$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
271 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
"Pardon our Dust......We are currently under renovations.
"The Ambassador is a hotel rich in history. This pre-civil war building dates back to 1854, and was a coffee warehouse.
Harrah's Casino located across the street one block from the hotel.
A determined effort was made when renovating the hotel to retain the look and feel of New Orleans and this area. This included keeping the wood floors, exposed brick walls and wood beams. The National Park service has certified the restoration. The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $7.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, wi-fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel. Valet Parking is $32 per night, plus tax (unless the cost is included in a special package). Renovations were done in 2005 on guestrooms and lobby as well as construction of a new restaurant.
Valet parking $32.00 per night. Special event parking $40.00 per night.

Ambassador Hotel offers Light Continental Breakfast included in the 9.95 fee per night.

Amenities at Ambassador 9.95 per night includes: Light Continental Breakfast, unlimited wi-fi throughout out hotel, unlimited local and long distance calling in room, 24 hr access to business center, fitness center, and in room safe.

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.0671
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Great access to the Convention Center. Hotel is is the Warehouse/Arts district, adjacent to the French Quarter, Convention center area and convenient to all other New Orleans attractions. Steps away from Harrah's Casino.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakewood, Colorado
May 3, 2011

Good Location - Noisy Hotel

The Ambassador Hotel was centrally located and was a good value. The downside was that it was VERY noisy! We could hear everything going on out in the hall and at times it was so loud, it seemed like it was IN our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Apr 1, 2011

Great hotel for the price

Great hotel for the price. Conveniently located to everything. Very good service. I attended a workshop at the Hilton Riverside Convention center and could walk there everyday within minutes. I have never been to New Orleans before and would come again and stay at the Ambassador again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MOBILE, AL.
Mar 30, 2011

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN

A LITTLE FURTHER TO WALK TO FQ ONLY BECAUSE MY BACK WAS HURTING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

JUST FUN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Truth About My Stays
Edmonton, KY
Mar 29, 2011

The Good and The Bad

My friend and I thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and out with an old Victorian feel to it. However, their was some downers to the hotel. Our room 426 smelled like someone washed it in bourbon every day we walked into it. Their was one bulb in the entire room on the ceiling for lighting and possibly two lamps in the room that were not very bright. So if your looking for a nice place to read this place might not be for you. The SHOWER OMG THE SHOWER SUCKED! It took like no joke 8minutes to warm up then it barely came out of the overhead faucet onto you. Pretty much in order to take a shower you had to hug the wall underneath the faucet to get enough water even on you. My friend and I even tried moving the nozzle, but it made it worse. The front desk girls weren't the happiest people to greet you after a long trip they all looked grumpy and sleep deprived. But that wasn't going to stop us from having fun on our trip. The hotel itself wasn't worth over 90.00 a night seriously. The guys that parked the cars and carried the luggage were friendly and seemed interested in pleasing the customers of the hotel. The hotel location was smack dab in the city of New Orleans so that was convenient. Also, their was a bar at the bottom of the hotel for those who drink. This might be convenient info for someone. If I had to do it again I probably would choose another hotel only because the shower thing killed me in the mornings. I really wanted a nice warm, relaxing shower and that was just not possible in this hotel. Everything else was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Mar 20, 2011

No frills, close proximity

Our group spent most of our time touring the French Quarter and CBD. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Quarter, which was ideal as we were far enough away from the noise. Our room was spacious, but standard. It was generally clean but in need of a facelift. Our window opened to an airshaft, which was also ideal for mid-day naps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Randy.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Mar 18, 2011

R&R/Mardi Gras

Upon walking in to my first room, it looked like the room had just been slept in and left that way. I then called the front desk and was asked "What do you want me to do?" by the front desk attendant. I was moved into the last available king size bed room which was right on the front of the hotel and parallel with the side walk. When I spoke to the manager the next day, I was comped for my parking and then later charged for one of the two days anyways. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this hotel a 2, it brought down the overall experience of New Orleans and Mardi Gras. [...] The bartender at the bar did lean on my drinks a little though, best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must take a cab (because it's too cold to walk) do not ask them how much it is to get to Bourbon St, get in and tell them your destination. I was charged a flat rate of $12 and then a meter rate of $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent New Orleans Traveller
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 16, 2011

Lower your expectations

This wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near the best. We had stayed the first 3 nights at the Hilton Riverside for a convention. It was immaculate (but cost twice as much), so we stayed the next 2 nights at the Ambassador. This is my 8th stay in New Orleans and this was by far the most uncomfortable hotel I've stayed at. First of all, I do have to say that the location was EXCELLENT, the rooms were very clean, and the price was decent! Sometimes it's hard to find that combination. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the beautiful wooden floors in each hotel room were creaky and uneven. The "historic" brick walls were painted and blocked access to the "free wi-fi", so we had to use an ethernet cord for internet access. But the worst part was the extremely hard beds and pillows combined with the noise, which provided a horrible night's sleep. The door to our room sat about .5" above the floor and didn't have any sort of buffer ... so you could hear EACH and EVERY person walking by early in the morning and all night long. I am not even a light sleeper, but it still woke me up. The cleaning staff could be heard bright and early - hollering to each other down the hallways .... and interrupting our sleep. Next year we'll spend the extra $ for a good night's sleep and a bit more modern accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, Va.
Mar 7, 2011

Short stay

Everyone was very polite and hospitable. Thank you to the front desk for guiding me in as I was lost driving for the first time in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Got to try Mr. B's and try the Milk and Brandy and Napolean House for the Pimms Cup and Charcuterie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 3, 2011

Slightly warn, but good value

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My room could have used some refurbishment, but everything worked and the bed was comfortable. For the money, a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New Orleans institution, Mother's Restaurant, is only a block away. Big breakfasts such as crawfish etouffee omelet with biscuits are good if you ave the appetite. Also in the neighborhood is the Wine Institute of New Orleans (WINO).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lethbridge Alberta
Feb 27, 2011

Not clean

We checked in after midnight and checked out the next morning as the room was dirty. The sheets and pillow case looked used and the bathroom was dirty - could not use the tub. I took pictures which did not do justice to the snot on the wall behind the bed. Anyway I couldn't wait to get out of there and felt fortunate that we did not experience a bed bug episode or something. The hotel is well located but noisy. It looks charming in the pictures but the "windows" in our room did not look outside but rather into the hotel corridor. Therefore a bit noisy when people walking by. The breakfast was coffee and pastries - they do not give you a plate but do have napkins. no, I would not recommend this hotel and was glad to move to a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walk around the French quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search