simple travel without sacrificing cleanliness or sudden hotel surprises like bad water pressure..this is your place. I haven't been dissatisfied yet. You will be pleased, and I can assure you after several stays over a good period of time...they haven't changed or gone downhill. They've consistently grown their hotel into a more and more recommended place to stay, and I like it. It's doable. It's cute, and it's perfect for a quick overnight stay with comfort, ease and affordability....and yes, dependable trust and comfort in knowing it's okay...The Ambassador is a great find, and you can trust you won't get surprised or have to wonder if the sheets are clean. :) Have a great stay in NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Audobon (The same people who created the New Orleans Aquarium/Intergy IMAX Theatre two blocks away from the Ambassador) have JUST OPENED a brand new and incredibly cool and interesting attraction three blocks from the hotel...the new Audobon INSECTARIUM...it's a Zoo, yet it's all indoors, brand spankin' new, and all about insects.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susan in houston
Business
houston, tx
Oct 16, 2009

GREAT location

I thought [...] was terrific and very helpful. I thought $2 for a soft drink was too much. I wish the hotel resturant had offered breakfast. They could have told me where the parking was. I was concerned where my vehicle was. [...] I had no other problems or concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I wish the hotel had a map to the French Quarter. I wish the hotel had pronounced the street's name.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis, mo
Jan 25, 2010

nice hotel/nice people

The staff was excellent, the room was very spacious (although it could have been a little cleaner) and had interesting furniture and architectural details. Parking was valet [...].We would stay there again! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inspector Al
Business
Pevely, Missouri
Sep 11, 2010

Get-A-Way

Our 4th trip to New Orleans. Good hotel, within walking distance of the Quarter. Located just down the street from "Mothers" restaurant. Good food all day long. Check out the bread pudding! Hotel's breakfast was only coffee and cut up rolls,so we went to Mothers to eat. Freindly and helpful staff. The hot water was only tepid, and we couldn't control the ac very well either. It was cold or warm, so we left it cold and slept w/a blanket. The housekeeping staff could spend a little more time dusting and sweeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers, Harrahs Casino and lots of other spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gonzales, LA
Jul 20, 2011

Good experience

Love the hotel, good location, good service!!!! Interesting interior!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La
Feb 9, 2010

One night stay for sick child

We only spent one night at the hotel b/c my daughter had to recover from a minor surgery and we live two and a half hours away from the hospital. We stayed at the same hotel before and we had a bigger room for a cheaper price. Maybe that was because of Mardi Gras season or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is walking distance to lots of family entertainment, malls, dining and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2008

Very Quaint

The only problem we had was the Valet was very slow, and the people above us had some noisy kids jumping on the bed, but one call to the front desk took care of that. Other than that we loved our room, the A/C worked great. The room had a wonderful French Charm to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, MS
Feb 9, 2010

Ambassador Rocks

We were in NOLA for super bowl sunday, so we didn't hang out in the hotel. It was, however, perfect for getting down to the French Quarter without having to pay for cabs. Rates were way cheaper than other surrounding hotels. beds were comfortable, hard wood floors, just a cool place all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant on the corner of Tchop and Poydras. walk out the door and look to the left, it's right in front of you. Be sure you know what you want before you get in the door, they will get mad and yell at you. Fantastic New Orleans cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top