$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
274 reviews
Great Value in the CBD

Value is key, there are nicer places and there are cheaper places, but this fell into our sweet... See full review

  • Experiment33
  • Jul 25, 2014
nice

Cozyand nice staff. Breakfast is free as nd is close to cadino See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 28, 2014
Historic hotel with contemporary flair near Riverwalk, downtown sites

Three historic coffee warehouses were combined and repurposed to create this unique Arts District hotel. Modern appointments join original hardwood floors, beamed ceilings and recycled wrought iron for a completely contemporary feel. The National Park Service has certified the restoration, and the result is a one-of-a-kind hotel in a great location.  The hotel has easy access the convention center, French Quarter or cruise terminal.  Riverwalk and its paddleboat rides are at the doorstep.

Highlights
  • In-room spa services
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • New Orleans Saints-themed sports bar
Rooms

The Ambassador has been recognized for its re-use of materials. The old-made-new element is apparent in its 175 guest rooms with kings, doubles or queens. In the rooms, wrought iron four-poster beds welcome each guest.  Gleaming hardwood floors, exposed brick walls and high timber ceilings lend an open feeling. All rooms feature ceiling fans, oversized executive desks, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, safes and high-speed Internet access (covered in resort fee).

Features

The Arts District location is convenient for tourists and business travelers alike.  Downtown New Orleans, The French Quarter, Central Business District, Riverwalk, museums and convention center are an easy walk away.  The developers took great pains to retain the original look of the former coffee warehouses. Visitors can soak up the historic feel while enjoying modern conveniences. Saints fans can walk to the Superdome. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (19 minutes)
Attractions
  • Harrah's Casino (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Louisiana Children's Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Audubon Nature Institute (5.4 mi/ 8.7 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Business
  • Embassy Room can accommodate meeting receptions for 150
  • Near the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Central Business District

 

Policies & fees

  • The property is currently under renovation. Please pardon the dust.
  • The Ambassador Hotel has an Amenity Package Fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24 hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Valet parking is $32 USD per night plus tax.

  • Pets are allowed (maximum of 30 lbs) at $25 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ambassador Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Ambassador Hotel New Orleans Rooms

Standard Queen
Guest room with One Queen bed, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.
Standard Double/Double
Guest room with two double beds, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, data compatible phones and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.1 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2011

Great price, but no cigar!

Upon arriving a the hotel, I was immediately asked for the $9 per night mandatory fee, that covers the continental breakfast and internet access. I can't fathom why they charge for either. They were kind enough not to take an incidental fee, however, the first room they gave me was a dungeon. It was very small, damp and humid. There was an old ceiling fan and a window that about the size of a small safe with old curtains. Upon drawing back the curtains I discovered there was no light and no view, just 3 brick walls with a bit of a glow of the sun peeking through...like it use to be a laundry chute. I quickly took two steps to the left to see the "rest" of the room. The sink was next to the closet and a wall divided the bathroom that greeted my with a dirty counter and some lovely gnats! After leaving the "closet", I asked for another room. Again, they were nice and changed my room, which was better, but still no cigar. The floor was warped, the bed was old (in the web video they call them "plush"), the curtains were kind of outdated as well. The windows were great and with a view of Harrahs. (sigh) This wouldn't have been so bad if I wasn't directly over the bar...let's say that Bars, sports and the Karaoke version of "These Boots are Made for Walking" by a drunk girl is not want you want to hear the night before you have to wake up at 6am for a conference. When I finally got to the point I felt comfortable in my room some sort of flying cricket/ water bug /creature invaded my room...which I understand is common in the area...but still not welcome. The price is very good and the breakfast was good. But the online presentation on the rooms is way off. They claim to be a BOUTIQUE HOTEL...okay. At best it's a dark warehouse with beds..a little creepy...def not for kids. A boutique is typically modern and vibrant. They had plenty of patrons to pay for improvements. I insist they can keep the the same rates and make improvements, new beds, curtains a good exterminator maybe a few sound proof rooms. The LOCATION WAS THE BEST FEATURE!! Close to everything NOLA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Market Square--great Po Boys and music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jun 10, 2011

Great Location!

Great jumping off spot for French Quarter, Harah's, and business district. Old coffee warehouse gives hotel a unique atmosphere. Bathroom could use a coat of paint, but otherwise a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MPLs, MN
Jun 9, 2011

Pleasant old world charm

Pleasant, convenient, and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, Colorado
May 3, 2011

Good Location - Noisy Hotel

The Ambassador Hotel was centrally located and was a good value. The downside was that it was VERY noisy! We could hear everything going on out in the hall and at times it was so loud, it seemed like it was IN our room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Apr 1, 2011

Great hotel for the price

Great hotel for the price. Conveniently located to everything. Very good service. I attended a workshop at the Hilton Riverside Convention center and could walk there everyday within minutes. I have never been to New Orleans before and would come again and stay at the Ambassador again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MOBILE, AL.
Mar 30, 2011

WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN

A LITTLE FURTHER TO WALK TO FQ ONLY BECAUSE MY BACK WAS HURTING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

JUST FUN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Truth About My Stays
Business
Edmonton, KY
Mar 29, 2011

The Good and The Bad

My friend and I thought the hotel was very beautiful inside and out with an old Victorian feel to it. However, their was some downers to the hotel. Our room 426 smelled like someone washed it in bourbon every day we walked into it. Their was one bulb in the entire room on the ceiling for lighting and possibly two lamps in the room that were not very bright. So if your looking for a nice place to read this place might not be for you. The SHOWER OMG THE SHOWER SUCKED! It took like no joke 8minutes to warm up then it barely came out of the overhead faucet onto you. Pretty much in order to take a shower you had to hug the wall underneath the faucet to get enough water even on you. My friend and I even tried moving the nozzle, but it made it worse. The front desk girls weren't the happiest people to greet you after a long trip they all looked grumpy and sleep deprived. But that wasn't going to stop us from having fun on our trip. The hotel itself wasn't worth over 90.00 a night seriously. The guys that parked the cars and carried the luggage were friendly and seemed interested in pleasing the customers of the hotel. The hotel location was smack dab in the city of New Orleans so that was convenient. Also, their was a bar at the bottom of the hotel for those who drink. This might be convenient info for someone. If I had to do it again I probably would choose another hotel only because the shower thing killed me in the mornings. I really wanted a nice warm, relaxing shower and that was just not possible in this hotel. Everything else was tolerable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 20, 2011

No frills, close proximity

Our group spent most of our time touring the French Quarter and CBD. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Quarter, which was ideal as we were far enough away from the noise. Our room was spacious, but standard. It was generally clean but in need of a facelift. Our window opened to an airshaft, which was also ideal for mid-day naps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Randy.
Business
Kabul, Afghanistan
Mar 18, 2011

R&R/Mardi Gras

Upon walking in to my first room, it looked like the room had just been slept in and left that way. I then called the front desk and was asked "What do you want me to do?" by the front desk attendant. I was moved into the last available king size bed room which was right on the front of the hotel and parallel with the side walk. When I spoke to the manager the next day, I was comped for my parking and then later charged for one of the two days anyways. On a scale of 1-10 I'd give this hotel a 2, it brought down the overall experience of New Orleans and Mardi Gras. [...] The bartender at the bar did lean on my drinks a little though, best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you must take a cab (because it's too cold to walk) do not ask them how much it is to get to Bourbon St, get in and tell them your destination. I was charged a flat rate of $12 and then a meter rate of $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ambassador Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent New Orleans Traveller
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 16, 2011

Lower your expectations

This wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but it certainly wasn't anywhere near the best. We had stayed the first 3 nights at the Hilton Riverside for a convention. It was immaculate (but cost twice as much), so we stayed the next 2 nights at the Ambassador. This is my 8th stay in New Orleans and this was by far the most uncomfortable hotel I've stayed at. First of all, I do have to say that the location was EXCELLENT, the rooms were very clean, and the price was decent! Sometimes it's hard to find that combination. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but the beautiful wooden floors in each hotel room were creaky and uneven. The "historic" brick walls were painted and blocked access to the "free wi-fi", so we had to use an ethernet cord for internet access. But the worst part was the extremely hard beds and pillows combined with the noise, which provided a horrible night's sleep. The door to our room sat about .5" above the floor and didn't have any sort of buffer ... so you could hear EACH and EVERY person walking by early in the morning and all night long. I am not even a light sleeper, but it still woke me up. The cleaning staff could be heard bright and early - hollering to each other down the hallways .... and interrupting our sleep. Next year we'll spend the extra $ for a good night's sleep and a bit more modern accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top